We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful escape!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Williamstown B&B and Inns
Farmingdale, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful escape!!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a wonderful time. We were greeted so warmly when we arrived in the main office, it felt like home right away. The room was very cozy, plenty of room. Able to relax with a bath and wrap in a robe with slippers provided in the suite. They even put a candle and bath salts in the bathroom. There was nothing skipped, every amenity was thought about. Even make up remover pads, cotton balls and q-tips. The fireplace was a nice addition. The suite had a refrigerator and a bottle of wine with 2 glasses greeted us as we arrived. Breakfast prepared by Dolores was a special treat each morning. We could smell it cooking through the walls!! Our dinner was amazing in the Pub, which certainly doesn't sell only traditional pub food (not unless Lobster is usually on the menu!) I was a real treat and a place I would love to go back to in the warmer weather.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 201 with a kitchenette. Don't know anything about the other rooms but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    25
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
135
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This past Sun & Mon my husband & I stayed at the Barnside suites, we were in 206. This was my gift to my husband for his 84th birthday. It was perfect in every way, the attention that the owners put in our suite was phenomenal from luxurious robes & slippers, to a candle with matches in the bathroom with Jacuzzi tub. Relaxing CD’s, gas fireplace. They even thought to put reading lights on the 4-poster bed for those of us that like to read in bed. The candle lit breakfast both mornings was 5 star, with more food selections than one could eat, and the chef’s choice each morning was delicious. The pub dinning room is beautifully decorated, comfortable and the food was out of this world.
We can’t wait for another reason to go back.

Room Tip: suite 206 is at the end near the brook with lots of windows letting the sun shine in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpursville, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a special getaway to celebrate my birthday. The room was beautiful and comfortable. Nice for hanging out in front of the fireplace when you need a break. Dinner at the '6 Pub was good and plentiful. Try the Mussels Brussels and the artichoke salad. Location great-minutes from Williamstown and the Clark museum, 25 minutes from Bennington Vermont. We asked to see a room in Brookside and noticed a musty smell (off season?) I would opt for Barnside. The rooms far outshine the other option we saw.

Very welcoming. Did I mention breakfast? Unbelievable!

Room Tip: Fitness center clicked by mistake. Ooops. Choose any room in Barnside. You won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanzi, Owner at The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you so much for such a nice review! I just wanted to say that our Brookside rooms all have real wood paneling, and often people mistake the smell for mustiness. It really is just a wood smell that some people love. "Brookside" is far from the brook and has no mold or mildew . It really is the MOST popular of our 3 properties, although not the most elegant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Room was elegant and welcoming ! We had the Love Nest package ! It was fabulous ! Enjoyed the jacuzzi tub by candlelight ! Overall a great night away for the two of us ! Definitely will return ! Thank you !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcorkery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My nusband and I wanted to get away for a couple of days to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We could not have chosen a better place. The room (suite 205) in the Barnside was so beautiful and dare I say, romantic. The suite was very clean and inviting. The gas fireplace in the room added warmth to an already cozy room. We had candlelight breakfasts everyday and the women who cooked and served us was warm and friendly and a great cook. We had two dinners at the 6' House Pub and the meals were first rate.There were many personal touches throughout and everyone we dealt with went out of their way to be friendly and helpful.We plan to recomend this wonderful place to all our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richritan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed two nights in one of the 1986 House Inn's Barnside suites and our time there was fabulous! The room was a perfect combination of roomy and cozy and the fireplace, dimmer switches on all lights, and two-person Jacuzzi tub made for a wonderful romantic weekend. It was very clean and well-kept and really felt like no expense was spared -- they even provided romantic music, a candle, bath salts, and robes and slippers for us! The included candlelight breakfasts were right next door and very nice and our dinner at the '6 House Pub was delicious (and a TON of food!). We stayed in 201, which appears to be the only suite with a kitchenette, and we loved having it! It was fully stocked with cooking- and silverware and allowed us to take back and reheat some of our food from the '6 House Pub (very useful given how much food we got!). Additionally, the 1896 house was conveniently located for many hiking trails (we loved soaking in the tub afterwards)and visits into the local Berkshire towns (including two art museums in Williamstown itself). I HIGHLY recommend staying here -- it's a perfect place for a romantic trip!

Room Tip: Suite 201 has a kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galaxia516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I arranged four suites for family members coming down to celebrate a big birthday for my father. Each room was amazing. We were in suites 201, 202, 205 and 206. I personally was in 201 which seemed to be the most expansive with a small kitchen area although 205 and 206 have higher ceilings. I felt it was luxurious and so comfortable. Loved the bed, gas fireplace, comfortable seating and jacuzzi. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Breakfast was pleasant and they surprised us with a small desert for my dad (with a candle) on our last day...so thoughtful!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.6 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#7 of 13 in Williamstown
315 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
455 reviews
9.5 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
629 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
225 reviews
2.1 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn

Property: The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
Address: 910 Cold Spring Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting 3 building property on a brook and pond. Variety of luxury suites with a candlelight gourmet breakfast and immaculate and charming traditional motel rooms with a hot breakfast buffet. Many bed configurations and some connecting rooms. Some dual whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi and business center. Very popular ‘6 House Pub on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. Accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1896 House - Barnside Hotel Williamstown
1896 Hotel Country
1896 Motel Country
Country Inn Williamstown
Williamstown Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing