We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Williamstown
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Reviewed November 6, 2008

The Howard Johnson staff was very friendly. We were lost on a back country rd, (we actually ended up in NY State), and the gentelman at the desk was able to guide us back on track and get us to the hotel.

When we arrived we were a little stressed and the kids were acting up. Check in was a snap, (Thank God), and we got a great resteraunt recomendation from the desk agent.

The room was exactly what was advertised and we really enjoyed our journey to the Berkshires. Mount Greylock is a must!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank COMIC9868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Williamstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 300 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2008

Complained to desk that room smelled. They gave me 2 options. 1. Another room non-smoking or my money back. Left a few minutes and went back to desk for a credit. Asked front desk to explain on credit slip why I'm getting a credit. Within 2 minutes the POLICE showed up.

I've have stay in this motel many times because its close to the college and they have a smoking room. When we checked in right away I put the a/c because the smell was realy bad. 5 hours later it was still bad and then I went to the front desk. Front desk didn't even go into the room.

Will NEVER stay here again. BEWARE!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sirlance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

We booked the Howard Johnson Hotel since it was a football weekend at WIlliams College and a lot of the hotels were full. It was an ok experience. We stayed in a part of the hotel that has been renovated, and the beds were new. The front desk was extremely cordial and willing to please. He said "Check out the room and if you are not happy with it, we are willing to put you in another." We did not partake of their breakfast, there is a little place near by called the Moonlight Diner that has a great breakfast...one we went to often when our son was a student at Williams College. Our son and his wife and baby stayed in the adjoining room and we could hear the baby cry when he woke up....and I expect if there was a rowdy party in that room, we would have been able to hear it since there was not much noise insulation. Also, the baby crib was obviously new with a new mattress which was a plus. All and all, it was a fine place to stay...not fancy, but clean and comfotable and handy to the college and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graceoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We ended upstairs in the back building. The room is a bit dated, but the mattress was quite good and the pool (away from the main drag) was quite nice. They could step up the continental breakfast a bit, but the HoJo is a good value.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CtSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

We are not HJ fans (not that we have stayed in many HJs but we have read many negative reviews over the years that ‘put you off’). However this was the best ‘coupon’ buy in Williamstown at a total cost of $60.30 (at that price you don’t expect too much!). We could have even have got a cheaper room but wanted a microwave.

We were placed in a newer unit on ground floor level, right side of the property. Our one window looked out to the rear (pool side). The room was spacious with a safe, microwave, fridge, lots of drawer and hanging space, a desk, easy chair and ottoman and it has good lighting. The heater/cooler kept us warm. The bathroom was okay, the hot water took forever to flow hot but once it arrived it was fine. The shower over the bath had a nice gentle flow. An extra pillow was supplied on request. The unit was very clean and the gardens around the motel very tidy (see photo).

Other motel occupants appeared to be ‘semi permanent’ workmen, some sitting out on upper decks, drinking, smoking etc. Not the nicest atmosphere and overnight some car and voice noise, it was a Friday night. No one bothered us at all.

Breakfast in the rundown dining room by the Reception was better than expected. Basic muffins make your own waffles, cereals – choice of two, fruit juice – choice of two. For what we were paying we considered it very good.

Williamstown was a pleasant town with attractive college buildings and churches. W were there to visit the Sterling & Francine Clark Art Institute – wonderful, don’t miss it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AtStarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

The rooms were 1970s decor, the outside seedy, and the air conditioner barely worked. To top it off a bunch of teenage guys were sitting outside their room a few doors down drinking and smoking and eying my teenage daughter. When I told the manager that I did not think it was appropriate to subject other hotel guests to this kind of behavior, he didn't tell the kids to move it inside but instead stuck me in another building.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank Curlomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

We needed a place to stay in the area for one night and this place had the lowest rates, using my NEA discount.

I booked room with a queen bed but ended up with a room with a king bed in their new wing. It was a large, clean, and well maintained room. We were very satisfied. The only disappointments were the pathetic continental breakfast. I went 1/4 mile down the road to Dunkin D's. Also, there was only a shower and no tub.

For a discount chain, this was a good one. However, I have read that the rates go into triple digits in the summer, which would be a rip-off

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank kibbabibba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
221 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#7 of 13 in Williamstown
328 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#2 of 13 in Williamstown
403 reviews
2.5 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Williamstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Williamstown

Address: 213 Main St, Williamstown, MA 01267-2608 (Formerly Four Acres Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range: $79 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Williamstown 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Express Inn hotel in Williamstown, Massachusetts is surrounded by the scenic Berkshires Mountains and offers clean and comfortable accommodations with best services and amenities. This hotel near Williams College in Williamstown, Massachusetts is completely renovated and offers spacious rooms & suites with several amenities such as free high speed Wi-Fi internet, free continental breakfast, free access to business center, wheelchair accessible rooms, free handicap parking, cable TV with HBO and a beautiful outdoor pool with a scenic mountain view; best of Williamstown, MA Hotels. This Williamstown, MA Motel is conveniently located near Williams College, Chapin Library, Williamstown Theatre Festival and Sterling and Francis Clark Art Institute. At Howard Johnson Free continental breakfast is served daily and it comes with great healthy breakfast choices ranging from coffee and fruit juices, to cereals and a variety of freshly baked goods. There are more than 30 restaurants serving fine dining are located within 2 miles from this hotel Garden picnic area and long, quiet walking trail is located at the back of the main building. Also, we offer computer with internet access in the lobby area for guest use. Check-in time is 3 pm, check-out time is 11 am and pets are not allowed at this hotel. Howard Johnson is so perfectly located that Williams College is only one mile away and it is a perfect get away if you are going to Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Williamstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Williamstown Hotel Williamstown
Williamstown Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing