We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate - but I don't see what all the fuss is about”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Williamstown B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Adequate - but I don't see what all the fuss is about”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night primarily based on the rave reviews and opted for one of the Barnside suites, again based on strong reviews. The location is pretty - set by a serene brook. The suite was $199/night. Instead of feeling like a nicely appointed B&B, it has the general look and feel of an upgraded motel room that was upgraded in the 80s. The room had some nice appointments but was nothing terribly special. Some of the antiques were pretty, others were sort of cheesy. Fake flowers adorned the room including a rose left on the bed, that was deemed to be "scented" though it actually wasn't. Apparently, these are a hot commodity, because the room guide stated that if one "wanted to take it with them, it could be added to the bill" The fireplace was a nice touch. The jacuzzi was pleasant but the water wasn't warm enough. There was a gorgeous Tiffany light above the tub, but the CFL light didn't allow it to be dimmed. Everything just fell short of the mark. We went to sleep disappointed but were looking forward to the "candlelight breakfast" that sounded elegant and special. It is served in a room with four or five tables, of which only one is anything other than a standard diner table. There was no choice of breakfast - our's was French toast and sausage links that were mediocre at best. The additional breakfast items were set up as a buffet. There was ample choice - yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit, muffins, yummy cinnamon rolls, juices, breakfast breads, etc. But I've had much nicer breakfasts at other B&Bs. Personally, I wouldn't rush back. If we had paid $125/night, I'd give them 3.5 stars. For $199, I expect more.

Room Tip: A room by the brook is nice for the serene sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pctrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise R, Owner at The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Of course we are sorry that this guest was disappointed. All of our suites have different decor so perhaps he would have appreciated another suite more, as decor is a matter of taste. The suites were built in the year 2000, in the space that housed our former banquet room, and they are decorated in 6 different historical periods. They are not motel like in any way, (some have 12 foot ceilings and all have antiques) but one enters directly from a porch without going through any common areas, so I can see that some people would get that feeling. Others like the privacy of no hallway where others walking through can hear everything.
Our breakfast tables are exact reproductions of early tap tables, the same as we have in our Pub, and were created just for us by The Seraph, in Sturbridge MA.
Although we offer buffet selections to accommodate those with dietary preferences, we do change the breakfast entree every morning, alternating between savory and sweet. Sometimes it is very fancy, and the next day may be more simple. When guests stay more than one evening, they may request certain items, or something less rich for the next day.
Ours is not a traditional Bed & Breakfast, so if that is what the guest is looking for, it may not meet expectations,and that is why we call ourselves an Inn. However, by the many positive reviews, I think that fact is not that necessary to appreciate what we do offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    25
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
135
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

What a pleasant surprise to be met my our host and two Airedales, and then check into our lovely room. Our suite had a living room area, a dining table and kitchenette, a wonderful bed with excellent reading lights, and a super bathroom. We had dinner at the Pub and enjoyed it very much. And don't miss breakfast by Dolores....delicious and healthy! We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlymyTonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise R, Owner at The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for a nice review. We are so happy that you enjoyed it and we hope you will return very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

A friend and I discovered 1896 House about 20 years ago, and it has become a favorite spot for retreat ever since.
The Berkshire area is beautiful and close to home, so less time spent in the car and more time spent admiring the natural beauty in a relaxing, comfortable, and magnificent environment with much to experience. The grounds at the Inn are meticulously cared for, with outdoor furniture to view the brook, and flowers and plants of every season. Every room we've reserved has been decorated with care and kept pristine. This time we stayed at a Barnside suite, and are now spoiled by the expanse and elegance. The rates are very reasonable, and include a delightful breakfast, specially cooked to order for suite visitors.
The area boasts many fine dining spots, and ideal lunch and tavern fare as well.
We have gone often, and plan to continue. The owners and staff are fantastic, couldn't ask for more. So glad we found this place!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but the suites are superior for just a little more money. Having a restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed in one of the Barnside luxury suites for two nights as a weekend getaway. Very nice, well appointed, room with gas fireplace and jacuzzi tub, television, dvd player, and A/C. There is not a lot to do in the area, hiking and museums mostly, so this is a place to relax. I gave it a middle of the line rating for location because of this. If you want a night life or even a day life, this is not the place to go as far as I can tell. Maybe in the winter if you ski.

Lots of little extras included in the package we purchased. Including dinner at the '6 House Pub which was very good. Breakfast was included and one of the suites is used for serving. Their is a small buffet and the chef cooks something special each day. We had a nice fruit crepe one day and an omelette the next. Overall we'd do it again as long as we wanted a quiet time or to do some hiking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onyxsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The room was everything we were looking for. We stayed in suite 202 for our 1 year Wedding Anniversary and this room was absolutely wonderful. The breakfast was in a private room with only a few other couples witch was also very quaint. The brochure online was a little vague, the way I had interpreted it was that all the rooms were equipped with fireplaces, jacuzzi for two, canopy bed and as beautiful as the one we stayed in, that isn't the case. You need to call ahead and clarify exactly what your looking for before booking the room. The location was very centralized, we were able to get to most towns in the berkshires easily. The setting is very romantic for those looking for a great hide away from the hussel and bussell of the city life.

Room Tip: Always read everything online before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceCamire58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise R, Owner at The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are very glad you enjoyed the room and Happy Anniversary! All of our Luxury Suites do have fireplaces, Jacuzzis for 2, and some have canopy beds. Others do not as some guests confess to claustrophobia. However, we also have motel rooms in separate buildings with different names that have different offerings in the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in suite 206 for three nights. Everything was as we hoped it to be. Beautiful suite, great bed! The gas fire was wonderful to sit in front of for morning coffee or for a night cup. Lovely cooked breakfasts,great staff! The pub/restaurant with very good food in the next house-so easy when you have been sightseeing most of the day! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaritandPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I felt compelled to write this because, I have to admit, after reading all of the other reviews I felt like I stayed at an entirely different place than the rest of these people. We were in town for a wedding and looking for a place to stay in the area - a lot of other places were booked. Everything in the Berkshires is pricey during foliage season, and this place was not an exception. Overall, I've have definitely shelled out more than this for a room stay before, so I'm not a cheap person. I just don't think this place was worth the money.

Front desk staff was totally indifferent both checking in and checking out. Breakfast was uninspired for a bed-and-breakfast. It was more on par with what you'd get at something like a Hampton Inn (but Hamptons are a lot cheaper). There was also a sign at breakfast asking for tips, which just seemed tacky and something that I've never experienced at a bed-and-breakfast. You also have to sign up for your 1/2-hour breakfast time slot when you check in. As a result of the staggered times, it is just you (and whoever else you are with) eating in this big room with all these other empty tables around you. It just feels odd. We were almost going to ditch breakfast the second morning we were here and just grab coffee in Williamstown. Apparently according to the staff at breakfast, a few other parties didn't show up that morning, so we weren't the only ones thinking that.

The room is a bit over-the-top for me with all the crazy decor, but I could see someone like my parents liking it. The room was also really dark, even with all their dimmers turned up. We had to open the blinds during the day to have enough light getting ready, etc. But when you open all your blinds, you are essentially looking at their parking lot.

The one positive that I have to say is this place was really clean. With all those surfaces in the rooms, desks and shelves and draperies and lamps and crazy Victorian statues (there's a lot of stuff in there), there wasn't any dust at all. Bathroom was super clean too. So kudos to their housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogadoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise R, Owner at The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
It is unfortunate, but these guests went to the wrong breakfast room. Although we give directions on check in, and there is a sign on the bed with instructions, every once in awhile guests don’t pay attention. So they went to our motel breakfast room, which is nice for a motel at lower prices, but does not meet the expectations of a bed and breakfast guest. The breakfast room they should have gone to is right near their room, is intimate and cozy, and only has six small tables.
We do ask for approximate breakfast times in our Luxury Suites because we have only 6 of them, and we want to be sure the specially prepared breakfast is as fresh as possible when they arrive.
I am glad they found the suite very clean, if not to their taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.6 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#6 of 13 in Williamstown
315 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
458 reviews
9.5 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
630 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn

Property: The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
Address: 910 Cold Spring Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting 3 building property on a brook and pond. Variety of luxury suites with a candlelight gourmet breakfast and immaculate and charming traditional motel rooms with a hot breakfast buffet. Many bed configurations and some connecting rooms. Some dual whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi and business center. Very popular ‘6 House Pub on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. Accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1896 House - Barnside Hotel Williamstown
1896 Hotel Country
1896 Motel Country
Country Inn Williamstown
Williamstown Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing