We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Painfully slow internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Woburn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Woburn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

If it wasn't for the internet, I would give this hotel 5/5. I had a comfortable 1-month stay, the kitchen is great, rooms are big, convenient location off of I-93, laundry machines are available when you need them, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Boston Sports Club is right next door and you can walk over if you want more equipment than what the hotel offers.

But as a heavy internet user, I became frustrated daily with how slow the connection was. I couldn't log in to Skype or my workplace's VPN (unless it's 2am when there's no traffic), and in the evening it could even take a minute or two for me to open a dictionary web page that has no multimedia. It seems like something that wouldn't be too hard to fix - maybe limit each connection's bandwidth so that folks watching movies over Netflix don't make it unbearable slow for the rest of us? I'm hoping they take care of this - then I wouldn't mind staying at the hotel again, but if I had to go back to Boston tomorrow, I'd stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInn W, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Woburn, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Woburn. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our comfortable, spacious rooms and our convenient amenities as well as friendly, professional service from our staff. We want each guest to have a perfect visit with us, so we also take to heart all that you say. We will have our IT specialists review our services to see if improvements can be made. We value you as a long-term guest and will do all we can to restore your complete faith in us. Please come for another stay so we can prove how important customer satisfaction is to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 563 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stay at the Residence Inn quite frequently. My title pretty much sums it up.
Rooms are clean and large. i find the ktichenette fine for making a cup of coffee, breakfast, keeping some fresh veggies in the fridge, etc.

I mainly use the kitchenette because the free breakfast is generic and not very healthy. You can grab fruit and yogurt which isn't bad. While I don't take advantage of it, they do offer free dinner 4 nights a week I believe-a nice addition if you don;t want to go out.

My big issue is with the internet-the performance is horrible-incredibly slow-OK for email, but don't bother watching a youtube video.

The price can be on the high side, but I think it is in-line with other comparable offerings in the area.

There is a small exercize facility, and they offer a $5 pass for a local gym acorss teh parking lot.

Room Tip: beware the exterior lighting lighting up your room with an orange glow....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoulderTravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInn W, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Woburn, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Residence Inn by Marriott Woburn. You discovered much of what makes us an exceptional place to stay, including large, clean suites and a professional, welcoming staff. As you point out, our daily hot breakfast buffet is free as is our Evening Social, in which our guests are treated to a lighter-fare dinner Monday through Thursday. We understand that not every element of your stay was as you had hoped, and we wish we had had the opportunity to address your concerns while you were staying with us. Please know that we will review all of your comments to see where adjustments can be made. We value you as a guest, as we do all of our guests, and invite you back for another visit so we can provide you with a perfect stay in every way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed at quite a few Marriott Residence Inns and this one was as expected. You get a living area with a small kitchenette with microwave, stove top and refrigerator, and a bedroom and a bathroom. I found the local Whole Foods grocery store (about 4 miles) so I was able to buy my own food, and keep it in the 'condo'. They have a manager's reception each evening where you can get some free drinks and appetizers, and I guess you can get breakfast in the morning as well. Like I said before, this was as I expected, nothing great, but nothing bad either. Will definitely stay again and I would recommend, especially if you like to self-cater.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellinggirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInn W, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Woburn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Woburn. We are pleased that you enjoyed the complimentary soft drinks and snacks at our Manager’s Reception and that you were able to visit a local market to purchase what you needed for a comfortable stay in your room. We welcome you as a regular guest and look forward to your return when we hope our location, accommodations, features and service will provide you with another pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here last night and was a little disappointed. Their website is not accurate as far as amenities are concerned - no pay-per-view is available here, and you can't get any room service. Had I known either of those, I wouldn't have come here as I was recovering from surgery and was looking forward to resting. I ended up going to Target to get a few things. I do appreciate that they offer shuttle service to anywhere within a 5 mile radius.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInn W, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Woburn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We’re sorry your visit was not what you had hoped, especially since you were recovering from surgery. Our website has been recently updated and pay-per-view and room service are not currently offered as amenities. It’s regrettable that this information had changed since the time of your booking, but we hope you found the room comfortable, and we’re pleased that our shuttle service was able to help you settle-in for a restorative rest. We hope you’ll be back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spent a couple of nights at the Residence Inn in Woburn at the start of a two week holiday in New England. We were keen to spend a day visiting Boston and struggled to find a hotel within easy travelling distance of the city which wasn't incredibly expensive. My research suggested this hotel wasn't a bad choice.

The hotel is ideally situated as it's only a 15 minute walk to Anderson commuter line station- there's a big car park there in case you don't like to walk. Its then about 20-25 minutes into North station.

The hotel itself is modern, and incredibly spacious, rooms were incredibly comfortable and there's a huge downstairs lounge for breakfast, and the ever available supply of coffee.

The breakfasts need a special mention- its a buffet style but by far and away it was the best hot buffet breakfast we've had in a chain hotel- and was good for both days of our stay.

Our room - on a high floor was also excellently placed to watch the huge thunderstorm hitting and flooding the city centre- washing out the Redsox game.

A good place to stay if you want to visit Boston- decent restaurants within a mile or so in Woburn as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BinfieldTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInn W, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Woburn, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Your kind review and acknowledgement of the Residence Inn Woburn as a value mean a great deal to us. We’re so pleased you enjoyed your accommodations as well as our full hot breakfast buffet. We would like to let you know that in addition to being just a half mile from the Anderson Station, we offer complimentary shuttle service to the train station. Thank you for sharing your feedback, we hope to welcome you back during your next visit to the Boston area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Checked in on 11/8. Tried to check in early but no rooms were available; a little unusual do to be woken up 2 days straight to cleaning lady pounding on door at 8am to clean room. After 2nd time, was told by man at desk that this is typical at all hotels; that is not true or at least I have never experience this at all hotels i have ever stayed at. Man said to stick sign on door, sign that we did not have in room or was told about on check-in and the cleaning ladies would come back at a later time. Went to explore small area and returned at 90 minutes. Stayed in room on 4th floor. The room we stayed in seemed to be handicapped equipped, not sure if all rooms appeared this way at this hotel. Very low shower/bathtub combo for easy access but I made it work. The TV's in room worked when they wanted to; often static through channels for long periods of time. Pool and spa were very well suited and empty everytime we went to use them. The gym consisted of 2 treadmills, 1 cardio machine and a bench with some lite free weights; nothing special but served the purpose. Have breakfast included in room price but never went down to eat; no need due to have your own basic kitchen in room. Full refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee machine, all basic utensil and some basic pots. Ice machine in freezer took longtime to activate (ask front desk for some ice and they were more then willing to supply with bags of ice). Comfortable couch and pillows along with a comfortable armoir chair. Small dining table with 2 chairs to enjoy meals. Also a small desk w/modern chair go for writing notes and things. Their is a small mall bout 10 minute ride down road; few stores in it but nothing spectacular. Their is also a great grocery store for getting supplies for room here. Called market basket; similar to stop & shop, giant, etc. Sink/mirror is separate from actual bathroom. Overall hotel was very quite and really did not encounter guest the whole time was their. (On way out today 11/11, breakfast appeared to be packed with very limited seating available. Not sure if their is a good time to eat breakfast due to this)
Frequent Marriott hotel's and would definitely recommend this hotel along with stay in others in future. Did not go into boston so do not know traffic and distance times. Did travel to phesant lane mall in nashua new hamsphire (30 minute ride) and would recommend this to someone looking for a day trip. Decent size mall for the ride.

Room Tip: Ask desk for someone to bring ice to room due to ice machine taking longtime to work
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInn W, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Woburn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for sharing your thorough review of the Residence Inn Woburn, it is sounds like you had a pleasant stay in our suite-style guest rooms. We're glad you took advantage of the room's kitchen facilities and enjoyed on-site amenities like our fitness center and pool. We regret if our housekeeping staff arrived unannounced to refresh your room or if you experienced any issue with your TVs, your comments will be shared to ensure our suites and services are at their best for future guests. We hope that during your next visit you get to enjoy our complimentary full breakfast. Please come back again for a future stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

this hotels is about a minute from the wonderful anderson transportation complex in woburn, ma. park your car long term - $7.00 day - and take the logan express (every half hour during normal time periods) right to your plane. the marriott was exactly what one would expect. clean, tidy and reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mb300sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInn W, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Woburn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

We're so pleased you enjoyed our convenient location which is perfect for guests visiting Salem, Lexington or Boston. The Residence Inn Woburn is also ideal for flying into or out of Logan International Airport, less than 20 minutes away. Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woburn
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Boston Woburn/Boston North
1.9 mi away
Hilton Boston / Woburn
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston Woburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
HYATT house Boston/Burlington
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Boston Woburn/Burlington
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boston North-Woburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Woburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Woburn

Address: 300 Presidential Way, Woburn, MA 01801-5139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Woburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Woburn
#3 Business Hotel in Woburn
Price Range: $105 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Woburn 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one-of-a kind hotel, Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Woburn offers a comfortable, stylish retreat at a substantial value. Each studio, one or two bedroom suite has fully equipped kitchens, separate living, dining and sleeping areas, with ample space for relaxing or entertaining. Enjoy complimentary hot breakfast buffet daily and join us Monday-Thursday for weekday socials, ideal for socializing and networking. There are no hidden fees or charges at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Woburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Boston Woburn Hotel Woburn
Residence Inn Woburn
Woburn Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing