We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1896 Brookside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Davis, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“1896 Brookside”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Was on a trip to view the foliage. This was a lovely accommodation. There is actually a brooke that runs near the rooms. They have a nice complimentary breakfast and a pub is on the property for dinner and lunch. The rooms are very comfortable. I would highly recommend this motel. It is close to Williams College and Williamstown. It is a good central location to drive to the Shaker Village or up to MassMoCa or into Vermont.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neko100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise R, Owner at The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    102
    32
    20
    17
See reviews for
76
158
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I toured New England for the two weeks September 23rd to 7th October 2013 to view the fall foliage. We travelled from Boston up to Bar Harbor, across to the White Mountains, down through Vermont, the Adirondacks and onto the Berkshire Hills. We selected our accommodation and eating places from Trip Adviser Reviews. We have reviewed each of the hotels, motels and bed and breakfast places that we stayed in and also many of the places we ate and drank in along the way. If you would like to view our reviews for the rest of the places on this trip click on my screen name on the left.

We stayed at the 1896 House, Brookside Motel for the two nights 3rd and 4th of October 2013. The motel room interior was styled as a log cabin. The room was fairly large and we had two queen beds and a sitting area. The room and bedding was clean and the shower was good. There was a modern flat screen TV. Breakfast included in the motel price. The breakfast was good, cereals, toast, tea, coffee, juices, hot food and waffles. The motel is on a main road, but set back far enough and with double glazing there was no disturbance from passing traffic. There is a pub on the same plot called The 6 House Pub, serving traditional American food. This is where the breakfasts are served. See my separate review of the pub.
Good Points: Great location, Room clean and nice beds, modern flat screen TV, breakfast included.
Negative Points It is located two miles outside Williamstown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerCymruWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise R, Owner at The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your thorough review! We are happy that you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The wife & I spent some time here for a weekend get away. 1896 has two sides to the property separated by a main road. There is the Barnside and the pond side . The Barnside I feel is the better of the sides . I stayed on the Pond side as this was my first time staying there.
The young girl at the check in & out (same young Lady) was fine , I may add nothing more , no negatives here or positives. The room I stayed in on Pond side was very clean , something the wife is big on , so this again I resubmit it was very clean. There was a nice big bathroom , again very clean. The decor is a bit over the top for me , but still all & all nice . I guess the women would like this more then most guys. . The bed was low to the ground and was good enough ( could be a bit better) . Two pillows for each . The room was way small , and the clerk did tell us it was small before we booked so credit to them for that . Still it was smaller then we expected . On the night we stayed two other couples stayed up till about 3 A.M. talking and sipping wine in front of the room next to us . They were quite but this was still a bit annoying . NO fault to management here it just happened .
The grounds are great , very inviting & picturesque , very comforting and good for a get away to relax .
The breakfast was fair , it is in the Pub 6 building on the property (Barnside). The lady working the breakfast seemed a bit stressed and was having just a small bit of a time keeping up. I heard a few curses under her breath , but must admit there were a few things some of the guest did that may have pushed my buttons if i were working there as well . She put on a brave face but could have used a hand with another staff worker with her . Breakfast was , Scrambled , beacon , toast or bagels , english Muffins, cold cereal , Coffee , Tea & juice and Waffles.
There was a lady that came out when we were leaving ( not sure who it was maybe an owner ) , checking to see if all was good during the stay , Very nice & helpful .
When we left we we found that all & all this is a good place to go to for a clean quite get away .

Room Tip: stay on the Barnside . Have dinner at Pub 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise R, Owner at The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Just a little clarification on the buildings: this guest stayed in our “Sweetheart Room” at Pondside, aptly named as it is tiny, with a large bathroom, complete with a shower and Jacuzzi tub for 2. The property across the street is Brookside, and guests from both of these properties enjoy breakfast at the ‘6 House Pub, the restaurant on property. Barnside is in the Pub building, but is our B&B, that offers a gourmet breakfast in a separate breakfast room.
We are happy that this guest had an overall good experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Brookside location. We loved the rocking chairs on the porch, the lawn chairs, and the crystal-clear brook running through the property. Even though it isn't an ultra modern motel, we liked the rustic feel. The room was very clean, the bathroom was nicely updated, and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was good with several hot options and some pastries. We ate dinner at the Old Forge in nearby Lanesbrough. Good food as well as a great sunset view from their deck. We would definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The setting of the Brookside Motel is pretty and quiet. I liked the rocking chairs on the porch outside of the rooms but unfortunately our room smelt a little odd. It was quite dark inside but was alright for a one night stop. The breakfast was okay and the waffles were large and filling. Dinner at the adjoining pub was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjh53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in a two queen bedroom. The beds were comfortable.
The bathroom was clean and vintage styling. It. was old motel looking, cute
with flowers, bridges, brooks, carriages,,walking paths. 1896 House is a bit
out of town but it has a fantastic restaurant, French martinis, Asian Ginger
shrimp, and several specials. There was a great wine list and beers on tap were
plentiful.Breakfast included freshly baked cinnamon rolls. There were expensive
suites which I am sure were worth it.... But for 100$ we were more than
thrilled to find this little spot on the earth....and with ties to our home in
Rhode Island.

Room Tip: The individual otel rooms are great. Many people mentioned the suits... perhaps they are wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muchka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Brookside for 2 nights while hiking. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The setting of the hotel is quite lovely. The staff were extremely helpful in that they put us in touch with a local fellow who was willing to shuttle us to our hiking spot and pick us up the next day. Breakfast is adequate but not too exciting. We loved the pub for drinks and dinner. Great soups and lobster roll.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathn104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.9 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
451 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
300 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
0.5 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#6 of 13 in Williamstown
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside

Property: The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside
Address: 910 Cold Spring Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2732
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting property situated by a lovely brook and pond. Variety of immaculate & charming rooms with many bed configurations. Some rooms offer jacuzzis, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Full hot breakfast buffet included in rate. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi. Very popular restaurant on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. One handicapped accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. Sister Luxury Inn available on property. You'll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing