We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so great....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
House On Main Street
Ranked #7 of 9 Williamstown B&B and Inns
1 review
“Not so great....”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Although so many of the other reviews were positive, we were very disappointed with our stay at this B&B. We felt it was very overpriced for what you got. The rooms felt very small and the beds were small and not at all comfortable. We also were led to believe that we would need to share the bathrooms with only one other room and it seemeed as though almost every other guest had to share the same bathrooms. In the half bath the toilet was quite troublesome. We were also very cold and had to ask specifically for the heat to be turned on more. The breakfasts were good. There was also a not so pleasant smell in part of the house.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halip20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    7
    7
    0
See reviews for
8
18
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

The House on Main Street is charming and the owner cooked us a great pecan pancake breakfast. He also joined us for breakfast and gave us recommendations for dining out for dinner. Williams College is down the street and the town, of course, is beautiful.

Room Tip: We had the back upstairs bedroom. Quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I had a very nice stay here. Excellent breakfast. Room was very quiet so I had a great sleep. Charming old colonial house.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffg2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

we had a pleasant stay at the inn, the owners are very nice and try to accomodate the need of their customers (we asked them to prepare breakfast an hour earlier and it was not a problem). the breakfast was homemade and very tasty. my husband and I were staying in the blue room which is simply furnished, with very comfortable beds. our children were upstairs in the mauve room, which is trully adorable. they shared a huge bathroom with a washer dryer that the owner told us we were welcome to use (we did to dry our ski equipment). the only minus of our stay would be the heating : it was low and because we had spent the day sking under the rain we would have loved more heat. We were a little cold throughout our stay. But the hearty breakfast provided a good start for the following day !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodiloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica Plain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

My friend and I decided to stay at this Bed and Breakfast for the holiday weekend. We wanted to hike Mount Greylock and in general enjoy the beautiful Berkshire countryside. We are both from Boston and needed a break from the city.

The owner is super friendly and immediately treats you like family, but not in an overbearing way. The rooms were very comfortable and cozy and felt like a home. The bathrooms were very clean, even though shared with other guests. The other guests were friendly and quiet.

THE BREAKFAST: homemade whole wheat almond pancakes and fruit one morning, unbelievable 'spiced' oatmeal the next day. HIGHLY recommend this place.

Also, great location, easy access to main town, nearby swimmable pond, fun bike rides.

Thanks to Tim and his team for a great weekend away!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2010

The Inn on Main Street is excellent and I would recommend it! We two (myself and my Mom) stayed there mid-June 2010 and Tim & Donna could not have been more helpful to us. We had some senior issues that Tim & Donna helped with very much, including juggling rooms so she could take a first floor space--that was very kind. The breakfast was great with fresh fruit and extra good pancakes. Williamstown is really a fine, fine town to visit, with the Clark Art Institute, and Williams College. The best way to get to The Inn is to follow Tim's directions on their web-site. Tim was kind enough to send back a forgotten item--Thanks, Tim!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpine_Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2008

My sister and I recently spent two nights at the House On Main Street. I would agree with another reviewer who said that the outside looked in need of a coat of paint. However, the bedrooms were comfortable and immaculate.

The living room was a little sparse but offered TV though standard cable and some videos. Magazines were available.

Breakfasts were delicious and the dining area atmosphere was warm and welcoming.

We enjoyed all the other guests who were there when we were, and plan to follow up with some.

The house is an easy walk (up to about a half mile) to most of the things you would want to do in Williamstown...The college, theater, churches, restaurants, bookstore, and the Clark Institute.

  • Liked — The location, accommodations, breakfasts, price
  • Disliked — Lack of welcome by innkeeper. Sparse (unwelcoming) living room.
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank me_and_my_funny_car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
0.1 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
282 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
445 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
205 reviews
1.5 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
372 reviews
1.1 mi away
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
#3 of 13 in Williamstown
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House On Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House On Main Street

Property: House On Main Street
Address: 1120 Main St, Williamstown, MA 01267-2636
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — House On Main Street 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your House On Main Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing