We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrible experience.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here while visiting colleges. The room had a terrible, intolerable musty odor. We debated finding another place to stay, but there were no good options, so we went to Rite Aid and bought Glade air freshener and used it liberally on the rugs. It helped. There was no screen on the back window, so we couldn't open it for fresh air. The bathroom was very clean. I hardly slept and we could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Momtravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimbusen, Owner at MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are sorry that the guest did not contact us, as it would be easy for us to change the room, to a room that did not have a newly installed carpet (the odor was from the new carpet, installed a few weeks earlier).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    66
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
75
114
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very comfortable room with everywhere very clean and pristine. We stayed here for three nights. We had a larger room with two double beds. The bathroom was excellent with a very good shower with clean and fresh towels.
Breakfast was limited to coffee, slice of cake and/or an apple in reception. A wider choice of things would have been preferable.
Overall the motel is excellent and very well maintained. It is highly recommended if staying in this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianH422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here while looking at colleges. Well kept motel very well situated to Williams College. The owner is friendly and helpful. Comfortable beds, big bathrooms, OK TV's and WiFi. Very nice amenities in the rooms. Good value for money.

Room Tip: .Rooms at the back will be quieter but there's not a lot of traffic after dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Expat094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Maple Terrace motel has been lovingly kept up and has personality. Our room was spacious, very clean and the bathroom was spic and span and the shower had plenty of hot water. The beds were comfortable and the linens and towels were clean and fresh. There was writing desk, and two chairs and an armoire-dresser, as well as a fridge and coffee pot with coffee and some thoughtful touches like some cinnamon buns and hershey kisses as a welcome. It is a very quiet location (the loudest thing we heard there was a chipmuck scolding us where we arrived. There is tea, coffee, orange juice and coffee cake or muffins in the office in the mornings. Ann Truedsson was very helpful suggesting driving routes to see fall foliage and when we asked her for suggestions for dinner and an idea of what we had in mind, she suggested a nearby restaurant that was very good. It is so much nicer to stay in a nice motel like this than one the big impersonal rubber stamp chains.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryEE49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piacenza, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

we spent 2 nights in this hotel. The landlady was very gracious and gave us lots of information on the area and also some leaflets and useful material. The room was welcoming and had many nice touches: a small cinnamon cake, mineral water, some chocolates on the bedside table. The bathroom had also a very useful shower cap. There were beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 722Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, ME
Level Contributor
367 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed there while in town on business. It's a little unusual; the subfloor is wood, so it squeaks, which you don't see in many motels. It's almost more like staying in a friend's spare room that a regular motel (and we liked that a lot!). Early American furniture, and the room was very large and clean. Our room had a fireplace (I think the only one in the motel), but we didn't use it. The windows open. There was a microwave, coffee pot and refrigerator. They had some tidbits for breakfast, but I wouldn't say that would fill you up. We will certainly stay there the next time we're in the area. It's great. Locals told us it's the first place to fill up when the town is busy; I can see why.

Room Tip: Our room was great. I think it was room 118. Very large, with a fireplace with brick hearth, a sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al-Sue-Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this beautiful motel. The grounds are gorgeous. We had a queen bed room, which was a standard size. The room was extremely clean and had little niceties like Hershey's kisses on the night stand.

The room rates are very reasonable for this area and the staff is friendly and pleasant.

Room Tip: Our room faced a large Willow tree and the back overlooked a small play area for use by guests. Beyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillCityMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Willows Motel
Willows Motel
#2 of 13 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL

Property: MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
Address: 555 Main St, Williamstown, MA 01267-2612
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williamstown
#2 Family Hotel in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and warm Swedish hospitality in tranquil surroundings. Situated on three verdant acres next to a horse farm, Maple Terrace offers peaceful country living in the heart of Williamstown. Its privileged location is just a short walk from Williams College, the famed Clark Art Institute, Williamstown Theatre Festival and many other local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Terrace Motel Hotel Williamstown
Maple Terrace Hotel
Hotel Maple Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing