We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing on every front”
Review of Willows Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Willows Motel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We chose this motel because it was billed as being walking distance from Williams College, but it was quite a distance away. When we arrived, we were told that the pool was closed for chemical cleaning. We were charged more than we had been quoted on the phone when making the reservation. The room was dark and shabby. One of the lights didn't work; we requested a new bulb twice, but got no response. The towels were so thin, you could almost see through them. The breakfast was nothing to write home about. Even though it was a no smoking room, every room had chairs with an ashtray outside it, and you could smell the smoke. Ugh, I guess you get what you pay for.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 380 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

I don't sleep well, don't have an expense account, and hate to spend through the nose for a place to perch overnight. The Willows appeared to represent a good value on line for my one night in Williamstown before a meeting, and that proved to be true. My reservation was taken over the phone by a very polite young woman, and everything was in order when I arrived. The "old-school" form to fill out with name-address-car, and the old-fashioned key-on-a-plastic-fob were perfectly fine, but a hoot in this computer/keycard age.

I asked for a quiet room, and was provided one on the single-floor wing of the mid-20th century L-shaped motel. I was apprehensive at first, as I could hear nearly every word spoken in the parking lot, but, once the sun went down, I didn't hear a thing and slept (for once) like a log. The room was super clean and recently refurbished, new from carpet, paint, bathroom fixtures, to wall art, and bedspread. The two side chairs were small but comfortable. Bed was appropriately firm, and did not squeak. Linens were a little thin, but clean and comfortable.

The room was only a few feet wider than the bed, plus small area to hang clothes (no separate closet). It was perfect for this solo traveler, but a couple with lots of luggage, or a hefty traveler, might find things very, very snug in this room. The ceiling height is at the top of the doorframe: if one has to duck to fit through doors, this room would not be for you. The bathroom was also small but spotless; it would benefit, however, from a shelf, for instance beneath the window or over the towel bar, for traveler's toiletries.

WiFi worked great. I did not have reason to try the small flat-screen TV, wall-mounted air conditioner, or 2-cu-ft mini-fridge.

There was neither proprietor nor guest in sight when I had my continental breakfast very early in the morning, but the selection of cold cereal, baked goods, and hot and cold beverages was surprisingly broad for the tiny registration/breakfast area.

My only beef is that the control dial in the shower was "backward:" I drew water for several minutes on the Hot end of the dial, trying to get hot water, and only getting freezing water instead. When I tried the reverse, I promptly got nice hot water with good water pressure. This wasted a lot of water, and a bit of my time. IMHO, the proprietor should have a card in the room informing guests of this. I do not know if it is just in this one room.

Excellent value, and I will stay here again if I need to be in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OtterDaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

WE are extremely pleased that you had such a wonderful time while you visited the Orchards. Thanks for the positive feedback on the date night package. Many of our guests seem to enjoy it. Summer is a great time to spend a weekend in the Berkshires. The Clark Art Institute has recently opened featuring its China exhibits. Williamstown Theater Festival opens soon with a fantastic play bill for theater goers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Second visit to this classic motel and impressed with the very clean and comfortable accommodations. The free WiFi and flat screen TV are modern needs, but the good sized rooms with a cozy decor provide a nice balance. Outdoor picnic area and breakfast selection are a nice benefit. Plenty of restaurants in walking distance, as is the Williams College campus. The owners are excellent and extremely flexible. They really help make a vacation or visit go smoothly. It's the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NCtxplt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you very much for your continued loyalty to the WILLOWS MOTEL WILLIAMSTOWN. It is very special to me, and the rest of staff, when we have guests who appreciate our efforts to make you comfortable time and time again. You may want to think about a visit this summer when the Clark Art Institute and Williamstown Theater Festival have some marvelous offerings for visitors to the Berkshires. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Good value for the money. Landed here during a whirlwind tour of NE colleges, and was perfectly satisfied. The Willows is not a posh lodge, but a traditional motel--you park right in front of your room--and the look and feel are charmingly 1950's. If you're up for a stroll, the Willows is reasonably close to Williams College and the heart of Williamstown; because of time constraints, we drove to those places, but they are certainly within walking distance. Owners are a very gracious couple who go out of their way to make you feel welcome; after I idly chatted with them about teas one night, the next morning they had a hot cup of chai waiting for me. Rooms are clean, comfortable, a little dowdy (again, charmingly dated, in my opinion). A couple of tables squeezed into the lobby serve as the "breakfast area," and the breakfast options are almost entirely prepackaged carbs (sugary cereals, packaged muffins); folks who depend on a more hearty, protein-packed start to the day should plan accordingly. The lobby offers a tremendous selection of free brochures of upcoming events and nearby attractions. Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Be aware that about a third of the rooms are on the second floor of a two-story wing. If accessibili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texas_Trevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

$55 per night so we didn't expect much especially after we registered the old fashioned way by completing our registration in pen! We then received our room key... Yup you guessed it, a real key on a key chain that has our room number and the old "if found drop in any mailbox and postage will be paid".
The room itself was larger than most big name chains, had a small bistro type table with two chairs, bureau, microwave, fridge, coffee maker, desk with chair and a small bathroom but had a bathtub. The room also had a large flat screen and wireless.
I would highly recommend this hotel if you are in the area. We were there for a college tour so it was only one night but I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maine2disney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Not a lot of choices for hotels in Williamstown. Decent price/value. Didn't try the breakfast in the morning as it was limited and located right next door to the reception desk. (And there's always Dunkin' Donuts down the street...)

Wifi in the room worked great, and was welcome.

I have always enjoyed staying in independent motels; you get some great values, and some other decent ones. I'm guessing the hotel has changed hands recently (based on previous comments) and the owner was very friendly, providing me extra blankets.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

The host was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are simple, but clean and inviting. There were complimentary chips and water waiting for us in the room, and free candy in the office. The continental breakfast had good selections of bread, bagels, cereals, and rolls. All the basic cable channels were offered on the television, there was a microwave and refrigerator in the room, all at bargain prices. Would definitely recommend and return!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.1 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
469 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#3 of 13 in Williamstown
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willows Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willows Motel

Address: 480 Main St, Route 2, Williamstown, MA 01267-2609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Williamstown
#3 Family Hotel in Williamstown
Price Range: $76 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Willows Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take Route 2 East into Massachusetts and Williamstown and we are a half mile from Williams College. We are less than 1 mile from Sterling and Francis Clark Art Institute, Williams Theater Festival, Williams College Musuem of Art, and 62 Center for Theater and Dance. The Willows Motel, a non-smoking AAA 2 diamond rated Magnuson Hotels affiliate, is less than 5 miles from Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art and Mohawk Trail. Jiminy Peak Mountain Resort 15 miles, Tanglewood 30 miles, and the Norman Rockwell Museum 38 miles. We are 45 miles from the Albany Airport. Start your day with hot coffee and homemade muffins at the charming, Willows Motel Williamstown and enjoy free wireless internet, a seasonal continental breakfast, and heated pool. Sorry no pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Willows Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willows Hotel Williamstown
Willows Motel Williamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing