We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure where you all stayed but Brookside was awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
NE Ohio/ Venice Island Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Not sure where you all stayed but Brookside was awful”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I read online great reviews and just stayed one night at 1896 House and the room was awful. Smelled musty, moldy and old. Mattress was old and very uncomfortable and linens were cheap. There must be a bif difference between the brookside, pondside, etc. The breakfast consisted of make your own waffles and cereal, hardly what the hotel says it is. visiting Williams and would never stay again- and for 150.00 per night, way over priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanzi, Owner at The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Of course I am sorry that this guest did not enjoy his stay. When a guest refers to mold and must, it really is the wood odor that emanates from the walls on a damp day. Our AAA inspector was just here, and we were SO congratulated on our cleanliness and the great care we take of the rooms.
City folk are not always accustomed to country living and woodsy scents. But you will not find a stitch of mold anywhere in any of our rooms. Brookside is definitely a 50's era mountain cabin decor, and that is what we try to retain. Nothing is old, however, Everything, including the mattresses have been replaced and we continue to update, but keeping the "old" feel. We use a linen service, and this guest could be right about the sheets. We are in the process of changing service because of late, the quality has been erratic. However, I believe that the guest went to breakfast room when it was closed. The only thing that remains in the breakfast room when we are closed is cereal and the waffle maker. When we are open, from 8 AM-!0AM, there are scrambled eggs, bacon, hard boiled eggs, hot cinnamon rolls, great coffee cake, a selection of breads, bagels, English muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, coffee, tea & hot chocolate, in addition to the cereals & waffles. I don't think all the compliments that we have received on our breakfast is due to the 2 items listed. Perhaps the guest meant to stay at our Barnside Inn, and booked Brookside by mistake. If so, I hope he will try Barnside. I think that is more of what he had in mind. As they say, "one man's ceiling is another man's floor."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    104
    32
    20
    17
See reviews for
79
159
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I must start this review by saying I call this place more of an inn style than motel because of the friendliest feel we receive as soon as we arrive. Our son plays soccer at the college so we travel often to Williamstown. We have stayed at other locations but once we found the 1896 house, it has been our second home during the season. Our favorite feature besides relaxing next to the bubbling brook is the 1896 House Pub and Tavern. The bartender remembers us from season to season and is known for his humor and wonderful drink... To me, you can't go wrong.. Can't wait for my next trip in 2 weeks back to our "Soccer Home" as we call it.

Room Tip: When it's a special night we like to request the "Barnside Luxury Suite"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This motel is beautiful. Whether you stay Brookside or Pondside, it is lovely. I highly recommend a Pondside suite. It is spacious with a large kitchen, a bedroom, and a sitting room with queen size roll-out sofa sleeper and large screen tv. The view of the pond with ducks is magnificent. The restaurant was great. Breakfast is included in the room rate and we treated ourselves to make our own waffles, eggs, bacon, cereal, delicious coffee, etc. The dinners there were reasonably priced and had a good selection to choose from. If you stay on the Pondside, you have to cross Rt 7, so I advise people with limited mobility to stay Brookside which is closer to the restaurant and office (or drive across the street to the restaurant.)
The rooms were kept clean and internet access was fine.The owners pay attention to detail, are very hands-on, and are responsive (we needed extra towels and shampoo for the pool and needed a gluten free options for dinner - neither were a problem). All the staff we encountered were pleasant, We would most likely return next time we visit the Berkshires.

Room Tip: Loved room / suite 15 on pondside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Another year starting for our son and we always return to the 1996 House! It was a quick trip to get him moved in and we only stayed 2 nights. We wanted to stay longer as we love coming back to this place. We stayed Brookside and our room was quite comfortable. We did have dinner at the Pub and all food and drink was great. The greatest bartender ever, works at the 1896 Pub (Anthony). He knows how to run that pub and restaurant while keeping customers happy. The whole staff is excellent. We can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasketBallm0m24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This bed and breakfast was a great and quiet place to stay. It's on a pond so there are ducks walking around on the premises so if you're a duck feeding type of gal you'll love this! The rooms are very clean, there is a small fridge and flat screen TV. The owners are absolutely lovely and accommodating. We went to the Williams College Museum of Art (which I loved!) only a few minutes away and then to Mass MoCA about ten minutes away. The pool was a great addition, but don't be thrown off by the fact that it's in the FRONT of the property because there are plenty of trees. The pool can use some updating but it's great to cool off. There are tables, chairs and pool chairs. The breakfast was basic, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, bacon, breads and bagels and the make your own waffle maker. The back of the property is beautiful. There is a pond and wooded area and there are adirondack chairs and picnic table so that you can enjoy this area. There is a restaurant called Mezzo next door, looks like a very nice establishment, a little pricey. We ate at the Pub right across the street, it is owned by the same ladies who own the bed and breakfast. My friend and I shared plates. She had the lobster roll which was DELICIOUS! The owner said they get their lobsters straight from Rhode Island. I had the bison burger which was incredible and the fries were crispy on the outside and creamy on the inside. I definitely recommend eating there!

Room Tip: Stay on the pondside, that's where the pool and pond are....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladytraveler36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We made a last-minute booking in the Berkshires,and we were pleased to find that the 1896 House Inn & Country Lodgings had availability. We stayed in the Brookside Motel part, because it was farther from the road than was Pondside, and most people found it to be quieter. The accomodation was as advertised. It is a motel, but our room had a country charm that most motels lack. We found it to be very clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. And there was, indeed, a brook just on the other side of the parking area, and there were Adirandack chairs by the brook. There were also the two resident Airedales and a variety of birds. The '6 House Pub on-site was a lovely restaurant where we ate both of the nights we were there, a real plus. An excellent complementary breakfast was served there, as well. Overall, my wife and I were very pleased with our stay and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwadebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed in Pondside Motel with our two children (10 / 13) for two nights on a family vacation to Berkshires. Two considerations worth writing about are Pondside vs Brookside and location compared to other Williamstown choices: Pondside versus Brookside: The two motels are located on opposite sides of Route 2/7. The pub, barnside suites, breakfast room and office are all on the Brookside side of the road. We chose Pondside when making our reservation because the pool is there and we figured our children would have easier access to it without having to cross the road (pretty busy with cars traveling at 50mph). If we come back, we'd probably opt for Brookside next time. Brookside sits down in a hollow and further back from road so there is less of an issue with road noise which is a negative at Pondside. Moreover, the pool sits shaded for much of day and is probably the least inviting space on an otherwise inviting complex so didn't get the use we expected. Outdoor grounds are more extensive on Brookside side of road as well. Rooms comparable. Location : The property is located a little less than 2 miles from the village center. The road in and out is a major through-road for the region and so not pedestrian friendly. Obviously you can drive in and out quickly and conveniently, but there are also other lodging choices that are far more amenable to walking back and forth to village for dinner, morning paper etc whereas that is not a comfortable option here. Morning runs for the stretch of road before you get to town expose you to high speed traffic and trucks with a fairly narrow shoulder and no sidewalk. I wouldn't pay a lot more to stay closer to village, but I'd compare. As to other features, only notes I'd add that I didn't pick up in reviews we looked at are these: Included breakfast doesn't start until 8am which was later than we would have liked. Pub was a nice feature to have on property. Menu is wide, food is a good value and we enjoyed eating dinner outside the one night we ate there. Wireless: very good signal in pub building / Pondside service was weak signal -- almost unusable except at pool. Overall, a well-maintained property that rises above the roadside motel look, serves as a reasonably convenient launch point for the region and has some useful amenities. Would stay again, but would comparison shop as well given the location notes above.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njkvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.6 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
315 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
457 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
0.5 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#6 of 13 in Williamstown
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside

Property: The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside
Address: 910 Cold Spring Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2732
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting property situated by a lovely brook and pond. Variety of immaculate & charming rooms with many bed configurations. Some rooms offer jacuzzis, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Full hot breakfast buffet included in rate. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi. Very popular restaurant on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. One handicapped accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. Sister Luxury Inn available on property. You'll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The 1896 House Country Inn - Brookside & Pondside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing