We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic and awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Easthampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“romantic and awesome!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The room was clean. The service at the hotel and the restaurant '6 was excellent. The food was very good. It was a great romantic getaway with my sweetheart. We both enjoyed it immensely. I would highly recommend the 1896 House to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    100
    32
    20
    16
See reviews for
76
156
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the 1896 for one night while visiting the Berkshires. The accommodations were just lovely! The room was a bit small, but very clean. It had a simple romantic touch to it that made our stay perfect. The free breakfast buffet in the morning was delicious, and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anida_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

What a nice quaint colonial motel located in Williamstown. Close to William College and next door to the 6house Pub which is fabulous. Room was clean with modern bath. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Bed was comfy and the room had many chain conveniences like hair dryer, small ironing board and iron, coffee maker and frig. Breakfast was included in our rate and was delicious. Overall great experience and will stay again"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent an autumn weekend at the Brookside in a king bed room. The room and bath were the cleanest we have ever experienced, Immaculate! We also enjoyed a nice dinner in the cozy 6 Pub. We have a student at Williams College and have been visiting Williamstown for a few years and the 1896 was better than any other experience we've had. We even booked to go back In January for the skiing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had an amazing one night stay at the motel. A wonderfully decorated and cosy room for New England country motel on a chilly autumn evening. We had a great night's sleep there, as well as a lovely meal in the bar/restaurant of a clam chowder and a really good vegetarian option - afterwards we had a local beer and glass of wine by the roaring fire while playing board games. The breakfast was decent, the room had a very clean and bright bathroom, the wi-fi was good and the managers really knowledgeable and friendly. We would highly recommend Brookside motel to anyone, we only wish we could have stayed there longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palencia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Good bed, excellent wi-fi,good breakfast,but don't look behind the bed because you can see a lot of dust. Who knows the last time this part has been cleaned. The bar/restaurant is OK , a very friendly waitress who served our dinner in spite of the fact when we arrived when the bar was about to close in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atleti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanzi, Owner at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We could not wait until October 22 when we could start Fall Cleaning! Getting behind the headboard requires the bed to be pulled away from the wall as no vacuum cleaner can get that low. Because we are so busy in the summer & fall months, we do not have time to pull furniture away from the walls and get behind the larger pieces. However, the rest of the room I am sure was sparkling. Our check out time is 11:00 AM and check in time is 2 PM. So within 3 hours, 36 rooms must be ready. We do major cleaning in the Fall (after foliage) and in the Spring (before the busy season begins), where every surface-walls, ceilings, vents, furniture both inside and out, linens, closets, & baths get a complete scrubbing and polishing. We constantly are complimented on our cleaning, but if one looks at the unreachable ridge behind the bed or large dressers at the end of a season, yes there will be dust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had 1 night to stay over and chose the Brookside House as there was not much else available. Based on the description on their website it sounded like a wonderful place to stay. We would have been able to overlook some of the other issues had the bed been comfortable. I felt like i had been beat up sleeping on that old blue and white striped mattress that looked like something that came from a prison or army barracks... Although, I am sure that army barracks have better mattresses. We paid about $170 with taxes etc for a room with 2 double beds. We thought that maybe it was just our room, however our friends who stayed in 107 had equally uncomfortable mattresses.

Also, the breakfast was what appeared to be powdered eggs and not much of a selection considering the price we paid. There was not much fresh fruit or healthy alternatives, just a basic breakfast that did not provide the value I would expect from a property that charges as much a night.

To add insult to injury, I think it was Sue that I spoke with and all she did was try to defend her property and tell me about all the positive reviews she got and how so many people enjoyed their stay. She got so defensive and almost argumentative that I decided it was not worth talking with her any more and I hung up. I told her that customer service does not mean arguing with the customer.

I am a hiker and I noticed when I walked around the back of this property that the paint is chipping off the rear of the building and needs a lot of work. I guess they just want to have the front looking nice and neglect proper upkeep and details like comfortable mattresses.

As consumers, we have a choice and I just want to make sure that when others are looking for a property to stay at you realize that this place is one that we would never return to. So, go ahead Sue and get defensive with my review, but it should be known that this property is not worth the money we paid to stay and we will not be back.

Oh and I am with my wife on this one, I would like to see what the owner says after sleeping in the beds in 106 or 107. I challenge them to try it and get back to me.

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanzi, Owner at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are sure, more than anything, that the offending issue here was price. Had we refunded these guests, by their own admonition, they would not have written 2 negative reviews. However, we are sorry that these guests were uncomfortable. Upon checkout, we query everyone as to the quality of their stay. 99.9% of our guests are comfortable and very happy with everything. As everyone knows, mattresses are very subjective, and there is no way to cater to everyone’s personal preference. We often get asked for the name of our mattresses so they may be purchased. Admittedly, our mattresses are extra firm. They are not old, are the top of the line, but are not pillow-topped. If one needs a specific kind or firmness of mattress, it would be wise to inquire ahead.
Our breakfast consists of “real” scrambled eggs, bacon, hard- boiled eggs, 3 kinds of cereal (one of them raisin bran), 3 kinds of fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, make your own waffles, freshly baked cinnamon rolls, coffee cake (we get raves on it), 2 kinds of bagels, 3 kinds of bread (one is whole grain), 3 flavors of juice, coffee, tea, decaf of both, and hot chocolate. We are not sure what is meant by healthy alternatives, and the guest could not provide an answer when asked. On our website, we list exactly what is provided in our motel breakfast. If something else was required, perhaps they should have investigated other lodging options.
These guests came in the height of our foliage season, on a Holiday Weekend, when all properties are at highest rates. The actual rate was $152 plus tax, including a full breakfast buffet. This is proportional with the rates of surrounding properties and their amenities. Had these guests been here during our $69 rate days, they may not have had any issue at all. In this case, the customer service that was asked for was a rate reduction. It was explained that if that were given, all guests, albeit content, would be entitled to a rate reduction.
The back our building is covered in indestructible shingles. It is not important that they ever be painted or maintained, except for aesthetic reasons, as no one will ever see them. The back area is completely private, and there is never a reason for any guest to be wandering back there.
This review and the following review were written by the same couple, for the same room, on the same night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.9 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.0 mi away
1896 House - Barnside Inn
1896 House - Barnside Inn
#5 of 9 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#7 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels

Property: 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels
Address: 910 Cold Spring Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2732
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting property situated by a lovely brook and pond. Variety of immaculate & charming rooms with many bed configurations. Some rooms offer jacuzzis, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Full hot breakfast buffet included in rate. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi. Very popular restaurant on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. One handicapped accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. Sister Luxury Inn available on property. You'll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing