We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bland Food...Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Saigon Vietnamese - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Saigon Vietnamese
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
Dining options: Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating, Takeout
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Bland Food...Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

My wife and I had an early dinner (approx. 4pm) at the Saigon on May 20, 2012. We were there a little over an hour and we were the only customers during that time. Perhaps that was a message. The food was very bland and did not taste fresh to us, especially the beef. My wife left much of her food behind. The service was inattentive and distracted. Since no one else was in the restaurant, I'm not sure exactly what the waitress was interested in, but it certainly wasn't us. We did not get our drinks until after the food arrived and only after we made determined gestures to get her attention and then "reminded" her. There were apologies but the deed was done. I had been so looking forward to having a beer with my Vietnamese Chicken wings appetizer. In general, the timing was off. The appetizers arrived and the dinners arrived right after that. No real spacing between the appetizers and the main meals. It might as well have all been delivered at once because the effect was the same. It was cheap. $42 bucks with tax. But we would have gladly paid more money for better food and better service. It was a once in a life-time experience for us.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DnAAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

The quality of the food has improved dramatically and is fresh and tasty according to our 2 recent visits as compared to the quality when they opened. Our waitress who was very friendly and prompt, told us they have a new chef. The Vietnamese pancake/crepe if the best we have tasted anywhere and all other entree's have been very good as well. We haven't tried the pho yet, but the customers next to us who were Asian seemed very pleased.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food ... Needs to spruce up service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Some of the dishes are outstanding ... Like the Loc Lac and the raw veggie and shrimp spring rolls ... It's time to spruce up the service and decor and it can thrive !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrionMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
386 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“for Vietnamese in W'town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

Had an early dinner here a couple weeks ago. Good pork and shrimp dishes and fresh ingredients. Seasoning is a little bland for Vietnamese, for my taste. But, nice to find this in Williamstown. Worth a try. Opened only about 6 months ago.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Vietnamese also viewed

Williamstown, Berkshires
 
Williamstown, Berkshires
Williamstown, Berkshires
 
Williamstown, Berkshires
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing