We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn in the Boston area...we would stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at Crystal Cove
Ranked #1 of 4 Winthrop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The Inn was very clean! It is conveniently located within walking distance to restaurants, small stores and the ocean! We had an early morning flight out of Logan Airport...it took about ten minutes to get there. Staff was very helpful...even printing out our boarding pass to save time at the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andree T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 357 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked a night at the Inn after returning from a New England trip when we were unable to book into any Boston Hotels due to the Red Sox hysteria (Go Sox, delighted they subsequently won!) Not sure what we would be getting but wow, were we delighted! We were in the upstairs brand new condominium and it was a treat! Fully fitted out and luxuriously comfortable. The manager was delightful and provided scales for us to check how overweight our bags were after 3 weeks in the US. Great views across to Boston from the apartment and a lovely area to walk around. Very happy to have found this place and I can imagine how fabulous it must be in Summer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieSue_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Located in a small village overlooking the Boston Harbor. Typical New England style houses, so especially if you only know this from 'the movies', it's a nice experience.
The hotel is clean, service good but with a bus that only leaves once every 30 minutes in the weekend and takes upto 25 minutes to get to the nearest T stop, this hotel is not the hotel you want if you're looking for a night out in the town.
Nevertheless it has a pool and is near the ocean, so for unwinding after a hectic city trip, it's perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mvorsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

When we arrived the hotel said we were a no show from the previous evening and proceeded to charge us in full for the night we arrived and for the no show.
This was only made clear after we handed over our card.
Despite my pointing out I never booked the previous night.
They still charged us.
We should have stayed elsewhere in hindsight!.
Most unhelpful and most unsympathetic.
The place was terrible most unhelpfull staff ever, no coffee in room.
Room was not properly presented and needed a good clean.
No harbour view as promised.
Avoid this place at all costs. They have no idea about customer service and I am easy to please.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jemco007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalcove600, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Crystal Cove, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

This factually based response is in regards to jemco007 review.

The Booking came in at 5:22 PM on 10/17/13 via fax from Booking.com. The reservation was for the same night 10/17/13. Booking.com is a third party online booking site. The hotel does not have control over the bookings or cancellations. Only the guest does.

The customers card was charged a deposit at 5:31 PM on 10/17/13. The guest was scheduled for our last room which was a 3rd floor room with a balcony and view of the harbor located in our private Annex Building.

Upon entering the office the next day, the day manager noticed the guest did not show up. At this time the guest was reported as a no-show to Booking.com.

Later in the day, the guest arrived and was informed of "his" error in Booking online and shown the actual reservation. When asked if he received his email confirmation after booking, he stated he never checks his email so he did not see "his" mistake. We understand that everyone makes mistakes. He was explained very politely that if he had contacted us or Booking.com after realizing the error, we would have been able to adjust the booking. He stated he understood and that we should not have to take the loss in revenue for his error.

Booking.com called on 10/19/13 as the guest was trying to receive a refund claiming they "made a mistake" and booked the wrong date. The situation was explained to Booking.com. Clearly the guest is writing a bad review because they could not get a refund for "their mistake".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Inn at Crystal Cove at the end of July. It was our first stop of many on our big USA tour. We wanted to stay just outside of Boston on purpose and we were made so welcome by Ronda who was willing to advise and assist in any way she could. We had a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the harbour. The room and hotel in general was very clean and we used the communal kitchen a couple of times just for coffee. It is pretty close to Logan Airport as others have described and it was the perfect place for us to stay after a long day travelling and away from busy Boston. We had a visit to the pool but did spend most of our full day there in Boston. It is relatively easy to travel to Boston with or without a car, we travelled on a bus (which stopped right outside) to Wood Island Station and used the metro to travel to central Boston, all in under an hour. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again if visiting Boston. Thanks Ronda.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillsindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

15 minutes from Logan airport. Quite & quaint. Best location outside of the hustle & bustle of Boston but close enough to be convenient. Fair price. Nice quiet neighborhood. Will stay there again. Only thing missing is a coffee pot in the room.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Joevash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at the inn for three days and enjoyed it immensely. The room we stayed in had a kitchen with full appliances. The room was very clean and the view was to die for. Staying in Winthrop allowed us the peace and quiet we were looking for. We had no problem going into Boston. We used our car one day and the T the following day. The staff torecommended some great restaurants in the area and we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winthrop
Winthrop Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Winthrop
466 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hilton Boston Logan Airport
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Boston Logan Airport
East Boston / Logan Airport
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston - at Logan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Crystal Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Crystal Cove

Address: 600 Shirley St, Winthrop, MA 02152-1331
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winthrop
Price Range: $101 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at Crystal Cove 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the seaside community of Winthrop, minutes from Logan International Airport and a short distance from Downtown Boston, The Inn at Crystal Cove boasts comfortable accommodations and a stunning view of Boston Harbor and city skyline. We provide complete living facilities, including fully-equipped kitchens, lounges, pool, free parking, cable television, free local calling and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Crystal Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Crystal Cove Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing