We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great & quiet accommodations near the center of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
House On Main Street
Ranked #7 of 9 Williamstown B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great & quiet accommodations near the center of town”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I had a very nice stay here. Excellent breakfast. Room was very quiet so I had a great sleep. Charming old colonial house.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffg2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    7
    7
    0
See reviews for
8
18
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

we had a pleasant stay at the inn, the owners are very nice and try to accomodate the need of their customers (we asked them to prepare breakfast an hour earlier and it was not a problem). the breakfast was homemade and very tasty. my husband and I were staying in the blue room which is simply furnished, with very comfortable beds. our children were upstairs in the mauve room, which is trully adorable. they shared a huge bathroom with a washer dryer that the owner told us we were welcome to use (we did to dry our ski equipment). the only minus of our stay would be the heating : it was low and because we had spent the day sking under the rain we would have loved more heat. We were a little cold throughout our stay. But the hearty breakfast provided a good start for the following day !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodiloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica Plain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

My friend and I decided to stay at this Bed and Breakfast for the holiday weekend. We wanted to hike Mount Greylock and in general enjoy the beautiful Berkshire countryside. We are both from Boston and needed a break from the city.

The owner is super friendly and immediately treats you like family, but not in an overbearing way. The rooms were very comfortable and cozy and felt like a home. The bathrooms were very clean, even though shared with other guests. The other guests were friendly and quiet.

THE BREAKFAST: homemade whole wheat almond pancakes and fruit one morning, unbelievable 'spiced' oatmeal the next day. HIGHLY recommend this place.

Also, great location, easy access to main town, nearby swimmable pond, fun bike rides.

Thanks to Tim and his team for a great weekend away!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2010

The Inn on Main Street is excellent and I would recommend it! We two (myself and my Mom) stayed there mid-June 2010 and Tim & Donna could not have been more helpful to us. We had some senior issues that Tim & Donna helped with very much, including juggling rooms so she could take a first floor space--that was very kind. The breakfast was great with fresh fruit and extra good pancakes. Williamstown is really a fine, fine town to visit, with the Clark Art Institute, and Williams College. The best way to get to The Inn is to follow Tim's directions on their web-site. Tim was kind enough to send back a forgotten item--Thanks, Tim!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpine_Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2008

My sister and I recently spent two nights at the House On Main Street. I would agree with another reviewer who said that the outside looked in need of a coat of paint. However, the bedrooms were comfortable and immaculate.

The living room was a little sparse but offered TV though standard cable and some videos. Magazines were available.

Breakfasts were delicious and the dining area atmosphere was warm and welcoming.

We enjoyed all the other guests who were there when we were, and plan to follow up with some.

The house is an easy walk (up to about a half mile) to most of the things you would want to do in Williamstown...The college, theater, churches, restaurants, bookstore, and the Clark Institute.

  • Liked — The location, accommodations, breakfasts, price
  • Disliked — Lack of welcome by innkeeper. Sparse (unwelcoming) living room.
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank me_and_my_funny_car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2007

The House on Main Street looks like your average home from the outside, perhaps a bit run down, but don't be misled. The rooms inside are impeccably clean and comfortable. We stayed in the Rose Room, which has a spacious, comfortable mattress and soft sheets that allowed us the best night's sleep we have ever had staying away from home. (No starchy sheets or lumpy mattresses!) The private bathroom was actually outside the room, which was a bit odd, but as a bed and breakfast is more home than hotel, it wasn't surprising. The Rose Room is set at the back of the house, its room and bathroom completely separate from everything else. A delicious, organic breakfast was served by Timothy in the morning, and both he and Donna are lovely people who make you feel welcome in their home. The dining room and living room are pleasant living spaces, great colors, very relaxing. As for location, The House on Main Street is within walking distance to everything in Williamstown. Hands down, a great place to stay!

  • Liked — Comfort and privacy.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benedets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oblong IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

My daughter, husband and myself took a 14 day vacation thru New England the end of June thru July 10, 2007. One of the places we stayed was "The House on Main Street" in Williamstown, MA. My husband and I were in "The Rose Room". It was such a nice quiet place and so close to everything we wanted to do that we could walk. Timothy, our host fixed us a really good breakfast both morning's we were there. His wife Donna chatted with us while we were eating, he ate with us. The spiced oatmeal with maple syrup was delicious. The second morning we had wonderful pancakes, bacon, jam, fruit and juice. It was a great place to stay. There are only 5 rooms but that was part of the charm, you got a lot of attention.
We thought the price was very reasonable. The second morning there were more guests and everyone was so friendly and interesting to talk to.
We would highly recommend it to anyone who is going to Willaimstown.

  • Liked — convience to get to things by walking
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
0.1 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.1 mi away
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
#3 of 13 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
2.1 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#7 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House On Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House On Main Street

Property: House On Main Street
Address: 1120 Main St, Williamstown, MA 01267-2636
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — House On Main Street 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your House On Main Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing