We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was okay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocco's Restaurant & Bar

Rocco's Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Rocco's Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 53 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Boston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food was okay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a bit local hang out, and I really want to like this place. We went for a meal with our kids. The food portions were generous. I think the food is okay. The thing that turned me off is that when my daughter wanted to use the restroom to wash her hands, I was appalled at how grimy the bathroom was. It didn't look like it had a good cleaning in a long time. If I'm in a restaurant, I judge the cleanliness of the kitchen by how well the bathrooms are taken care of. If public areas aren't clean, how clean is the behind-the-scenes area? The air vents were covered in years' worth of dust, etc. Floors were sticky. You get the picture . . . We haven't been back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jlb018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Like Nonna made”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am very picky about my red sauce (gravy). But, Roccos sauce is soooo good. It is very simple marinara - chunks of tomato, garlic, onion. Love it. Their meatballs...delicious. The pizza is yummy too. Some of their dishes are on the pricey side. The portions are large though so you will probably go home with leftovers. The food is so good, I'd swear there's a little old Italian grandmother in the kitchen.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Americangirl624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tasty Italian, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Ate there on a Sunday night in early October. The place wasn't really busy so we were seated right away. There is a bar section up top which had the Patriot's game on and a separate section with several tables on the street-side of the restaurant. They took our drink orders right away and we were able to enjoy the company of the people we were with. We then put our food order in - it took a little longer than I thought it should for a barely full restaurant, but our food finally did arrive. I ordered the clam chowder and a side of sausage and my wife ordered chicken broccoli penne - both were extremely delicious. All in all a good time, service was good but could be picked up a notch with regard to drink refills - not a deal breaker so I would still recommend eating here.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRealComputerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
174 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“2nd visit as good as 1st.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

You never know if the place you ate was realy that good until you return; so we did. The food has been great both times and I even ate the same thing, rattlesnake chicken pasta. The service was a little slow but we weren't in a hurry thus the 4 stars.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank casinogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Locals Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Small Restaurant with a few 6 person booths, bar area and a glassed in front restaurant dining area down a few steps. A short wait on a Saturday nite. We chose a booth in the main area. The waitress was timely in obtaining our drink order and gave us a few minutes to peruse the menu. We ordered a House special Platter that included Eggplant, Veal, 2 homemade meatballs, 2 sausages and linguine. It arrived fairly quickly. The eggplant and veal were very good. The meatballs were O.K. being a little dry. The sausages had no flavor at all. Mounds of pasta came on the platter. The sauce was watery and bland. This is an O.K. restaurant for, a very casual inexpensive dinner. We will try it again to sample other offerings.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocco's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Rocco's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing