We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winthrop Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed here 9-2011. It was in a great location, the price was right. The owners and staff went out of the way to assist with any request we had. Room's were clean.
This is a very unique location in the middle of a residential neighborhoo. It was quiet and convenient to Boston and surrounding area. We purchased tickets for the train for $15.00 for the week. The train ride was about 15-20 minutes into Boston.
The food was very good. A wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms we saw were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zach D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    102
    30
    7
    2
See reviews for
140
169
34
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The hotel was very nice. Both mine and my companion's rooms were clean. The neighborhood is quiet - I slept with both windows open and wasn't bothered by any noise until the morning commute began. I drove in via the back roads from Boston Logan Airport; it was very easy to get to the hotel. Another reviewer had mentioned that the front desk is not always attended. I was glad to know that ahead of time, but it wasn't an issue at all. Every staffperson I saw was polite, cordial, and helpful. The restaurant food was delicious. The ocean or "boardwalk", I guess, is only a short walk away. I had a delightful stay: it is a beautiful hotel at a great value.

Room Tip: Go for the oceanview rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, TN
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We booked this hotel because of the close proximity to the airport and for the reasonable price. We were coming back to Boston, from a vacation along the New England coast, to catch a flight home. It is in a nice residential neighborhood. We arrived about 4:00 p.m. and, upon entering the lobby(which also doubled as the entrance to the restaurant), there was no one at the desk or anywhere around for that matter. A gentleman finally came around the bar and said he could check us in. He was nice, but did not seem to know much about the area. He told us the wireless internet was better in the front of the building than in the rear of the building where our room was so we might want to come to the bar to use our computer. He said he would let us use his office computer to print our boarding passes for the next day and we did appreciate that. Our room was very small, the bathroom was OK size-wise, but not clean. I wiped up hair and whatever else was on the floor. The small refrigerator sat on the floor with a coffee maker and two cups (that were not clean either) on top of it. You had to bend down to use these items. There was no microwave. There was no desk or table to put a computer on, but the WIFI did actually work in the room. We used the ironing board for a table. We did try the restaurant and it was very good...service and food. When we went back to the room, we discovered the TV remote did not work. There were no instructions on how to call the front desk (I pushed every button on the phone with no luck), so I went down. The restaurant hostess said she would get someone up in about 10 minutes to fix the remote. We never saw anyone....good thing we liked the one station we could watch. I also called the numbers posted on the doors saying who to call in case of a problem....No answer at either number. Then, about midnight, someone called me back from one of those numbers. I didn't even bother answering. The hotel is fairly nice and quaint, but our room view was the roof and a neighboring house. This hotel is OK, but it would not be our choice in the future.

Room Tip: Don't choose Room 219 if you want a view or internet service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dt1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stayed at the Arms on the 20th, spectacular views from our room, great value for the money, outstanding food and ambience. The owner greeets you and treats you with that down home friendliness. The Dr. is the best!!! Will difinitely return!!!!

Room Tip: View online...a picture of each before you purchase
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2011

since the first approach they welcome me like we know one each other by a century and my mistake I made a reservation for a day after and they were sold out and it was 9 PM. "Don't worry we're going to accommodate you anyway" a nice lady told me, "please sit down and order at restaurant" food and service was excellent, I was again treated like an old returning customer. The rest of my week there was of course above any expectative.
I wish to be there soon.

G.R.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giancarlo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Level Contributor
303 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Small older hotel with character in a quiet residential neighborhood. 15 minute easy drive to Logan airport. No elevator to the room and a short flight of stairs to enter the hotel so you must be able to climb stairs. Our room was #214, on the corner with a beautiful view of the ocean. Very comfortable double bed. Very large bathtub. Had a window air conditioner which worked well. The entry to the hotel was old but clean and the room must have been recently renovated. Very impressed by the excellent housekeeping. Spotless room. Had small refrigerator and coffee maker in the room. Nice fluffy towels in the bathroom. Though you must have a car to stay here, it is a much nicer experience than a cookie cutter airport hotel. It took us about 7 minutes to drive to the Orient Heights T station to park ($5) so that we could take the T into Boston. Better than driving into the city. Several excellent Italian restaurants for dinner within a very short 5 minute drive, and also a dinner restaurant at the hotel which we did not try. They have a nice menu for a Sunday brunch-sorry we missed it. The front desk is not open all the time, so you will need to be fairly independent of staff in the mornings. They are available for check-in starting at 2:30p.m. Since our room was not quite ready for us at 2:30, they offered us a glass of wine or beverage while we waited for 15 minutes. Would definitely return. Ask for an ocean view.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

we arrived around 5:00pm and had no idea where to check in. the lobby is the lobby for the resturant and no one welcomed us at all. We finally found someone who checkedus in. we walked up to our room ( no elevator) and got settle. The bathroom was not clean at all. There wasnt any information about the area in the room.. We were hoping to be able to walk to the T, but it was too far so we had to pay to park to go into Boston. We also couldnt get the air conditioner to cool but it wasnt too bad. The frige was nice to have.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winthrop
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Boston Logan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winthrop Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winthrop Arms Hotel

Property: Winthrop Arms Hotel
Address: 130 Grovers Ave, Winthrop, MA 02152-1046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Winthrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Winthrop Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where Winthrop meets to eat! Come save on dining, parking and lodging with the Winthrop Arms. We offer Winthrop rates in a Boston Market. Only 8 minutes from Logan International Airport and 12 minutes from Government Center, the Winthrop Arms is a "Must Stay" location if you are looking for great food & drink at a reasonable price and all the amenities! Look no further than the Winthrop Arms when traveling to Boston and come see for yourself what's kept us up and running for over 100 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Winthrop Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing