We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dollar for dollar, best in North Berkshires”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hobson's Choice

Hobson's Choice
Ranked #23 of 47 Restaurants in Williamstown
Price range: $7 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dollar for dollar, best in North Berkshires”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Meet Dan, your owner, your neighbor, and your chef. Nice guy. Quaint ambiance, pleasant, friendly, knowledgeable wait staff. Loved their Tuscan Pasta (seafood in a tangy Italian sauce over angel hair, but everything is good). Fresh seafood daily; definitely try my wife's favorite, Tuna Carpaccio. They also make great steaks with Teriyaki sauce. We both appreciate the fact that they buy and take pains to serve excellent vegetables as sides. The deserts are a little limited, but the homemade "mud pie," a sort of coffee ice cream pie, is worth a try any time. Also worth a look is their pub menu for an inexpensive, lighter meal. Bottom line: excellent no-nonsense meals at a great price. You want something that pretends to be New York, try South County.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    40
    21
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Adams, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Mediocre food, misleading policy on acceptance of coupons, will not return. I went with a small group of friends and was quite surprised when the Restaurant.com discount would not be applied due to the owner "not accepting" these vouchers during the summer. This was never stated in the contents of the voucher. I will not go back...was not impressed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Matilda176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Dining Surprise on a Saturday Night in Williamstown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We took a shot at this non-descript looking restaurant; and wow, what a find. A party of six all enjoying and raving about their meals is a rarity indeed. The food choices are varied and we found no flaw from appetizers thru to dessert along with a fine choice of beverages; all and all a pleaurable dining experience with a more than attentive waitstaff.
With the recent Williams College graduation we were perhaps lucky to get a last minute reservation on a Saturday night given that it was more of a moving out day; but I would venture to guess with the upcoming summer season; booking well in advance will be a wise choice for our next visit to the Berkshires.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank curtinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Quick Fix”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

This place as an atmosphere of an older home. When I walked in I thought of homestyle cooking.
The service was very good. I couldn't believe that the bread was right at the table as we were sitting down. I ordered a salad and was turned off by the dirt on the lettuce. Turn on the water and rinse the lettuce before you serve it to your patrons. It would be a quick fix and perhaps make you more money in the long run as I won't be returning to this establishment. The broc was very tasty and the garlic mashed were good. I thought the chicken was rather small for the price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Remycub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delivers the basics and does it well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

You won't find the latest trend on the menu here, but if you want nicely grilled lamb chops or an excellent shrimp and pasta dish, you will be very happy with Hobson's Choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjhowlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobson's Choice also viewed

Williamstown, Berkshires
 
Williamstown, Berkshires
 

Been to Hobson's Choice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing