We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Williamstown B&B and Inns
North Attleboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect romantic getaway”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a romantic getaway to celebrate Valentine's Day after the holiday. I found the 1896 House online. We reserved a barnside suite and although a little more than I wanted to spend found that it was worth the money. The rooms lacked for nothing from the romantic music CDs in the room to the refrigerator and coffee maker with a selection of both teas and coffee to the bath salts and candle in the bathroom to accompany the jacuzzi tub. Dolores cooked our breakfast to order in addition to other items on the buffet. She is truly an asset to the 1896 House and we hope to see her when we return in the future. We ate both dinners at the pub on the premises and enjoyed excellent food and service. We look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpanchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    25
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
135
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holliston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2011

My boyfriend and I just returned from an amazing two night stay in one of 1896 House's Barnside suites. When we arrived we were pleased at how adorable the whole area was and that each suite had a door that exited out onto a porch with rocking chairs. When we entered the room we could not have been more pleased. We stayed in room 205 and it was amazing. The room was filled with beautiful antiques and decorative touches everywhere, not to mention that it had every amenity that you could want or need. We added the Love Nest package so there were also flowers, chocolates and champagne in our room. We also added a couples massage and the massage therapist who arrived in our room the next day was amazing. We ate and drank in the restaurant, and the food, service, and atmosphere were perfect and the prices were extremely reasonable. Breakfast each morning is very good, and honestly the fact that it is included in the already reasonable room rate is unheard of. Overall every single person that we came into contact with went above and beyond to make our stay perfect, and they achieved their goal! We cannot wait to go back in the summer when we can really enjoy that porch!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamiedore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2011

The room was very nice I loved the jacuzzi bathtub. I realized I forgot a shower cap but luckily they had one for me. The gas fireplace was really nice. There were helpful instructions on using the various features of the room. The inn was nice and close to Jiminy peak and they apparently offered discounted lift tickets there. Very nice place I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abrown11209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2010

This was the third time we have stayed at the 1896 House and we love it. We come to Williamstown about 2 to 3 times a year to see our son at Williams College. We have stayed "poolside", "brookside" and in the luxury suites. They are very comfortable, very clean and this last stay in the suite was fabulous!! We were originally in a brookside w/king size bed our first night but the bed was so hard and uncomfortable that we had to switch rooms. We told the inkeepers about the bed and they were so accomodating that they switched our room immediately and purchased a new bed for the other room the next day. My husband and I love staying at the 1896 House and their restaurant/pub has the best food in town with a great atmosphere. They also have the best bartender around...shout out to Anthony!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasketBallm0m24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Greatly enjoyed our stay in the luxurious Barnside suite. The suite was very nicely appointed, spacious, and clean. The bedding was the most comfortable we have ever slept on. Staff was friendly and helpful. Our dinner at the 6 House Pub was very good and reasonably priced. Breakfast buffet had nice selection although the scrambled eggs and pastries could be better. The grounds are very pretty with the bridge across the brook and the gardens with gazebo in front. Would be a nice place to relax outdoors in the summer during your stay. Will recommend to friends who come to visit the area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmc825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

My wife and I spent three days in mid October at the 1896 House to celebrate our anniversary. Our suite was spotlessly clean, spacious and decorated with beautiful antiques. King bed was comfortable. The restaurant was divine. Breakfast was scrumptious and the service beyond our expectations. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2010

My husband and I picked the Bershires to visit during our recent anniversary weekend. We stayed at the 1896 House in one of the suites. It was very very clean and quiet. Our suite had a fireplace and jacuzzi bath. All of the suites are in a separate building from the other rooms and share a big beautiful porch with wicker furniture. I loved that the end suite was actually a private breakfast room that served the suite guests a candle light breakfast; very romantic. The Pub was fun and lively. Everyone that worked there was very hospitable. I would highly recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NABeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.6 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#6 of 13 in Williamstown
315 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
459 reviews
9.5 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
631 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn

Property: The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
Address: 910 Cold Spring Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting 3 building property on a brook and pond. Variety of luxury suites with a candlelight gourmet breakfast and immaculate and charming traditional motel rooms with a hot breakfast buffet. Many bed configurations and some connecting rooms. Some dual whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi and business center. Very popular ‘6 House Pub on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. Accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1896 House - Barnside Hotel Williamstown
1896 Hotel Country
1896 Motel Country
Country Inn Williamstown
Williamstown Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing