We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and trending down”
Review of The Orchards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Orchards Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This property needs a face lift. It is generally well-intended but not making the grade. Doors and windows in our room did not work. The alarm clock had to be unplugged to make it stop playing music. They pipe music into the common hallways after a certain hour in the morning, which is quite annoying if you wish to sleep in. I was assured a Sunday paper would be available and it was not. The restaurant hostess could not tell us what kind of menu was available in the lounge (we went elsewhere). Looks like this was once a top-notch property but I don't think it can be called that at this time. It has potential, but I'm not sure I as a guest want to wait around and see if that potential is realized. If I return to Williamstown, I'll look elsehwre first.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trainman334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. Your feedback is valuable, and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Our maintenance team has addressed the doors and windows and made repairs. I have reviewed the hallway music, the volume, and the times it is played, and I have made adjustments to prevent the music from playing too early. Our menus will change as of May 15, 2014, and the restaurant team will be trained properly to ensure they can answer all guest questions. The property will be completing renovations this summer which include all new hallway carpeting, a new bedding package for every room, and all new pool furniture. I do hope you will consider staying with us if you return to Williamstown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 469 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

During our recent college tour over spring break, we stayed at the Orchards Hotel in Williamstown. This place is exactly what I'd picture as a truly quaint and comfortable Inn in New England. The rooms are clean, large & nicely furnished, the common areas are nice, the excercise room had good enough equipment for a workout (needed because it was 20 something degrees outside), and the staff was friendly enough. I like the fact that they provided (free) coffee in the lobby in the morning. It's about a 15 minute walk to Williams College and downtown Williamstown. If we are back in Williamstown, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. Our rooms are designed to allow our guest to spread out and relax. Our exercise room and complimentary coffee in the morning are great amenities for our guest to enjoy. Winters in the Berkshires can be very cold and beautiful with all the snow. If you are ever back in Williamstown, we would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We returned to the Orchards for another stay during Bay State Games. Once again we enjoyed our time here.

We had a wonderful fireplaced room on the first floor. We had 2 double beds, a desk, side table and chairs, an upholstered chair and a huge armoire for storage and the tv. There was also a credenza right inside the door.

The beds were very comfortable.

The bathroom was huge and had a separate tub and shower. There were 2 sinks since the bathroom could be separated into 2 units.

Everything was clean and gave us a huge amount of space.

The staff was very pleasant. They were quick to correct a problem with noisy guests upstairs one night.

The dining room and lounge were handy since there are not tons of choices in the area.

The afternoon tea and cookies delivered to the room are nice touches.

We will return next year!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank amotedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. The Bay State Games are wonderful, and we are very fortunate to have the athletes and their families stay with us at the Orchards. Thank you for all the kind words regarding our property and staff! Afternoon tea and turn-down cookies are just a few of the ways we like to delight and surprise our guests. We look forward to seeing you next year at the Orchards for the Bay State games.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had the opportunity to stay at the Orchard Hotel to see our sons basketball team play in the first round of the NCAA tournament at Williams College. What a treat to stay at such a quaint comfortable hotel. The staff was very friendly and we were upgraded to a king room with fireplace. Such a treat to visit a hotel that's not a chain. I'd put this hotel on the level of some we've stayed at in the South, Tides Inn and the Homestead resort. Given the opportunity we would definitely stay at The Orchard again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank JillPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. We always look forward to welcoming visiting sports teams and their families to the Orchards. The ability to upgrade a guest is one of our many standards, if occupancy allows. Our goal is to provide a great experience for each of our guests. Enjoying a fireplace on a cold winter’s day is always a treat. Thank you for the great comparisons! We look forward to seeing you at the Orchards when you visit Williamstown for your son’s next basketball game at Williams College.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My family and I stayed at The Orchards Hotel over the weekend. We visit Massachusetts pretty often and have stayed at various hotels. None can compare to The Orchards. Our room was huge and well appointed. The beds were comfortable and welcoming. The lobby area is just beautiful serving freshly baked cookies as you sign in. High tea is served at around 3:30 in the living room and includes a variety of teas, tea sandwhiches and pastries. Just enough to carry you over until dinner. They also have coffee in the morning. The staff is friendly and always ready to assist you whenever they can. We happened to have hit a weekend when the prices were very low. If you ever need to be in Williamstown, The Orchards is a fabulous place to stay!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a fireplace. I little more money but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. Our goal is to surprise and delight our guests at every opportunity. High tea is special at the Orchards, and we look to continue to enhance that experience. The cookies at check-in are everyone’s favorite, next to the cookies at turndown! Our staff is very important to us, and they look forward to providing excellent guest service at every opportunity. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Williamstown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

When my son's big plans for a Las Vegas Valentines trip with his girlfriend were cancelled due to a snowstorm the Orchards came through in a big way! They stayed at the Orchards (2 miles from our home) and had a beautiful room and meal. The Orchards went above and beyond to make them feel special. So lucky to have this special gem of a hotel and a great staff right here in our backyard.

S Hogan, Williamstown, MA

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vthogans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. We are very happy that we were able to be of assistance to your son. We always strive to meet and exceed our guest expectations, and make our guest feel special on all occasions. Our location in Williamstown in the Berkshires is a special place to be. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We did the New Years Eve package that The Orchards offered to ring in 2014 and we were so happy we did! This was our second stay at The Orchards and will go again and again. Our package started out with a bottle of champagne & chocolate covered strawberries upon our arrival. The gas fireplace in the room made everything comfy & cozy on a cold New Years Eve. So after spending time enjoying the room, champagne & yummy strawberries it was time to go down to their restaurant the Gala Steakhouse & Bistro and had a three course meal that was fabulous. Our server made our night & pointed out some great choices on the menu. What a great personality Shasha!!!! Thank you!
We finished our evening with a night cap in the lounge and some music.
Next morning we had a warm and tasty breakfast before heading back home. All of this was included in the package that was more then reasonable. I'm looking for another getaway to the Berkshires soon.
Let me finish by saying that each time we have been to The Orchards & the Gala Steakhouse that the staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful. Thank you for another great time!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iclemeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. Our goal is to create offerings to our guests that will enhance their experience with us especially during the holiday season. It’s always very encouraging to hear great comments about Gala and the staff! Our lounge is a wonderful place to finish off the evening with the roaring fire and live music. The lounge is always a great option for a cocktail or dinner while you’re visiting us. We look forward to welcoming you back the Berkshires soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.2 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
342 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
679 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
17.8 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
494 reviews
2.3 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Hotel

Address: 222 Adams Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2933
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Williamstown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamstown
Price Range: $122 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchards Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcome alternative to traditional franchised hotels and local inns. With AAA Four Diamond Awards for lodging and dining, the Orchards Hotel and Gala Steakhouse & Bistro provides exceptional surroundings, exemplary service and gourmet cuisine to make it the ideal choice for the unique, fresh and anything but ordinary visit to the Berkshires and the mountainous Mohawk Trail Region. Experience the most comfortable, kick-off-your shoes luxury secret in Western Massachusetts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Orchards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchards Hotel Williamstown
Ma Orchard Williamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing