We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captive audience...”
Review of Northside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Northside Motel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Reviewed September 26, 2013

When making my reservation, I had asked for a quiet room, and was very pleased that my end unit against the office was indeed quiet. I felt safe, and slept well.

The owners are clearly trying to update this 50's motel, for instance, with fresh exterior unit doors, wall-mounted flat-screen TV, new bedspread, and new desk lamps, but my room still felt very dated: dark, musty, with bizarre dark wall colors and ancient drapes.
A small desk has 3 drawers, one with broken hardware; there is no dresser. In contrast, the front closet is huge, albeit so blessed dark it was a challenge to find what I had brought. A nice bright overhead fixture between the door and closet would be a tremendous help in this room.
The cables from the TV were swinging freely from the wall to the floor on the path to the bathroom: surely a 6' stretch of conduit from a big box home store would not have cost very much, and would be safer.
A tiny fridge is squished in beside the bed, but was not plugged in when I arrived. I plugged it in, placed some items in it, and found a few hours later that the beverages had frozen and burst. Perhaps the owners could set the temperature appropriately, and then duct-tape the thermostat or something.
Bathroom was spacious, and hot water plentiful. Towels were intermediate in wear. One sheet had a small hole.

The reception area is dark, with uneven floor, worn carpeting, and smells of cooked spicy food.
The breakfast area has uneven floors, damaged cabinets, ancient dirty toaster, and at least one stale, cracked donut. However, the coffee, juice, cereal, and fruit were perfectly fine for my needs for a basic breakfast.

There is supposed to be free WiFi, but I joined several others in the breakfast area at various times of the day because we could not get reception in our rooms.
The parking lot is in need of being graded and repaved.

There are not many motels to choose from when visiting Williamstown, and this is only one of two (which happen to be side-by-side) from which you can walk to the Williams College campus, so in some respects, the owners have a "captive audience." I say this in introduction to the fact that the rates are fully double what this motel would be able to get away with charging in the similarly-rural college area where I currently live. If your stay in Williamstown does not require you to walk back and forth to the campus, or if you can afford one of the (also pricey) bed-and-breakfasts, there may be better choices than the Northside.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank OtterDaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 238 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Traveling on a bike through N.E. I found this hotel in Williamstown. I was skeptical at first, it is a 60's looking motel but room was clean, bed comfortable, wifi screaming fast, TV large screen. It had a great price and as long as you don't expect a 60's hotel to be what it can not be, you will be pleased. I was

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seavon1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were looking for an inexpensive and clean hotel from which to explore the Berkshire area.
The Northside motel was relatively inexpensive compared to the other hotels/motels in the area.
It's locate right across the street from the campus of Williams College and walking distance to some of the shops and restaurants as well as the Clark Museum. The rooms were clean if a little dated. Our room had a king size bed, a flat TV, free wifi, and enough room to move around comfortably. Breakfast is included although it's quite limited with just basic offerings. There is an outdoor pool as well. For three nights, we paid what a next door Inn was charging for one night so we felt we got a good, albeit a no frills deal.

Room Tip: All rooms face the parking area, so the occasional car door slamming can be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uky1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Dated motel in a good location for a small college town.
Décor has not been updated in a good while
Rooms are cramped and obviously reconfigured from a previous use
However, even with a room on the main street through town and across the street from a college dorm, it was quiet and clean.
Adequate, and OK for the price. . .but nothing to rave about

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

looks like the vacuum doesn't work spider cob webs all over as we climbed the stairs to the second floor,,,,,for some reason these motels are being purchased by foreigners and are being run down to the point where they have to offer discounted prices in order to fill the rooms,,,a beautiful location that could afford much higher room rates,,if only the place was cleaned up some,,,the pool was so green I don't think even a frog would attempt to enter it,,,I've never seen such a thing,,and it was open !!!!!!!!!!! What are these people thinking ????? I asked for a restaurant recommendation upon arrival,,and the owner /clerk stated there were too many restaurants,,,that was her answer period,,,maybe these people would do better running one of those "we don't give a ........ " gas stations..........

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

First of all, the staff at the front desk and the housekeeping people we encountered were extremely nice and helpful. The location is beautiful in the center of Williamstown. As for the property, a real let-down and looks nothing like the website photos which must be 10+ years old. This is the height of a hot summer and the pool is closed? Really? The proprietor told us he was "waiting for the permit." Even so, we wanted to lay out for a bit so he opened it up. No thanks! No lounge chairs as in the website photos; the pool was full of leaves and appeared to not have been cleaned in a long time. I see why he doesn't have a permit…

The rooms had a faint odor of mildew. Nothing was updated. Old loud AC unit, fabric-covered chairs at the table had stains all over them; old carpet that you didn't want to walk barefoot on; polyester bedding cover that was beyond its time. And the tiny shower was a mess -- the water came out with surges in pressure and the shower head was an uneven flow. Standing in the tiny tub it felt as though the floor was going to give out as if it was rotted beneath -- spongey.

Its really a shame that, given this beautiful location and town, the owners have done nothing to update and maintain this place. At almost $250/night (with fees and tax), I had expected much much more...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here for the Solid Sound Festival at Mass MOCA. Was very nervous based on prior reviews, but honestly it was just fine. our room was clean, the ac worked on the very hot night that we had, and the free continental breakfast was adequate as well. Like everything else, wifi was ok - sometimes would kick you out, but generally fine. No this is not a destination spot - but for a place to sleep when you are going to be out and about all day, it'll do the trick. Also - people working there were very nice, which goes a long way as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moseylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
0.1 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
349 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
477 reviews
5 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Willows Motel
Willows Motel
#2 of 13 in Williamstown
389 reviews
1 mi away
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
320 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villager Motel
Villager Motel
#11 of 13 in Williamstown
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northside Motel

Address: 45 North St, Williamstown, MA 01267-2040 (Formerly Northside Motel at Williams College)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range: $60 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Northside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northside located in the heart of williams college campus walking distance to all activities. Offer very nice accommodation to their patrons our highly trained staff make sure fulfill our gurst needs with great services make their stay very comfortable..Offer fresh coffee with complimentary brake fast serve daily in our coffe bar...please do call us to reserve your next stay to save more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Northside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northside Hotel Williamstown
Northside Motel Williamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing