We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great for burgers and beers”
Review of Water Street Grill

Water Street Grill
Ranked #6 of 47 Restaurants in Williamstown
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great for burgers and beers”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

nice for casual lunch and to watch a game. Food is consistently good, service sometimes great, occasionally really bad.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KathieNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    89
    46
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK with a large group”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Water Street Grill is not the best food, but it is fun, casual and great for a larger group. Not always my first choice, but OK at times.

Helpful?
Thank Greg I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food & friendly service”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

There was 4 in our party and we all were very satisfied with our meals. They had fresh scallops brought in the day we were there and I had grilled scallops with risotto. So much food that my husband shared, after his clam chowder. The others in our party had steak tips over a salad and fresh tuna steak with salad. Great value for money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twooldmacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
187 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Specials and fish/chips are great, salads just OK”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I've eaten at the Water St Grill only at off-peak times, when only two tables are occupied and there's a regular (whose rambling conversation is audible throughout the restaurant) sitting at the bar. The ambiance is dark wood/fishing-oriented wall decorations/beer advertisements. Each time this summer I have been bothered by flies making frequent visits to our table. And the service could be improved: I would expect more attention when I'm the only customer. The food, though, is hit or miss - and the hits are great. When I've had the special, I've enjoyed it very much. My dining partners who go for fried fish and chips think they are spectacular. When I've ordered salads off the menu, however, I've been disappointed. The ratio of lettuce (not springs greens, arugula, or anything fancy) to goodies (walnuts, dried cranberries, oranges, or whatever is listed on the menu) is pitifully small. The reason I go to the Water St grill is that the price is right, the location is good, and my friends want to experience that fish and chips again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelNut12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad Choice of Dining”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Very, very bad food. Burnt and dry crab cake sandwich, runny alfredo sauce, breadsticks with Promise "butter", buffalo cod (what is that) salad with gorgonzola and cranberries and sticks of celery...enough said. Just drink beer here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SUNNYDNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Street Grill also viewed

Williamstown, Berkshires
Williamstown, Berkshires
 
Williamstown, Berkshires
 

Been to Water Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing