We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
Nearby Hotels
Willows Motel(Williamstown)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cozy Corner Motel(Williamstown)(Great Value!)
$59
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL(Williamstown)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Williams Inn(Williamstown)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orchards Hotel(Williamstown)
$139
$135
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Williamstown Motel(Williamstown)(Great Value!)
$69
$67
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Valley Motel(Williamstown)
$48
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Berkshire Valley Inn(Williamstown)(Great Value!)
$99
$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berkshire Hills Country Inn(Williamstown)(Great Value!)
$65
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
130
27
11
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
27
11
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas fireplacethe pubwicker furnitureliving socialbreakfast preparedjet tubprivate breakfastbabbling brookpersonal chefcomfortable couchnice place to relaxtwo night staythe check in processsitting areafour poster bedthree nightsowners and staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 183 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The 1896 House is a wonderful place to stay when visiting the Berkshires. The rooms are beautiful, very roomy, and clean. We enjoyed listening to the babbling brook while sitting in the wicker furniture on the porch just outside our door.The attached "Pub" has a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere and the food is delicious - something for everyone. I would definately stay at the 1896 House again.

Room Tip: We stayed brookside and the room was great!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eilwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our third time staying at the '96 House. Each visit has been excellent. The rooms are spectacular with every possible amenity from a canopy bed to a jacuzzi!. We enjoyed sitting on the covered porch in the wicker furniture and listening to the sounds from the stream flowing nearby. The breakfast in the morning was superb. The buffet was huge and the "special" was delivered with excellent presentation.
We went next door to the 6 House Pub and had a great meal chosen from an extensive menu. Thursday was "Shrimp Night" with a huge number of shrimp dinners listed for a price fixed meal.
All in all an excellent stay with very nice people!

Room Tip: Suite #6 is next to the stream so you can leave your window open at night and hear the soothing sounds of the running water put you to sleep!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsw48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

we stayed in the suites. We felt like a king and queen. Gorgeously decorated spacious room. Comfy sofa and bed. The breakfast that we had there was DELICIOUS!!! I can't say enough good about the 1896 House! If it would have been warmer out we would have enjoyed sitting on the porch. I give this 10 stars!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Williamstown itself is calm and manicured, and given the fact that it is entirely dominated by Williams College one would expect the student influence to have made it more lively. But these are calm and manicured students, so the place is simply relaxing. It does, however, have some great art museums (the Clark, Williams College and, five miles down the road, MassMoCA contemporary art museum) and good hiking in the surrounding hills. Staying in the Barnside Inn at the 1896 House hotel/motel complex made for a very relaxing and enjoyable few days. Our suite (the Empire Suite) was very spacious, with really comfortable armchairs for reading, excellent bathroom, and very good bed. Each suite opens up onto its own space on the deck outside, with comfortable seating. Ignore the over-the-top and somewhat cringe-making descriptions of each of the six suites on their website (I don't think they were being ironic) - these are excellent places to stay. And the private breakfast room for the residents in the suites was welcoming, and the breakfasts good, with the main hot dish cooked individually by a member of staff. The cleaning etc of each room was done to a very high standard. This is a very good place to spend a few days, with the added bonus of the excellent craft beers and serviceable food at the '6 Pub next door.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoffC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the suites next to the '6 House Pub for two nights in April. The suite was very roomy, with a full living room, small kitchen, super comfy four poster bed surrounded by curtains, and the best jacuzzi tub I've ever had the pleasure of using. There's also a working gas fireplace right in front of the bed and a TV adjacent to the bed. The location is very close to Williams College and the Clark Art Museum and several restaurants, and just 15 minutes away from MassMOCA. The staff was very welcoming and accomodating. We ended up eating dinner both nights at the '6 House Pub at the bar because the bartender and the patrons were all so friendly and the food was so delicious. We had such a great weekend here; I'd highly recommend it to anyone who wants a quick, romantic getaway near some excellent art museums.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews