We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Motel with Some Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Reviewed November 21, 2009

I enjoyed my stay at this motel. I was in a king suite at Brookside. The room was very comfortable with a gas fireplace and cushy reading chair. Unless you are traveling in warm weather and want to use the outdoor swimming pool, I think Brookside is better located than Pondside.

I was able to sneak a peek into one of their luxury suites, and the one I saw was large and well equipped.

They have price reductions during the off season that make this motel a real bargain.

Overall, it was a comfortable stay at a reasonable price. I usually avoid motels, but I would return to this one.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ihopeihelped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 337 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2009

This motel is a good value. Great brookside location. Rustic, paneled room was very clean. Small television on stand and adequate toiletries and towels. Enjoyed meal at pub as well as the complimentary breakfast. Friendly and efficient service in pub as well as at the motel.

Unfortunately the mattress was very firm. Because of this I was able to sleep for only a few hours, and felt stiff the next day.

I would like to return to this motel but would not due to my inability to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonMarlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

This motel was recommended by a friend and we could not be happier with the recommendation! The room was so clean and roomy enough for the two of us. The king size bed and the large whirlpool bathtub were perfect. We enjoyed the free breakfast each morning...waffles, bagels, juices and coffee were just enough to start our day. We had lunch in the '6 House and it was fantastic. (I recommend the roast beef sandwich!) We had dinner there one night and the food was delicious. We will be back next year for anniversary number three!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanT65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Two significant problems attach to a stay at the 1896 House. Rooms on Pondside can be damp, smelly and unpleasantly musty. It seems the management are aware of this and on our complaint transferred us to a room in which the heating appeared permanently on - this helped but the rooms are not great.

If planning on a stay you should also be aware the rooms are situated on both sides of a quite busy main road - this has to be crossed if you plan on eating there.

Try somewhere else...

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank richardjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

I was expecting more from the reviews. the motel which it is is on the main road. Our room on Pondside had an overwhelming smell of chlorine and chemicals. Changed to a second room which looked a bit tired. The tavern was great fun, but breakfast was very ordinary. The welcome was very businesslike. Maybe it is the best available in the area, but next time I will look for another bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deanwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

At first glance, it was not exactly what we had in mind. We were looking for more of a bed & breakfast, and this is really a motel. However, since we made our plans at the last minute during the high season and were therefore limited in places to choose from, we went ahead and booked it. We stayed in the "Brookside" motel, in a double queen room. The room had maple furnishings with mostly pine panelled walls, giving it the feel of a mountain cabin. The room was exceptionally clean. The TV could have been set up higher - you could really only watch it sitting up in bed or from the chair. We had dinner at the 6 House Pub next door which was good. Sitting in the high backed wing chairs made it very comfortable and the atmosphere was very New England. The burgers were good and the french fries were excellent. I had the lava cake for dessert which was awesome. The next morning we had the continental breakfast, also served in the 6 House Pub. It was your usual continenal breakfast - baked goods, an assortment of breads, fresh fruit, etc. - with the exception of a Belgium waffle maker where you could make your own waffles! They were very good too! Anyway, they do have luxury suites, but at $279 per night, they were more than we were prepared to spend for one night's lodging. We asked to look at one of the unoccupied ones and WOW when they say luxury, they MEAN luxury. But we were content with our "cabin" room. All in all, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImaTropicalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

My husband and I really liked the 1896 House. We stayed at the Pondside Jr Suite, which is upstairs and quite private. The entrance was a bit indirect, and the entry hall is where the housekeeping closet is located for the entire Pondside motel. The unit itself was extremely clean. The bath is new(er) with separate shower and 2-person jet tub. Much of the rest of the unit needs updating - some areas of woodwork only had one coat of paint, some areas were peeling. Decor is not the focus here. BUT we really liked our stay there and felt that it was a great deal for the area with a fully functional kitchen. Also, the Pub/Restaurant in the main building across the road was good - very cozy relaxed atmosphere, good selections on tap, friendly staff. Breakfast is included and was a good choice of pastries, breads, bagels, boiled eggs, cereals, yogurt, fruit, coffee tea etc. We left items in the room when we left and they were returned to us promptly.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbchor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.6 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
348 reviews
2 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
476 reviews
9.5 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
243 reviews
2.1 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#3 of 13 in Williamstown
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside

Address: 910 Cold Spring Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2732
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range: $98 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting property situated by a lovely brook and pond. Variety of immaculate & charming rooms with many bed configurations. Some rooms offer jacuzzis, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Full hot breakfast buffet included in rate. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi. Very popular restaurant on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. One handicapped accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. Sister Luxury Inn available on property. You'll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing