We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
new jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful stay”
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We have stayed at the 1896 House several times in the past and this visit was again a pleasure. We stayed at the main motel and enjoyed wonderful dinner at the pub across the brook and parking lot. Breakfast was fine with thankfully,classical music in background rather than the usual blaring pop.Jiminy Peak is ten minutes away with easy access. The staff are warm and helpful and the two resident dogs have equally great personalities. We will certainly stay here again .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scuba2959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    107
    33
    21
    18
See reviews for
81
163
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the 1896 House now for over 13 years. This year we decided to spend New Year's Eve there... and had a WONDERFUL time! We have recommended this spot to family and friends and will continue to do. The accomodations are comfortable, the food is great and the staff are always pleasant and fun! Thanks to Denise and Sue and Anthony (great old fashioned!) our bartender for the great time!!! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlaDee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2011

The cleanest room we've ever stayed in! Friendliest staff!! Beautiful room, decorated with lots of love and attention to details - and the breakfast was outstanding, too!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ribscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We have stayed at the 1896 House 4 times in the last couple of years. After the first time there, whenever we want a short get-away and to just relax and enjoy a great meal this is where we go. We have stayed in different rooms each time and all were comfortable, well equipped, clean and very tastefully decorated. We have always experienced friendly. efficicent service, in both the motel office and the restaurant. We especially enjoy walking around the grounds, taking in the beauty of the surroundings that include a brook, footbridges, gazebo, gardens, adirondack chairs along the brook and rockers on the porch. The food in the pub is great, lots of choices, and the atmosphere is warm and inviting. The breakfast in the morning is good too, and is included in the room price. I would definitely recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marjmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Stonington
2 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2010

My husband and I were traveling to the Bennington Pottery for an overnight
excursion. We were to stay in Bennington but passed the 1896 House on the
way to Vermont and were lured by the charm of this motel set back from the
road. As we passed over the quaint bridge we knew we had to stay here on
our way back. We stayed in a king size room and were delighted with the
large whirlpool tub & canopy bed. The room was immaculate. We will
definitely be back. The rate was a little high but it included a large
breakfast. My husband loved the waffles

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moniquot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korneuburg, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Because of "parents weekend" it was hard to find a room in Williamstowns. Therefore we accepted an Inn/Motel located close to main road. Finally we were surprised how calm the room is, no noise from the street (unfortunately our room was close to a generator, which was noisy during the night). We were also positively surprised about the very friendly looking interior of the room. Dinner and breakfast was served at the 6'House Pub located on the other side of the street - very busy during dinner, excellent food. Compared to that the breakfast served there was very basic.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brokerjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Listed as a bed and breakfast, when all it was is a roadside motel. Paid $152.00 for 1 night, and roomed smelled liked an old age home. I could have gotten a better bed and bigger room at the Holiday Inn for less then $100. WOULD NOT RECCOMEND!! No idea how they have stayed in business so long. Complained to office and didn't even offer a discount, any respectable place would have. Should not be listed under bed & breakfast when it is a hotel that offers powdered eggs, toast, bacon and cereal. VERY DISAPPOINTED!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panda_lover1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanzi, Owner at The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
It is unfortunate that we, the Innkeepers, were away when this incident occurred. We are always responsive to guests’ concerns but our front desk person was not sure what do. It was a very quick exchange and the guest was gone. The complaint was out of the ordinary and our reservationist was quite surprised.

Please allow me to comment on each statement in the same order of the reviewer, beginning with the title.
Except for our 3 king bedded rooms, all of our motel mattresses are identical. Many guests continue to inquire as to where we purchased the mattresses, as they want to buy them. After this particular complaint we contacted a repeat guest who normally stays in a different type of room and had chosen this room for the first time. She agreed that the bed was not very comfortable. Immediately we replaced all king mattresses with new plush top mattress sets and invited the reviewer to return with our compliments. We always appreciate constructive criticism because it affords us the opportunity to ever improve.

Although we do have a bed and breakfast on property, we are not clear why this guest booked a motel room. Our property offers both options and there was availability. We understand that if a guest expects a typical B&B experience and chooses a motel that they will be disappointed. We believe that our ads & marketing also explain the differences. Our website name is 1896 House Inn & Country Lodgings. On our home page we explain in detail that we have 3 buildings: an Inn (which is our bed & breakfast), 2 beautiful country motels, as well as a Pub. When one clicks on “Guest Rooms”, there are 3 photos, 2 of which clearly depict motels, with the word “motel” prominently displayed twice.

We are members of bedandbreakfast.com, and we have 2 separate listings, one is our Country Inn, or "bed and breakfast", and one specifically says “motels”. Our AAA listings are also different.
We serve a complete, full breakfast, albeit different selections at each property.

Our motel buffet breakfast consists of genuine (not powdered) scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, bacon, a hot waffle station, a selection of juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, hot and cold cereals, breads, English muffins and bagels for toasting with jellies, jams, honey, peanut butter and cream cheese. There is raspberry crumb cake, freshly baked and glazed cinnamon rolls, milk, hot chocolate, freshly brewed coffee and decaf, & a selection of herbal and regular teas. We think this offering is exceptional for a motel. It is served in a beautifully decorated colonial room.

Our “Bed & Breakfast” Inn serves a full hot gourmet candlelight breakfast in a separate private breakfast room.

The smell of pine that emanates from our Brookside Motel walls may be unique to some, but our rooms certainly do not smell like an “old age home” as described by the reviewer. So many of our guests love it!

For $152 on Williams College Homecoming Weekend, this motel room had a king canopy bed, a Jacuzzi for 2, a flame view parlor-stove, free WI-FI, and a full hot breakfast. We are not nor do we claim to be like a chain hotel. We cannot be compared to a Holiday Inn. We have been in business for over 25 years, have an exceptionally long repeat guest list, and we think our Tripadvisor as well as other reviews attest to how pleased most of our guests are with the 1896 House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.6 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#7 of 13 in Williamstown
324 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
464 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
0.5 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
233 reviews
2.1 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#3 of 13 in Williamstown
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside

Property: The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside
Address: 910 Cold Spring Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2732
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting property situated by a lovely brook and pond. Variety of immaculate & charming rooms with many bed configurations. Some rooms offer jacuzzis, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Full hot breakfast buffet included in rate. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi. Very popular restaurant on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. One handicapped accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. Sister Luxury Inn available on property. You'll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing