We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Crystal Cove
Ranked #1 of 4 Winthrop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belleville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is an ideal place to stay if you are looking for somewhere relaxing that's close to Boston. It's near to the airport, but still very quiet. There's no elevator, but there are several ground floor rooms if needed.

Room Tip: It's worth paying for the harbor view, as it's magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_and_Rowena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    115
    35
    16
    12
See reviews for
72
168
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

stay for 3 nights very nice room very clean. great location walking distance to restaurants.take the train or ferry to boston . Very friendly staff. Special tanks to Ronda for upgrading our room with a kitchenette.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmarcil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This Inn is a hidden Gem with wonderful views and fantastic totally redecorated rooms.Rhonda who works the reception check-in desk was the most friendly, helpful person we have ever dealt with in all of our travels. The day we checked in Friday, Aug. 16th we were even shown a newly redone suite in another building that is being gutted and renovated by one of the construction men onsite. I can not say enough about the beauty and the love and care that is going into the renovations. Our room was just redone totally #204! BEAUTIFUL!! It had a twin bed (that our 15 yr. old son slept on) and a double bed that my husband and I slept in. The bathroom was plenty big enough and all new. This room also had a FULL kitchen! Yes, I said a full kitchen, wonderful stove, large refrigerator, a table and chairs, granite counter along with brand new coffee pot, toaster, plates, utensils, etc. They even had canisters filled with coffee (very good tasting), sugar and flour! This room did not have a little deck but it did not matter because the brand new decks around the building had plenty of table and chairs for sitting and eating. From the deck the view was so gorgeous overlooking the Boston Bay Harbor and the city skyline! If you want hustle and bustle you can take the bus, which stops right out side of the Inn, to the T to go into the city. The price is right, the people are so friendly (EVERYONE including the women who cleaned our room.....loved them!), and the views are wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobyoung68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalcove600, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Crystal Cove, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Bobyoung68,

Thank you for the magnificent review and pictures of Room #204 and the spectacular view from our new lighted decks!

All of our staff, including the construction crew truly puts their heart and soul into everything they do to make your stay the best it can be. The new building you were shown should be done within the next month or so and offers two full apartments that sleep six. When completed, it will take your breath away.

If you are interested in future rates on these units, please contact me directly. I would be more than happy to speak with you. It would be our pleasure to have you and your family return to our Inn!

Warmest Regards,
Lauretta
Marketing Manager
The Inn at Crystal Cove
1-617-846-9217
ccove@tiac.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a nice place! Located on a quiet neighborhood away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Our room was clean and comfortable with a balcony outside overlooking picturesque, Boston Bay Harbor and the city skyline. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Newly renovated for the most part...well kept and attractive, what more could you want?
Conveniently located..we visited, Boston, Gloucester, and Rockport and had a great time.

Room Tip: For a little extra space and convenience, consider booking the apartment suites. Be sure to request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissailorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked in here for 3 nights and when we arrived spoke to Rhonda on reception who booked us in and was fantastically helpful.

We had an excellent room, immaculately cleaned (every day)!! We were told about the local ferry to Boston (8am) $8 each way it is a fantastic way to get there... DO NOT MISS THIS.

As others have said parking is very tight - you could easily get dinged, I would say that this was the only defect for the whole place!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveh001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My brother and I stayed here for three nights. It was substantially less to stay here than in Boston. The people working here went over and above to make our stay enjoyable. In fact, one even let me use her cell phone to call my husband in Canada twice! The room was very clean and was nicely decorated. The view from our balcony was incredible! We were able to leave stuff in the fridge, so we had a cold drink waiting for us when we got back each night too. The ferry was down when we visited, but we were able to drive 10 minutes to the T station (subway) and take the subway into Boston. Parking at the T station was $5/day and we paid $18 for a week's pass for unlimited use of the T. Parking at the hotel is free, but extremely tight. It was such a great place to stay. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmdl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn this weekend and had a magnificent time! The location is perfect with breathtaking views of Boston Harbor and the city's skyline and just a short trip away using convenient public transportation (bus stop across the street) to downtown Boston. The room was perfect and very comfortable. We had a wonderful stay and will be coming back again soon for many reasons but mostly because of Rhonda. She is so friendly and helpful and it was an absolute pleasure meeting her. It's people like her that make all the difference when staying in a new place! What a wonderful weekend! Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmstrobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winthrop
Winthrop Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Winthrop
443 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Boston Logan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hilton Boston Logan Airport
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Crystal Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Crystal Cove

Property: The Inn at Crystal Cove
Address: 600 Shirley St, Winthrop, MA 02152-1331
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at Crystal Cove 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the seaside community of Winthrop, minutes from Logan International Airport and a short distance from Downtown Boston, The Inn at Crystal Cove boasts comfortable accommodations and a stunning view of Boston Harbor and city skyline. We provide complete living facilities, including fully-equipped kitchens, lounges, pool, free parking, cable television, free local calling and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at Crystal Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Crystal Cove Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing