We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brookside Motel- Williamstown,MA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brookside Motel- Williamstown,MA”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Brookside Motel is the most relaxing place. We have stayed
here several times and each time is better than the last.
The setting (especially in the Winter) and the sound of the
nearby brook is hypnotic.
The service, room amenities and morning buffet is superb
and proximity to the Pub makes for a combination hard to top.
For those in search of a respite from a busy schedule this is
the place.

John and Jan - Glastonbury, CT

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    102
    32
    20
    17
See reviews for
76
158
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Northport, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have stayed with 1896 House several times in the last few years. It is a quaint country motel that is friendly, well maintained and has the artsy feel you might expect in this area. Choices are limited in the area and 1896 has completive rates with an on site restaurant and Bar that is friendly with good food and drink. We are skiers and use the Motel in the winter, upon a late arrival the room is heated and welcoming as is the staff. Very Good stay and a place i surely recommend.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the brookside. some rooms are across a street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

You would never know you were on a main road! The grounds of this motel, along with the property across the road which is also part of this business, are beautiful. Well, maybe the freshly fallen snow added to the atmosphere! However, I would recommend the 1896 House properties in any weather/season. Every single staff member was professional and friendly. (Shall I also mention the happy, stunning Airedale Terriers who belong to the owners?) The room was very clean; bed comfortable; hot water plenty. The morning breakfast buffet (included in the price!) offered variety and quantity. The pub food was superb. We actually ate at the pub both nights during our stay as the food was so delicious and the atmosphere charming. (Anthony, you rock!) The 1896 House is a must when we return to this area.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about crossing the main road to get to the breakfast buffet, then choose the Br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Level Contributor
231 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I arrived late at night on a very cold evening. I am happy to say that I was easily able to collect the key for my room despite the hour. The room was fully heated when I arrived which was a reflief from the cold outside. The room was older but well cared for. In the morning, the bright sun relieved a frozen white winter wonderland outside the window. The hotel is well situated just off the man road but far away enough to be quiet. The room was very nice and conveniently organized. There was a slight odor of mold in the room that put a small damper on the experience. The breakfast that was included in the rate was a good value and very convenient. The physical situation of the motel is quite pleasant. The two dogs that live there are very cute.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InTheMomentManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I (being retired) travel a good bit, and usually don't go anywhere unless we make it a two-week minimum trip. We're from the deep south...and wanted to do an extensive New England trip this time. We were in New Hampshire last week, and have stayed in B & B's in Massachusetts and Vermont this week. This is one place we'll remember the most...because of the hospitality, eagerness to please us in every way possible, great restaurant and fantastic FULL hot breakfast (included in the room rate). We will recommend '6 house to all our friends and hope to be back this way again ourselves.

Room Tip: Brookside rooms are a very good value. We didn't actually see any of the Barnside or Pondside ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlabamaCocoPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The room was clean. The service at the hotel and the restaurant '6 was excellent. The food was very good. It was a great romantic getaway with my sweetheart. We both enjoyed it immensely. I would highly recommend the 1896 House to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the 1896 for one night while visiting the Berkshires. The accommodations were just lovely! The room was a bit small, but very clean. It had a simple romantic touch to it that made our stay perfect. The free breakfast buffet in the morning was delicious, and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anida_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.9 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
451 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
300 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
0.5 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#6 of 13 in Williamstown
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside

Property: The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside
Address: 910 Cold Spring Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2732
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting property situated by a lovely brook and pond. Variety of immaculate & charming rooms with many bed configurations. Some rooms offer jacuzzis, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Full hot breakfast buffet included in rate. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi. Very popular restaurant on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. One handicapped accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. Sister Luxury Inn available on property. You'll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing