We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view across harbour to Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at Crystal Cove
Ranked #1 of 4 Winthrop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We choose this Inn on the basis of some very good reviews and we were not disappointed. The staff were very welcoming on arrival. The room was compact in comparison to other places we had stayed but was very comfortable, clean and decorated very well. The advantage was the balcony with a view across the harbour to Boston which was fantastic to look at daytime and at nighttime. There is a very well equipped kitchen available to use and a large fridge to store food/ drinks. We did not want to, but would have been an added bonus, if we had wanted to cook. there is a lounge area and a swimming pool as well, so very well equipped.

What is great to do is take the ferry across to Boston and travel home by the subway.

Dont be put off by the closeness of the airport as it did not prove a problem at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony at the front with a view across the harbour to the Boston skyline. Som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annettebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 356 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I and our daughter and granddaughter spent Monday - Wednesday at the
Inn. I must say that we have not encountered a more friendly staff in all our travels... We stayed in the Inn's annex on the second floor... We had access to a full kitchen with a very nice table and chairs along with a large living room for all six rooms to share. Our room was spotless and had a great view of Boston harbor both the room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. We meet some very nice people and it felt like we were staying in someone's home.. We took the ferry to Boston each day to Rowes Landing.
Our first time in Boston and staying at the Inn... We would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: The annex only has six rooms... was great for the general use of kitchen... and was very clean and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papab_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We found this gem while looking for reasonable places to stay near Boston with access to public transportation. It was our home away from home for 10 days. This quiet community has a variety of small restaurants with delicious fare, an efficient bus service that reached most venues, a salt marsh for hiking/kayaking, Deer Island for grand ocean/harbor vistas and hiking, a ferry landing for access to Boston Harbor (Rowe's Wharf) while giving a scenic ride, several small beaches for sunning or combing, and French Market (a weekly summer, open air event with live music and a few vendor tables with food and gifts for sale).
Pros: clean, comfy, courteous staff (especially Rick, night manager), location (30 mins. to Boston on bus/T), WINTHROP (quiet, picturesque, coastal community), delightful restaurants and shops (my favorite was Winthrop Book Depot and Cafe), reasonable rates for the area
Cons: planes (if you don't like to watch them land and take off, we do), hot tub (this didn't work and was ADAMANTLY renamed a "kiddie pool" by one of the desk people-"duh"), coffee was measured out sparingly and often out or unavailable, LABELED stored food went missing from the shared kitchen
We enjoyed our stay in Winthrop, but will caution you that you have to work to ferret out the information you need as they really don't seem to consider themselves a vacation venue. CALL the Chamber of Commerce. I found their website only moderately helpful, but when I visited it in person, I was well taken care of and information abounded.

Room Tip: The rooms are all quite different; some having kitchenettes, tubs or showers, harbor view or not. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiker912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We could not find a hotel room in Boston as a large convention descended upon the city however we were fortunate to find this charming Inn which was also very close to the airport as we had a flight the next day. Our room faced the bay which gave us a view of downtown Boston and the airport which we enjoyed while sitting out on the balcony at night. The room was cozy and very tidy while the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in at an Inn or hotel. I also loved going down to the shared kitchen in the morning and making morning coffee which made it feel more like a home. Rhonda was delightful and very helpful in recommending a local restaurant, arranging for transportation to the airport, and recommending another of their properties located in Boston - The Longwood Inn. Our daughter will soon be attending college in Boston so we will definitely check out the Longwood and stay here once again. Located just steps away from a beach, this is a terrific value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We are frequent visitors to the Boston area, with children and grandchildren in the suburbs we sometimes we stay with them. But because this was a trip that combined a journalism conference with the family activity, we wanted lodging with easy public transportation access to the T, trains and Logan Airport. So, in a market overrun with $300 and up room rates, it is refreshing to find such a charming and comfortable place to stay.

Check-in — We arrived quite late on Saturday, June 9 and Rick, the night manager, checked us in. He was friendly and helpful. He had a schedule for the Winthrop Ferry, run by Boston Harbor Cruises under contract with the Town of Winthrop.

Accommodations — We asked for and got a second floor room with a balcony facing the harbor and Logan. The room was very comfortable. We knew ahead of time it would have a shower, no tub, and that was fine with us. Just know going in that the rooms are different, some with kitchenettes, others without harbor views. Ours was quite comfortable. Many other reviewers have mentioned the noise of the planes; and, indeed, the pattern has very frequent flights quite near and quite loud to the inn. But I love planes and it was no bother. When we closed the sliding door to the balcony, it was quiet.

The view from the room was wonderful, but huge power lines interfered. This isn’t the inn’s fault. Winthrop itself doesn’t seem to understand the gem that it is and hasn’t called for buried power lines.

The pool was well-kept and clean, but the hot tub didn’t work. One of the office workers tried to shine us on that it was a “kiddie pool.”

Services — This is not a B&B or hotel. It’s more of a boarding house with a shared kitchen. That means you have to mark your food lest someone else use it and sometimes they do anyway — at least that’s what we experienced. And it also means morning coffee is a problem. If someone makes it and there is some left, great. But sometimes it’s all out and you have to make your own. And that is one of the problems. The inn is very stingy with kitchen supplies and such. So, there were times before the office opened that we had no coffee in the kitchen and no way to get someone to bring it. The same parsimony applies to the paper towels and some of the room supplies like Kleenex.

Area Knoweldge — I believe the staff should have more complete knowledge of the area. For example, in the pre-arrival briefing, we learned that a bus ran from the Orient Heights T station and had a stop in front of the inn; but it took some research (and the kindness of an MBTA employee) to get us a schedule and to understand the buses had stops throughout Winthrop. And while Rick gave use the ferry schedule and signs along the road pointed to the ferry dock in Winthrop, no one could tell us where to catch the ferry on the Boston side (the ferry terminal at Rowe’s Wharf), so we had a hard time getting folks to us on the ferry. All that said, with the knowledge, it’s easy to get around.

By the way, don’t expect any help from the people at the ferry terminal, the harbormaster or the town manager.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newsguygeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Thanks for your review dated 6/20/12. I'm pleased to hear that our installation of high quality sound proof windows and doors has been effective in keeping out the airplane noise. However the flight path is not constantly over our building as there are rotating runway uses depending on wind direction.

I would take issue with the Boarding House classification. We have done extensive costly renovations and I doubt that any boarding house has a gunite swimming pool and top Quality Restoration Hardware Lighting Fixtures..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed for two weekends at The Inn at Crystal Cove leaving from Boston on a week long cruise. From start to finish, Ronda Holden, Day Manager, and the Inn Team could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. The property and rooms are newly "freshened up" and super clean through out. Yes, the planes from Logan Airport take off right over top of the Inn, but never a problem getting a wonderful nights sleep. Ronda was always there to answer questions and offer advise, making you feel more like family and friends. Definitely try The Rustic Table, just a few blocks down Shirley St. for dining, you will not be disappointed. When we return to the Boston area, it will be automatic... We will stay at The Inn at Crystal Cove! Thanks Ronda and Staff...We will see you soon!

Room Tip: Check with Ronda or Loretta, explain your needs, they will do their best to be accommodating.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

After a week long tour around Massachusetts, starting in Boston and ending at this inn, we all agreed (party of 4 with 2 rooms) that this was a favorite. The rooms are cozy and comfortable to sleep in, but you have all the amenities of a condo with the shared kitchen and lounging rooms. The staff was over and above helpful, recommending restaurants and accommodating a switch of rooms to the same building for our convenience. After paying anywhere from $145 to $200 on rooms across lovely Massachusetts, (one in Gloucester a total rip!) this was definitely a quaint, comfortable diamond. Beautifully decorated. Nice views. One drawback is noise from Logan airport, but that didn't end up being a problem through the night for either party. We were concerned about no shuttle to the airport, but we had a rental car and parking is a snap; the airport was literally about a ten-minute easy drive away. Definitely recommend this one.

Room Tip: We had two rooms in the main building...the one next to the office with handicap accessibility was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bakeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winthrop
Winthrop Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Winthrop
465 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hilton Boston Logan Airport
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Boston Logan Airport
East Boston / Logan Airport
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston - at Logan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Crystal Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Crystal Cove

Address: 600 Shirley St, Winthrop, MA 02152-1331
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winthrop
Price Range: $103 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at Crystal Cove 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the seaside community of Winthrop, minutes from Logan International Airport and a short distance from Downtown Boston, The Inn at Crystal Cove boasts comfortable accommodations and a stunning view of Boston Harbor and city skyline. We provide complete living facilities, including fully-equipped kitchens, lounges, pool, free parking, cable television, free local calling and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Crystal Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Crystal Cove Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing