We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

WAXY O'Connor's Irish Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 135 Restaurants in Woburn
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
South Dennis, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I ate here as it was attached to the Best Western and we were too tired to venture out. The restaurant was very loud, but of course the Red Sox were in the playoffs that night. The service was good, booth very comfortable and the food was excellent, would go again when in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mldankese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    52
    32
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kings Park
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Party time”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Large restaurant/bar with live music. Lots of sports TV (if you are into it). If you're young and want to party this looks like a good place to visit. Regular bar food at decent prices.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average Fare and Pub”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in after a business trip. The decor was very nice as was our waitress. Menu is not completely authentic Irish fare. Lots of other stuff here too. Had the Guinness beef stew. Flavorful but the bread was not complimentary to the meal. I really would have liked to see more Irish fare, and not the typical pub chow. Ok visit but not inclined to come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DitaEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“not completely "Irish", but very good!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Been at Waxy's during a 2-nights stay at the Best Western located in the same building.

We entered the restaurant with our 2 kids, a little afraid it could be a real Irish pub, while, actually, it has an Irsih flavor (and a lot of beers!) but is a good and comfortable place where you can eat typical US dishes, including kids' favorites, and pizza!
A sort of big saloon with a number of TVs, interiors in Irish/Western style, not exactly silent, but fun!

We were so satisfied that we returned the following evening! Service was fast and really friendly, and they pay special attention for kids, not only with a dedicated menu, but also with pencils and colors to play with!

We're not talking of a haute-cuisine place, but everything was good anyway, And the price was more than right.

Recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fabio_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice theme but the food was heavy.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

After seeing this place packed for 2 months straight, I finally found an evening where I could try and see what it was all about. The inside looked great compared to the previous restaurant setup. There was more of a flow through the bar and dining room areas. According to the waitress, the food menu is still a "work in progress", consisting of your typical pub foods. I ordered the onion rings and also the fish n chips plate which both were heavy dishes. After eating everything, I could literally feel it sitting at the bottom of my stomach. Service was good for the decent and I enjoyed the Irish pub theme. Due to the small parking lot in comparison to the actual place, you really need to get their on the early side to be guaranteed parking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aram1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WAXY O'Connor's Irish Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to WAXY O'Connor's Irish Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing