We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus New Englander
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Woburn
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel while we were in Boston for a Red Sox Game. It was a quick and convenient drive (about 15 minutes) the Fenway. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. I loved that they had coffee in the lobby all day long. I did get a chance to use the pool and it was great. We were the only ones there at the time so it was like having a private pool party. The water was very refreshing for an indoor pool on a 95 degree day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 591 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had three rooms with two queen beds in each. Two of the rooms were spacious while one of the rooms was much smaller -- same price. The hot breakfast was good but the breakfast area and the seating area was extremely too small for the number of rooms in the hotel. We did not get a chance to use the heated pool.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of rooms with two queen beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventurer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

First the good: It's convenient to Boston and Logan Airport. The price is reasonable considering anything else in/around Boston. It's clean, the breakfast is adequate and it's quiet at night. (Well, except for the item below).

The less good: This property's decor and fixtures are circa 1982. The A/C cycles on and off with considerable drama. The TV in the breakfast area is set at a volume level which is fine for the hard of hearing (there's no remote to lower it). As a result, everyone converses at a level fit for a rock concert. Many Best Westerns have had dramatic upgrades over the last decade. Maybe this one slipped throught the cracks?

Room Tip: The top floor is best because there were lots of young teens staying on lower floors. While they wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roneill000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at. The rooms SMELL DISGUSTING and it's because the carpets are filthy. You cannot expect to run a hotel without changing or cleaning the room carpets for decades. The hotel employees are rude and argumentative. When I asked to change rooms the front desk employee told me they were "completely booked," but then changed his story within a few minutes. Booked or not, the other rooms I looked at smelled just as bad or worse. The hotel is also right next to a highway and I could hear trucks all night. The parking lot is very inadequately lit, and is probably fertile grounds for theft. It seemed like an out-of-service truck-stop. The employees must have never received any customer service training whatsoever. The arrogance and rudeness from these employees is almost beyond belief. I will definitely never stay at a Best Western property again. The company clearly does not properly train employees or effectively oversee how the franchisees operate.

Room Tip: Don't stay here... there are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

It ain't a four-star (or even three for that matter) resort --- but for a quick overnight visit, it was just fine. Stayed here for a college graduation weekend - did not spend more than 8 hours in the room, but it was clean, newly refurbished & located near I93... the breakfast was ok... The downside was that the staff was not too friendly - di dnot seem professionally trained in customer service, etc... and you could hear noise from the hallway. I'd also suggest they replace the pillows with better quality ones.
But all in all, it was decent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathleenF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This isn't a bad option if you're staying in Boston and don't want to spend three times as much staying downtown. It's ten miles out, but the freeway runs from downtown almost to the door of this place, so travel time isn't bad. Alternatively there's a train station not that far away.

Staff are pretty friendly, and rooms are a decent size, quite clean, with reasonable facilities. The bed was alright, quite comfortable, linen and towels were reasonable, and there was a good choice of TV channels. Breakfast was OK, though juices were really just watered down fruit drinks, and some of the pastries/breads felt like they were a bit less than fresh. The WiFi worked okay once you were on, but had a frustrating setting that it would 'time out' after a short period of inactivity and you had to go through their annoying logon process again.

I mainly ranked this a three rather than four as stuff is starting to show its age and could do with some updating or maintenance. The elevator groans and shudders a bit. The mini-fridge made a constant annoying creaking sound, so much so that I had to unplug it to sleep both nights. Additionally traffic noise from the interstate was bad enough that I had to run the aircon all night to drown it out and get to sleep. Room decor is a bit dreary, especially the aging brown-checked carpets. The TV is just an old style CRT. Water pressure is poor or they've fitted some seriously low-flow devices. Either way, it took like 20-30secs to fill a cup of water, hot water in the sink was effectively non-existent, and the shower was weak with an annoying pulsing effect, I assume due to the poor water pressure, and water temperature was a bit hard to control. The bathroom fan didn't work so everything fogged up.

Okay, there's nothing really bad about this place. It doesn't really live up to the price, but all accommodation in the Boston area is dreadfully overpriced for what you get. With a good fix-up to bring it up to date, and maybe some double-glazing on the windows, it would be pretty reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boxing_Kangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

So i booked in this hotel Last night *April 21st* We got here the lobby is nice and updated, the girl at the front desk i didn't catch her name was amazing excellent costumer service skills she even called us no more then 15 minutes after we got in our room and asked how we liked it and if it was okay! we were so pleased never have we stayed at a hotel and we did this! We have a king bed and its really nice and comfy and clean.. For the people who said the internet doesn't work.. it works fine for me be sure you type in best western in your browser and connect from there.. its actually pretty fast internet we've been using it for rogers 1 account * the same thing as skype pretty much to call home* and it works fine! The breakfast is FREE its a hot breakfast it's alright for free breakfast it is free after awhile you cant really complain if it's for free i guess, it did the trick on our tummys for breakfast in the morning.... I was a little sketched out coming to this hotel for some reason reading people's reviews but honestly there's nothing to worry about here.. just a nice hotel for your buck i think we paid 107.00 a night and are room is even updated!!
the pool is also heated ++++

Job well done Best western!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melly1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woburn hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 11 in Woburn
221 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Boston Woburn/Burlington
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston Woburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Boston Woburn/Boston North
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boston North-Woburn
1.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Boston - Woburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus New Englander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus New Englander

Address: 1 Rainin Rd, Woburn, MA 01801-4627 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Woburn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Woburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Woburn
Price Range: $78 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus New Englander 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Best Western Plus New Englander in Woburn, Massachusetts, a AAA Three-Diamond award-winning hotel, which offers guests friendly customer service to make any stay a memorable one. This full-service Woburn hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms each featuring cable satellite television with HBO® and high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to enjoy a complimentary full breakfast and complimentary newspaper each morning. Other hotel amenities include an indoor heated swimming pool, fitness center, business center offering complimentary email access, and free parking. The Best Western Plus New Englander also offers state of the art meeting facilities to host your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus New Englander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus New Englander Hotel Woburn
Best Western Hotel Woburn
Best Western New Englander
Best Western Woburn
Woburn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing