We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Williamstown
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just a nasty front desk person who would not honor a significantly lower rate than originally quoted. Rooms and baths are dirty. Pick any other hotel in town and you will do yourself a favor. Mold around the bathtub. Grout missing. Carpeting dirty. Bedspread looks disgusting. The place could use a serious upgrade. Furniture is 1970's colonial. Most hotels who are offering a rate online will honor that rate when you check-in and show it to their face. This front desk person, slipped into a heavy accent and made believe she didn't understand and couldn't do anything about it. Stay somewhere else. By the way, Williamstown seems like a lovely college town and it is very convenient to Jiminy Peak which offers skiing until 10:00 at night. By the way, bring conditioner. The only amenities are a bar of soap and some cheap shampoo. The shower head is as gross and rusty as can be. I don't think I could let water hit my body that has pass through the disgusting nozzle. Hopefully, Howard Johnson as a chain will step in and demand that this franchisee bring this motel up to some kind of a standard that we are use to in America, and not feel as though we have opened the door into some third world environment. When I get home I will have to take a long hot shower.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank dmink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 302 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank ELIZABETH G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank WAYNE R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was the only hotel we stayed in on our trip to America which we really did not like - the room was not properly clean and there was stained carpet. Thank goodness we were only there for one night. It did complimentary breakfast, which was the only good thing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAEJJAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Leu
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at this motel during a recent visit to Williams College. I did not realize that our visit coincided with Family Weekend at the College so that we did not really have any options. We paid only $100/night, booking through Booking.com. This is good value in the fall in the Berkshires, but I would not consider staying here again.

Our room had two double beds, a small table and two chairs and a mini refrigerator and a very ancient looking microwave. We had room 204 on the second floor, accessed by an outdoor stairway. It looked like the room had fairly new carpet, but the furniture and linen were dingy and worn. The room was quite frankly dirty. We needed to use a white noise machine both nights, but especially the second night when our neighbors were up making noise, it seemed all night. The walls are not well soundproofed and a child was playing outside in front of our room while his mother made up the rooms in the morning and noise was readily heard.

A continental breakfast is included, but given the cleanliness (or lack there of) of the room, we opted to have breakfast at a nearby diner instead.

There was free unsecured wifi, but it sounded as though this is spotty depending on which room you have.

We won't be staying here again if we can help it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustOneBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
225 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
0.2 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#3 of 13 in Williamstown
409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Willows Motel
Willows Motel
#2 of 13 in Williamstown
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Williamstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Williamstown

Address: 213 Main St, Williamstown, MA 01267-2608 (Formerly Four Acres Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range: $77 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Williamstown 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Express Inn hotel in Williamstown, Massachusetts is surrounded by the scenic Berkshires Mountains and offers clean and comfortable accommodations with best services and amenities. This hotel near Williams College in Williamstown, Massachusetts is completely renovated and offers spacious rooms & suites with several amenities such as free high speed Wi-Fi internet, free continental breakfast, free access to business center, wheelchair accessible rooms, free handicap parking, cable TV with HBO and a beautiful outdoor pool with a scenic mountain view; best of Williamstown, MA Hotels. This Williamstown, MA Motel is conveniently located near Williams College, Chapin Library, Williamstown Theatre Festival and Sterling and Francis Clark Art Institute. At Howard Johnson Free continental breakfast is served daily and it comes with great healthy breakfast choices ranging from coffee and fruit juices, to cereals and a variety of freshly baked goods. There are more than 30 restaurants serving fine dining are located within 2 miles from this hotel Garden picnic area and long, quiet walking trail is located at the back of the main building. Also, we offer computer with internet access in the lobby area for guest use. Check-in time is 3 pm, check-out time is 11 am and pets are not allowed at this hotel. Howard Johnson is so perfectly located that Williams College is only one mile away and it is a perfect get away if you are going to Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Williamstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Williamstown Hotel Williamstown
Williamstown Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing