We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced hotel close to Logan airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winthrop Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
Teesside, England
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced hotel close to Logan airport”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent the first two nights of our New England road trip (& the final night) at the Winthrop.
It's cheaper than staying in downtown Boston and, if you use the Winthrop ferry, you can be in Boston in 20 minutes. Also, only about an easy 15 minute drive from Logan airport.

We had room 214, a corner room, which was fine. Comfortable bed, TV, coffee maker, bathroom with a bath & shower, but my wife did find a used tissue in the bathroom behind the waste bin. Also, we had to ask several times for more toilet rolls, (when we arrived only a small amount left on the roll) . . . . room not serviced properly! Hallways & stairs could certainly do with updating these areas are quite shabby. Their website says "sumptuous accommodations", in my opinion this is a bit of an exaggeration!

Restaurant - has a good menu & reasonably priced. Our first night we were not very hungry, and knowing meals in the US are large we asked to share a meal. That would be fine the server said, but they charged $5 for an extra plate, not come across that before! Breakfast would be nice!

The hotel is in a residential area so parking is in the street but they give you a card to put in the car so you don't get a parking ticket.

From around 5am you could hear aircraft taking off from the airport.

This is an average hotel, reasonably priced, and fairly close to Boston. We only paid $105 per night so you only get what you pay for in this life! Would I stay here again . . . . possibly.

Room Tip: Only stayed in 214 and it was OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeessideTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    104
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
145
173
34
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GRAND FORKS
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A very convenient place to stay. Enjoyed a great meal of seafood in the restaurant! Room was clean a good value for the price, Our bed was comfortable and room was clean. Hallways could use an upgrade. Walls are also a bit thin as you can hear others above and next to your room. Nothing that turning up the TV wouldn't take care of. TV was new with good choice of stations. I would stay again and would definitely eat here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COCOA_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I suppose we thought we would spend the final night of our vacation at an economical hotel near the airport so that we could make an early morning flight. And that is what happened. However, our room had the worst bed we had ever slept in. And that room was the second one given to us because the first one was drab, shabby, and dirty. In fairness, our room had been recently updated and the bath, carpet and chair were nice, but why did they stop at the bed? It creaked so loudly with the slightest movement, and it sagged so badly, that we thought it was broken. We are frankly surprised that this hotel has the good reviews that it does. The rooms are on the second floor, up one landing, then another - a long trek with luggage. The carpet in the hallways is shabby. In fact the whole place is rather shabby and there does not seem to be an attention to cleanliness. We really cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xtentx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Its excellant location near Logan Airport make it ideal.we stayed just one night before our flight bacjk to Washington DC.we had hired acar so itwa easy to park the car overnight in the street and drop it of at rental car hire place and drooped off at Airport by car hire shuttle.The room was of very good size and had sea view.As a stop over its ideal, breakfast would be nice?

Room Tip: ask for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOLTON1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hotel was perfect for a layover in Boston for a wedding we were attending in Vermont. Very close to airport and cant beat the cost.....we enjoyed driving along the ocean for a beautiful view. Found a great little place downtown to eat breakfast. We would definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were only there for one night but the room was clean and quiet and the hotel was close to the airport and as we were flying out very early next morning it was ideal. We had a meal in the restaurant and the food was good but the whole restaurant and bar had closed by 10 30pm which we found unusual. The area was residential and we were given a pass for the car as the police made checks. Someone- a passer-by warned us not to park near the fire hydrant as that would result in a fine. We had no problem parking but as there was no lift it could be a problem for some people as there are steps up to the hotel as well as the stairs to the first floor and we were at the end of the first floor. We had a stroll down to the beach which was very close and looked very pretty in the moonlight. It was hard to make a judgement on only one nights stay but overall it suited our purpose and was reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples fl
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

The most reasonable option when staying near Logan airport. Older hotel, park on the street, and walk up the stairs to your room. Room is clean and comfortable. Old hotel musty smelling, but the room was nice. Nice area to walk along the water and about 3/10 of a mile to Dunkin Donuts for coffee and breakfast. D,Parma restaurant less than 2 miles away great choice for dinner. BYOB and no corkage, food fabulous. Would stay again if I need a place close to Logan.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank joseph f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winthrop
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Boston Logan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hilton Boston Logan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winthrop Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winthrop Arms Hotel

Property: Winthrop Arms Hotel
Address: 130 Grovers Ave, Winthrop, MA 02152-1046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Winthrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Winthrop Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where Winthrop meets to eat! Come save on dining, parking and lodging with the Winthrop Arms. We offer Winthrop rates in a Boston Market. Only 8 minutes from Logan International Airport and 12 minutes from Government Center, the Winthrop Arms is a "Must Stay" location if you are looking for great food & drink at a reasonable price and all the amenities! Look no further than the Winthrop Arms when traveling to Boston and come see for yourself what's kept us up and running for over 100 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Winthrop Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing