We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Masa Woburn - CLOSED

Masa Woburn
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Masa Southwest Bar and Grill is a welcome addition to the neighborhood. Just like it's location in Boston, Masa offers an award winning menu of "new Southwest" cuisine, pairing flavors and cooking styles of the Southwestern kitchen with local New England ingredients. They have been awarded "Best New Restaurant" by Food & Wine Magazine. Allison Arnet of the Boston Globe has acclaimed Masa, "A Southwestern Air of Sophistication." Matt Schafer of the Boston Herald has also acclaimed Aviles's food "Amazing." Owner and Chef Philip Aviles, a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America, brings to Masa the talent and background that makes this restaurant one of Greater Boston's finest.
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had been to Masa a while back and were disappointed with our meal, but decided to give it another try. We tried their special for $35 per person. This is offered Thursday through Sunday (I believe). You have three choices to pick from for appetizer and main course; and two choices were on the menu for dessert, but they only offered one that night. For an appetizer I had the smoked shrimp gazpacho -- delicious, very fresh tasting. My husband had the fish taco for his appetizer and said it was also delicious. We both got the steak with chorizo for our main course. It was served with mashed potatoes and sautéed vegetables. The steak was tender and tasty, as was the rest of the dish. There was SO much food! For dessert they offered the sopasillas (sp.) with ice cream. Yum! You have to try their habanero watermelon magarita. It has some heat to it, but it is so good. We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, MA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice, gluten-free lunch”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We've stopped at Masa twice recently. Great service, nice surroundings and a Cobb salad that is excellent. My wife has the soup and half-sandwich. Always tasty and fresh.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bonvivant2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Menu, Excellent Service”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

After two dinner visits this is now my favorite restaurant. Outstanding menu featuring southwestern/Mexican cuisine. Excellent bar drinks. Very good service. Don't be put off by location in a mall complex, inside its elegant and relaxing. Biggest problem was deciding which appetizer to choose among ten excellent offerings! Couldn't recommend more highly!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Brunch”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We have family in the area and when we visit Brunch at Masa's is a must. The Fiesta Special is a two course menu that is outstanding @$7.95. At one time or another we have tasted almost every item on the Brunch menu and nothing disappoints. We also appreciate the fact that we can enjoy a great meal in a lovely environment and bring along our Grandson. They do have child portions and he likes the Chocolate Chip pancakes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose-n-Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland maine
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was in a mall off of Rt 3, so odd location, but nice decor, and excellent Tapas and first course offerings. The entrees were good, but not as outstanding as the 10 piece Combo platter sampler we had, and the first course Emanadas were excellent. Reasonable beer selection and fantastic tequila drink offering. 3 of us split the 10 piece Tapas combo platter and the first course empanadas and a Caesar salad, and 2 entrees, and we splurged and split 2 desserts.. They made it very easy to split and share everything, bringing out multiple extra plates. The Bar menu Taps made this restaurant well worth going to. We tried a special of the day Halibut entree and a Southwestern Steak Frites from the regular entree menu. Our opinion was the entrees were not as outstanding as the Tapas, and they were on the expensive side for what they were. The Halibut was, I believe $30, and while it was very good, I did not feel it was worth the price charged. The steak was just good, excellent french fries though.The CHOCOLATE TRUFFLE TAMALE dessert was very rich and excellent - easy to share this one, it is almost too much for one person it was so rich. We also had a Flan, which was good. We will go back, but we will also make sure we eat in the bar area so we get the bar and Tapas menu

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swilliams7301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing