We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and all amenities were available.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus New Englander
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Woburn
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and all amenities were available.”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great breakfast and if it is busy it can't be all bad. Pretty standard morning fare including hot breakfast items. Rooms are somewhat older but have decent amenities and the staff is responsive and polite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    176
    105
    65
    43
See reviews for
154
134
37
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Spent 2 nights here. Room on first night of stay smelt old and damp. Not enough tables and chairs for people to sit down for breakfast. About 15 minutes from Boston but Salem is about 20 mins north and well worth a visit. Hotel pretty ugly from the outisde

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violet67_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on our visit to Boston. The hotel is about 10 miles from downtown. Our first reaction when turning into the hotel parking lot was negative because the front part is being remodeled with a new restaurant, so it looks very bad. However, once in the hotel, it is fine. The parking was convenient and check-in quick and efficient. Our room had a king bed, 32" flat screen TV, microwave, fridge, good size room and bath. The breakfast was good and plentiful, hot items changed each day. The first night, on the recommendation of the front desk clerk, we walked across the street a short distance and had a great dinner at Polcari's Italian restaurant. If you like pizza or italian food, this is the place! Also, the front desk gave us good information to walk across the street to a bus stop near McDonalds, and take the Express Bus into downtown Boston for $6.00, it took 30 minutes, dropped us off in downtown, so saved driving and paying to park in a parking garage. We took the bus back in the evening and were back in 20 minutes. We had no problems here, it was an excellent stay.

Room Tip: 4th floor room was good for us, ask for a room on the parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeniorTraveler65575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Ended up here for about 6 days in September; even though the location is OK the hotel needs some work. Looks like this hotel just changed hands so a return trip in about 6 months might be worth trying.

The hallways are quite ragged, exposed carpet seams and threadbare areas as well. The rooms are decent but in need of updating - shower was old and a crappy shower head.

Front desk service was attentive and helpful but it was a rather forlorn place for now. They offer a shuttle service to the surrounding 3-4 mile radius - train station, some shopping areas too.The problem is they don't start running the shuttle until 9 AM, which is not terribly convenient for the business crowd who wants to use the commuter rail to go into Boston as I did.

A few restaurants within. walking distance that include Polcari's and downtown Stoneham is about a 1/2 mile walk.

All in all OK, maybe try it again when they complete (if they complete) a renovation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter8061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Front desk staff all helpful and gave good information regarding travel into Boston centre and local restaurants. Room was good size with microwave and fridge and coffee maker. Easy access fro interstates. Good breakfast was available when you could get into the breakfast room. Nice swimming pool although we didn't have the time to make use of it. Prompt serice when sink was backed up. We were more than happy during our stay and would recommend this reasonably priced hotel. Courtesy bus was on time each day and pick from station very speedy.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Staff was great, friendly and helpful.

Location is good, about 10 min drive to train station.

Rooms were mediocre. My bathroom sink sprayed water, tub had rust and mattress was somewhat too firm.

First floor bathrooms are gross. Covered in urine.

Overall, hotel is good, but could use some investment from ownership.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jeffshoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed overnight at this hotel. While the room was clean and the bedding comfortable, it could stand with some renovations. The furnishings and draperies were in need of updating. The lobby could also use some help .... the chairs in the lobby were old and stained. The complimentary breakfast was a plus .... a nice selection and refilled as needed ... although they could use a new waffle maker as it was not working properly. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oughtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woburn hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 11 in Woburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Boston Woburn/Boston North
1.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Boston - Woburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Boston / Woburn
Hilton Boston / Woburn
#3 of 11 in Woburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boston North-Woburn
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston Woburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus New Englander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus New Englander

Property: Best Western Plus New Englander
Address: 1 Rainin Rd, Woburn, MA 01801-4627 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Woburn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Woburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Woburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus New Englander 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the BEST WESTERN PLUS New Englander in Woburn, Massachusetts, a AAA Three-Diamond award-winning hotel, which offers guests friendly customer service to make any stay a memorable one. This full-service Woburn hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms each featuring cable satellite television with HBO® and high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to enjoy a complimentary full breakfast and complimentary newspaper each morning. Other hotel amenities include an indoor heated swimming pool, fitness center, business center offering complimentary email access, free parking and shuttle service to Anderson Commuter Rail Station. The BEST WESTERN PLUS New Englander also offers 4200 square feet of state of the art meeting facilities that include two ballrooms and an executive boardroom that accommodates up to 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus New Englander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus New Englander Hotel Woburn
Best Western Hotel Woburn
Best Western New Englander
Best Western Woburn
Woburn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing