We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Little Piece of Sanity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harrington House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Winthrop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

From your room, a view of Boston Harbor, and the Boston skyline beyond. Walk 2 blocks, in the opposite direction, and you are on the Atlantic Ocean. All within minutes of the heart of Boston.

Visiting Maggie and Joey is like visiting family - only way, way better. Whether they are experienced innkeepers or not, they sure do it beautifully - they are there when you need them, and aren't when you don't. Their property is absolutely lovely, and their warmth is real.

Winthrop is a very cool place to explore. Great restaurants, lots of quirky, charming houses, and miles of walking trips to take.

Almost forgot - Maggie's granola is awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cvilliean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 87 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We booked this place because the reviews were so good. And yes, we have to underline this good Impressions.
The owners were so friendly open hearted. The room clean and nice.
Everything furnished nicely. The bed was really good to sleep in. The breakfast in the morning in a Continental style really good.
We would definitly come back.
Nice place!!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We only stayed one night before our flight back to Germany, and we chose Harrington House because of the good reviews and because it is so close to Logan Airport. Pity it was only one night, we were sorry to leave - Harrington House is such a great place!
We stayed in the Boston Harbor Room, a spacious room with armchairs in the bay windows and splendid views of the Boston skyline across the harbor. The whole house is spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished, the beautiful shared bathroom makes you forget it is not en suite. We loved the comfortable lounge (and the freshly baked cookies in the afternoon), and with fine weather you can even have a rest in the nice front garden.
There is really good fresh coffee (and tea) available around the clock, and breakfast was delicious. The hosts are nice people, and we will certainly stay here again, if we come back to Boston.
Winthrop is a great place because it is quite close to the bustling city, but it is also a haven of peace, with nice houses, nice people and a beach!
And Winthrop has a very good Chinese restaurant – ask Maggie for details!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My family truly enjoyed our stay. The house was dainty and delightful. The hosts are warm and welcoming. The time and attention to detail did not go unnoticed. We were welcomed with home baked cookies which were much appreciated after the road trip. We woke up to an assortment of home baked goods along with their signature granola mix which is a must. Our intent was to spend time near down town Boston, once my family found the beach our plan took an unexpected turn. We now have some great memories and have a new found fondness of Winthrop. We will definitely return. Next time we'll lengthen our stay.

Room Tip: We requested an extra bed in our room for our teen. We were comfortable and had a view of the bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vwvw888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Maggie and Joey are the best host you'll ever find in a B&B. They make you feel at home with their daily breakfast of home made muffins, fresh fruit and cereals. We rented the room with the view of the Harbor and it was worth it. The shared bathroom was okay for me. They have fresh towels and everyday. The bed was so comfortable that it felt like i have not left home. Their attention to details on their home was remarkable. The B&B is also 15 minutes away from the airport. Will definitely be back to explore the area more.

Room Tip: room with the view of the Harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cecil t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hosts greeted us with a warm beverage after we arrived late in the evening and the let us relax before they showed us to our very comfortable room. They truly made us feel like we were in a home away from home. Allow some time to chat with them and enjoy the view of the Harbor.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nana177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

As with a previous reviewer we had been planning a trip to New England in the Fall and wanted to use Boston as a start and finish point. Hotels in downtown Boston were very expensive and had fairly indifferent reviews. You don't need a car in Boston with excellent public transport, so staying on the outskirts seemed a solution. A short $20-25 cab ride from the airport. ( fares are metered.) No ensuite, near an airport, continental breakfast at first sight might not appear ideal compared with what others offer but I can honestly say that once you arrive your choice will be fully vindicated and they make no secret of what is on offer. The hosts are up front, good people who have more than made the most of what they have and work hard to make you welcome and comfortable. You notice the attention to detail in the way the house is laid out. We stayed twice and both rooms were clean comfortable and tastefully furnished, with original features. There was no problem with the shared bathroom and there are two toilets available. You hear and see the planes but they don't really bother you. The house itself has an interesting history dating from the late 19th century and is of the traditional clapboard design overlooking Boston Bay. If the weather is right there are great sunsets to be seen across the marina towards the City. There is a comfortable book lined lounge with views across to Boston and at 4pm freshly baked cookies and coffee after a hard days sightseeing. Free Wifi available. There is a ferry to Boston but it leaves at 8am probably too early, so you can take the bus and subway. This is very easy as the bus stops outside and costs $2 each single. It terminates at the subway $2.50 to Boston a few stops to the centre. The bus takes you around Winthrop an attractive little town so the journey is simple and no hardship, taking at the most 40 minutes in all to Boston. A bus leaves just after nine and at regular intervals. Breakfast is again continental but everything is freshly prepared and a welcome change from other places we stayed. As I say this was a welcome and unique experience, at a very reasonable price, staying in a period property in an excellent location with excellents hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eonaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
1.2 mi away
Winthrop Arms Hotel
Winthrop Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Winthrop
481 reviews
0.5 mi away
Winthrop Beach Inn and Suites at Boston Logan Airport
1.1 mi away
Chateau sur Mer (Castle by the Sea)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Crystal Cove
The Inn at Crystal Cove
#1 of 4 in Winthrop
366 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Harrington House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Terrace Ave, Winthrop, MA 02152-2521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winthrop
Price Range: $98 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrington House B&B is a Queen Anne Victorian Home built around 1885. We have three well appointed guest rooms on the second floor with shared bathrooms. There is a large dining room with 25 hour coffee and tea as well as a cozy sitting room filled with books, a TV, laptop and spectacular views of Boston Harbor and the city skyline! Located just 4 miles from Logan International Airport and 7 miles from downtown Boston, with great public transportation, local summertime ferry and taxi service. Walk to beaches, boating, hiking, great restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Harrington House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing