We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Weary Middle-age Short-Stay Skier Wants and Expects”
Review of Williamstown Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Williamstown Motel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I am a middle-age skier who usually takes two to three ski trips a year with my 14 year-old granddaughter. I am not a college kid who can survive by sleeping on a spring exposed cot and has no problem with taking army barrack style communal showers. When I booked a one-night stay at the Williamstown Motel after skiing Catamount near Great Barrington, Massachusetts to continue the following morning to Bromley, Vermont; I got the feeling that I might encounter such minimal arrangements at the Williamstown Motel when I was quoted such an economical rate.
The motel itself is a modest single floor L-shaped burgundy painted structure with the many room entrances adjacent to each other and numbered consecutively. When I unlocked our assigned room door, here is what we found:
1. A tastefully decorated room with two queen size beds and coordinating earth colors for the drapes, rug, and bedspreads.
2. A wall thermostat to control the room temperature.
3. A floor-to-waste high refrigerator with an adjacent stand supporting a very decent sized microwave.
4. A large living room table and an accompanying lamp that could serve as a work desk.
5. A color coordinating bathroom with vanity lights, overhead fan, and a hairdryer with modern shower knobs and implements above the bath tub.
6. The coup-de-grace was a magnificent 30 inch flat screen television set residing on the far wall which was opposite the two queen beds (I happily watched the Giants massacre the Green Bay Packers).
7. And best of all, everything was immaculately cleaned.
After awakening the next morning, my granddaughter and I both commented on how comfortable our beds were. We could have also taken advantage of the continental breakfast of juice, coffee, bagels, and cereal that was available in the motel’s office area.
At a very affordable rate, this is what every middle-age skier wants when seeking travel accommodations. The Williamstown Motel has this down to a science. Unfortunately when we travel, this is often not the norm. If my granddaughter and I choose to ski in the Berkshire area next year, we will definitely return to the Williamstown Motel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skijunkie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 414 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2011

Just spent 6 days in the Adams and Williamstown area.My stay at the Williamstown Hotel was very nice.It was clean,quiet,comfortable and the owner was very helpful and welcoming.Also try the Spice Root restaurant you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bushrod555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stayed here after finishing a southbound hike of the Long Trail. The motel is one of only three Williamstown lodgings listed in the current edition of the Long Trail End to Ender's guide, and it's not hard to see why. Not only are the exceptionally friendly and helpful owners willing to drive hikers to and from nearby Long Trail and Appalachian Trail trailheads--I called from the Pine Cobble Trail trailhead and was picked up within minutes (greatly appreciated on an unseasonably cold and snowy day in late October)--but the room rates are quite reasonable, the rooms are cozy, clean, and beautifully furnished, and the motel owners also run a fine Indian restaurant, the Spice Root, at which Williamstown Motel guests can get a discount. I had an excellent dinner there. The motel is also conveniently located within easy walking distance of a good market (a Wild Oats co-op) and laundromat (considerations for hikers). Otherwise, it is not far from the Clark Art Institute (which I also visited) and the rest of downtown Williamstown. I would certainly stay at the Williamstown Motel again, and I highly recommend it and the Spice Root Restaurant to other hikers and travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The room was very cozy, clean and comfortable. Everything worked as it should. It was simple without being spartan... just what we needed. The other thing we needed was a single-night stay... We found that most all the hotels and B&Bs in the area required a 2-night min stay. While this place states it as a policy, they did accommodate us when I called and gave a very fair price. When we arrived the price was even $11 bucks lower, and the owner gave us some bottled water and a couple of little bottles of pretty good wine... nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBuffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My wife and I had an opportunity to return to Williamstown, MA this year over the Columbus Day weekend as we have every year for the past 30+ years to enjoy the Fall foilage and the Berkshires in general.We spent (8) memorble days at the Williamstown Motel. My wife is from North Adams, MA and we were very familiar with the property. We had stayed there for many years before when visting the area when it was the Chimney Mirror Motel.
We were pleased to find that the rooms had been updated with many new amenities such as in room refrigerators, microwave, coffemaker, flat screen TV, and comfortable Queen size beds.
The entire staff of the motel went the extra mile to insure that our stay was comfortable as well as memorable. Both Simi and Tarun were excellent hosts and I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the area to try to experience the accomodations that we had during our recent visit. We definitely will return "Home Again" and visit our new found friends at the Williamstown Motel!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

If you're just stopping over (and you really must visit The Clarke), then the basic accommodation shouldn't deter you. The owners are friendly and helpful; they also run a really good Indian restaurant, Spice Root. If you want value for money rather than aesthetic chic then this place won't disappoint.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PietroRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamstownmotel, Owner at Williamstown Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2011

Dear Sir, Thank you for your time to write a review for our business. we appreciate your comments as it gives us a chance to make imporovements, at the same time it will be helpful to know our areas needing attention and we are still seeking that opportunity from you.

After taking over this new business we have done the following: Brand new 32' flat screen TV's new carpets, new drapes, new comferters and blankets, fresh paint outside and inside of all rooms, new coffee makers, microwave, fridge, hair dryer, iron, iron board in all rooms. Renovated bathrooms,spotless clean rooms with friendly service.
Free Wifi and daily free breakfast in renovated breakfast area.
Many thanks
Taru Narula
Owner, Williamstown motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Although we had a friendly welcome, the room spelled like it hadnt been used since the 80ies. The amount of dust in the room caused direct respons on eyes ad throught.....

We slept for a few hours and before 7.30, because we just had to get out of there!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alexeyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamstownmotel, Owner at Williamstown Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2011

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking out your valuable time to write this review for us. We tried to contact you and Trip Adviser to find out the room number so we can take the necessary action, but we could'nt. We would like to let you and all other readers know that we took over this business three years ago and all rooms have been mostly renovated including room carpets, drapes, all the furniture, paintings and small appliances. All of our rooms(18 Rooms) have been used by our guests several times this summer and we have received positive feed backs. We really don't have such a dusty room that smells like hase'nt been opened since 80ies. Perhaps it feels like you may have stayed at another place. Just for your information that a couple of months ago we received an excellent review on trip advisor and we felt that the review did not belong to us due to the reason that one of the amenity that was appreciated in the excellent review was not available at our property. So we had requested trip advisor to remove that excellent review.
Thanks
Tarun Narula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.5 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
348 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#6 of 13 in Williamstown
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
3.6 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
700 reviews
0.4 mi away
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamstown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamstown Motel

Address: 295 Main St, Williamstown, MA 01267-2610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williamstown
#1 Best Value Hotel in Williamstown
#1 Family Hotel in Williamstown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Williamstown
Price Range: $66 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Williamstown Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Williamstown, Williamstown Motel is only minutes from Williams College, Williamstown Theater Festival, Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute, Williams College Museum of Art, MASS MoCA in North Adams, Mount Greylock State Reservation and Jiminy Peak Ski Resort. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available in public areas.Williamstown Motel offers 18 air-conditioned accommodations with coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. Rooms feature mountain views. Each accommodation is individually furnished and decorated. 32-inch flat-screen televisions come with cable channels and free movie channels. Guests can make use of the in-room refrigerators and microwaves. Bathrooms include bathtubs or showers and complimentary toiletries. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Williamstown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamstown Hotel Williamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing