We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Palencia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not very clean”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Good bed, excellent wi-fi,good breakfast,but don't look behind the bed because you can see a lot of dust. Who knows the last time this part has been cleaned. The bar/restaurant is OK , a very friendly waitress who served our dinner in spite of the fact when we arrived when the bar was about to close in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atleti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanzi, Owner at The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We could not wait until October 22 when we could start Fall Cleaning! Getting behind the headboard requires the bed to be pulled away from the wall as no vacuum cleaner can get that low. Because we are so busy in the summer & fall months, we do not have time to pull furniture away from the walls and get behind the larger pieces. However, the rest of the room I am sure was sparkling. Our check out time is 11:00 AM and check in time is 2 PM. So within 3 hours, 36 rooms must be ready. We do major cleaning in the Fall (after foliage) and in the Spring (before the busy season begins), where every surface-walls, ceilings, vents, furniture both inside and out, linens, closets, & baths get a complete scrubbing and polishing. We constantly are complimented on our cleaning, but if one looks at the unreachable ridge behind the bed or large dressers at the end of a season, yes there will be dust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    102
    32
    20
    17
See reviews for
76
158
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had 1 night to stay over and chose the Brookside House as there was not much else available. Based on the description on their website it sounded like a wonderful place to stay. We would have been able to overlook some of the other issues had the bed been comfortable. I felt like i had been beat up sleeping on that old blue and white striped mattress that looked like something that came from a prison or army barracks... Although, I am sure that army barracks have better mattresses. We paid about $170 with taxes etc for a room with 2 double beds. We thought that maybe it was just our room, however our friends who stayed in 107 had equally uncomfortable mattresses.

Also, the breakfast was what appeared to be powdered eggs and not much of a selection considering the price we paid. There was not much fresh fruit or healthy alternatives, just a basic breakfast that did not provide the value I would expect from a property that charges as much a night.

To add insult to injury, I think it was Sue that I spoke with and all she did was try to defend her property and tell me about all the positive reviews she got and how so many people enjoyed their stay. She got so defensive and almost argumentative that I decided it was not worth talking with her any more and I hung up. I told her that customer service does not mean arguing with the customer.

I am a hiker and I noticed when I walked around the back of this property that the paint is chipping off the rear of the building and needs a lot of work. I guess they just want to have the front looking nice and neglect proper upkeep and details like comfortable mattresses.

As consumers, we have a choice and I just want to make sure that when others are looking for a property to stay at you realize that this place is one that we would never return to. So, go ahead Sue and get defensive with my review, but it should be known that this property is not worth the money we paid to stay and we will not be back.

Oh and I am with my wife on this one, I would like to see what the owner says after sleeping in the beds in 106 or 107. I challenge them to try it and get back to me.

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanzi, Owner at The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are sure, more than anything, that the offending issue here was price. Had we refunded these guests, by their own admonition, they would not have written 2 negative reviews. However, we are sorry that these guests were uncomfortable. Upon checkout, we query everyone as to the quality of their stay. 99.9% of our guests are comfortable and very happy with everything. As everyone knows, mattresses are very subjective, and there is no way to cater to everyone’s personal preference. We often get asked for the name of our mattresses so they may be purchased. Admittedly, our mattresses are extra firm. They are not old, are the top of the line, but are not pillow-topped. If one needs a specific kind or firmness of mattress, it would be wise to inquire ahead.
Our breakfast consists of “real” scrambled eggs, bacon, hard- boiled eggs, 3 kinds of cereal (one of them raisin bran), 3 kinds of fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, make your own waffles, freshly baked cinnamon rolls, coffee cake (we get raves on it), 2 kinds of bagels, 3 kinds of bread (one is whole grain), 3 flavors of juice, coffee, tea, decaf of both, and hot chocolate. We are not sure what is meant by healthy alternatives, and the guest could not provide an answer when asked. On our website, we list exactly what is provided in our motel breakfast. If something else was required, perhaps they should have investigated other lodging options.
These guests came in the height of our foliage season, on a Holiday Weekend, when all properties are at highest rates. The actual rate was $152 plus tax, including a full breakfast buffet. This is proportional with the rates of surrounding properties and their amenities. Had these guests been here during our $69 rate days, they may not have had any issue at all. In this case, the customer service that was asked for was a rate reduction. It was explained that if that were given, all guests, albeit content, would be entitled to a rate reduction.
The back our building is covered in indestructible shingles. It is not important that they ever be painted or maintained, except for aesthetic reasons, as no one will ever see them. The back area is completely private, and there is never a reason for any guest to be wandering back there.
This review and the following review were written by the same couple, for the same room, on the same night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We booked a room(s)at the Brookside. What a mistake. I invite the owners to sleep one night on the beds in rooms 106 and 107. The most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on. If you look at the website, you are wowed by the pics and B&B reviews. Not much there about the Brookside. We were looking forward to that great breakfast and were disappointed in what was provided. Powdered eggs-really! Dry pastries. Thank goodness for the toast and peanut butter, hard to mess that up. The room was nice and clean, but not enough to make up for that awful mattress. Stay away. For price charged for this room was way too high for what was provided. $169 for a $49 room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clar444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanzi, Owner at The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
This review was written by the same people who wrote the negative adjacent review. Please see our management response to that review. In addition, the friend that stayed in the other room sleeps on a TempurPedic at home (not too many Inns can compete with that) and has a bad back.
On our website, there is an entire page devoted to each of the properties, photos, etc., including Brookside, as well as the full listing of breakfast items. Our scrambled eggs are 100% real eggs, not powdered. As for the reviews, there are no fewer than 59 (mostly positive) Brookside reviews on Tripadvisor.
Again, we believe these guests were looking for reimbursement because the mattress was not to their liking. We were told that a negative review was forthcoming if we did not compensate them.
We are sorry that they were not happy campers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Do not know why anyone would complain. Not a chain accommodation more like a B&B. Room adequate size, clean and comfortable. WiFi fast (if that is important to you. The grounds were quite appealing; unfortunately, it rained the night before and everything was wet. or would have relaxed outside by the stream. I like going to breakfast early to have coffee while waiting for wife to get ready - poor seating for this and would have appreciated a USA Today. However would definitly stay again when in area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jslesq2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
171 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We love to stay at the brookside part of 1896 House. Beds are comfortable, water is hot, and you can walk across the stream to the delightful pub. We had another excellent stay! Rooms could have a bit more light and we take our own multiplug for computers, phones etc. Basically, we love it!

Room Tip: Prefer brookside. Very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanusa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Ohio/ Venice Island Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I read online great reviews and just stayed one night at 1896 House and the room was awful. Smelled musty, moldy and old. Mattress was old and very uncomfortable and linens were cheap. There must be a bif difference between the brookside, pondside, etc. The breakfast consisted of make your own waffles and cereal, hardly what the hotel says it is. visiting Williams and would never stay again- and for 150.00 per night, way over priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanzi, Owner at The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Of course I am sorry that this guest did not enjoy his stay. When a guest refers to mold and must, it really is the wood odor that emanates from the walls on a damp day. Our AAA inspector was just here, and we were SO congratulated on our cleanliness and the great care we take of the rooms.
City folk are not always accustomed to country living and woodsy scents. But you will not find a stitch of mold anywhere in any of our rooms. Brookside is definitely a 50's era mountain cabin decor, and that is what we try to retain. Nothing is old, however, Everything, including the mattresses have been replaced and we continue to update, but keeping the "old" feel. We use a linen service, and this guest could be right about the sheets. We are in the process of changing service because of late, the quality has been erratic. However, I believe that the guest went to breakfast room when it was closed. The only thing that remains in the breakfast room when we are closed is cereal and the waffle maker. When we are open, from 8 AM-!0AM, there are scrambled eggs, bacon, hard boiled eggs, hot cinnamon rolls, great coffee cake, a selection of breads, bagels, English muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, coffee, tea & hot chocolate, in addition to the cereals & waffles. I don't think all the compliments that we have received on our breakfast is due to the 2 items listed. Perhaps the guest meant to stay at our Barnside Inn, and booked Brookside by mistake. If so, I hope he will try Barnside. I think that is more of what he had in mind. As they say, "one man's ceiling is another man's floor."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I must start this review by saying I call this place more of an inn style than motel because of the friendliest feel we receive as soon as we arrive. Our son plays soccer at the college so we travel often to Williamstown. We have stayed at other locations but once we found the 1896 house, it has been our second home during the season. Our favorite feature besides relaxing next to the bubbling brook is the 1896 House Pub and Tavern. The bartender remembers us from season to season and is known for his humor and wonderful drink... To me, you can't go wrong.. Can't wait for my next trip in 2 weeks back to our "Soccer Home" as we call it.

Room Tip: When it's a special night we like to request the "Barnside Luxury Suite"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.9 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
451 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
300 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
0.5 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#6 of 13 in Williamstown
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside

Property: The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside
Address: 910 Cold Spring Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2732
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting property situated by a lovely brook and pond. Variety of immaculate & charming rooms with many bed configurations. Some rooms offer jacuzzis, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Full hot breakfast buffet included in rate. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi. Very popular restaurant on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. One handicapped accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. Sister Luxury Inn available on property. You'll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing