We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Considered best hotel in Williamstown but lacking”
Review of The Orchards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Orchards Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Considered best hotel in Williamstown but lacking”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We just spent two nights at The Orchards Hotel. We stayed in the basic room. This is considered the best hotel in Williamstown and we have stayed here before, but every time we stay I feel that it should be improved. There is a hole in the carpeting in our room, the radiator in the bathroom is rusted and the decor of the bathroom is from the 1950s, pink tile and pink toilet. In other rooms we have stayed in, the wallpaper has been peeling and there are stains on the carpet. Also, the hotel does not seem full booked on the number of cars in the parking lot, but when we asked for a complimentary upgrade at check-in, we were told they were full. On the positive side, the room is decorated nicely, the beds are comfortable and the food at the restaurant is good for breakfast and dinner.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LItravelers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Our AAA Four diamond rating supports the notion that the Orchards is the best hotel in Williamstown. We are not perfect as you point out ,but we constantly review areas of concern and put into place programs to resolve issues. The flaws you have pointed out are being addressed. It should be noted that we are straight forward with our guests and don't have need to try to deceive them. Our parking lot is often somewhat empty as guests arrive later in the evening and during the fall months arrive in transportation other than the family car. When we say we are full, we are full.

I'm glad that you enjoyed the food in Gala and the comfort of our rooms and bedding. We keep striving to be the best. Hopefully on your next visit you will agree that we have achieved that goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    143
    68
    28
    16
See reviews for
124
210
15
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Orchards this week and the service, cleanliness, size of rooms and food at the hotel were exceptional! We have a child with severe food allergies and Chris, the chef, could not have been more accommodating. He truly bent over backwards to accommodate all of his needs. In addition, the food at the Gala Steakhouse is truly delicious. The housekeeping staff was great...our room was cleaned and ready by the time we returned late in the afternoon and the size of the room was phenomenal. We loved receiving the chocolate chip cookies in the room each night. The Orchards is definitely one of our favorites in Williamstown!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mr2traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
To have you rate our hotel as excellent is great complement! We strive to make everyone feel that way. We feel that dealing with the special needs of our guests is something we take pride in doing. Our job is to make your stay as comfortable and carefree as possible. We are happy to know that we were able to meet the needs of your family.

Thank you for all of the kind words especially those directed to Chef Bonnivier. He is very appreciative!

See you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Overall, enjoyed our stay at the hotel but have some criticsms to make, as well. To the positive, the hotel has a classy, comfortable feel to it, our room was large, clean and quiet with a very comfortable bed. Bathroom size was adequate with good shower and one sink in the shower/toilet room and one outside it. The 24 x 7 exercise room was sufficient, the afternoon tea was a nice touch, as was the evening turn-down service with warm, chocolate chip cookies and the thick robes in the room. Business center offered free use of a computer and printer. Wi-Fi worked well throughout. Staff was friendly. The surroundings are fine but travel to good restaurants requires a car. The hotel restaurant offers dinner but we did not partake. Prices are relatively steep. Breakfast menu is reasonable with good variety and acceptable prices (breakfast was not included in our room charge). We did eat breakfast there and it was of high quality with decent coffee.

To the negative, the floors were creaky, making quiet footsteps, inside in the room and from above our room, problematic. No refrigerator, safe, or coffee/tea making facilities in the room. The hotel charges for a morning newspaper and that seemed inappropriate to us--given modern standards and the price of the room.

Overall, satisfied with our choice with a few important caveats.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank You for pointing out many of the positive things that the Orchards Hotel has to offer. It seems that for the most part we were able to satisfy your needs. I also take under advisement some of the things that you felt were less than you might have expected. We don't feel that coffee makers in rooms are aesthetically appropriate. For that reason we offer free coffee and tea daily in our public living room. I'll quibble with you regarding our menu pricing. I believe that a comparison of our prices to others in the Berkshires will show that our prices are quite comparable. Also worthy of note, is that the Gala menu provides choices ranging from burgers and salads to Waygu Beef and other delicacies.

All in all I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit. Please come to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, NJ, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Orchards was a terrific find for a fall getaway. Our king bedroom was huge, and faced the beautifully landscaped interior garden. Very quiet and peaceful. Room appointments and furnishings were first rate. Gigantic bathroom! Excellent housekeeping services. Hallways and public spaces are very well designed and nicely maintained. The Gala restaurant was so good that we ate there all three nights, despite the attraction of other places in town.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the interior garden are probably quieter, due to busy roads outside the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ_Voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Based upon your generous comments it seems that the Orchards was the perfect place for your fall visit. The fall colors were spectacular this year which is pretty typical of the foliage seasons we enjoy here in the Berkshires. It's great to hear that you enjoyed Gala. We believe that what Chef Bonnivier's offers on his menu is a highlight for most of our guests. Our belief is that there is no good reason to leave the Orchards for fine dining. There are always good choices on the Gala menu.

We expect that fall foliage will be special again next fall. Hopefully, you will have an opportunity to return for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I booked two nights over Columbus Day weekend. We booked the Date Night Package, which included dinner, breakfast, and a wine/cheese platter. I have to say that everything was nice enough. Room was pretty, bed was comfy, gas fireplace in the room, bathroom a little on the older side but very clean. This hotel definitely caters to an older crowd. We found ourselves to be on the "younger" side and we're 50! The hotel offers tea service in the afternoons, which we did not partake in. There is also a small exercise room where you can find beverage machines and a Keurig machine. I would stay here again because it's definitely one of the nicer hotels in the town. Williams College is a five minute drive, and the campus is really pretty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Orchards. Our Date Night Package is very popular and many people find it it to be a good choice for a weekend getaway. Currently we are offering a Package featuring our fireplace rooms. Hope you have a chance to check it out.

We do have guests of all ages ranging from Williams College Families, to those who love the outdoors and come for skiing or and hiking and of course many visit for the cultural attractions in the area. The Berkshires are great place to visit for people of all ages!

Hope we get to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We planned a 4 night stay over a recent holiday weekend on the strength of trip advisor reviews for this hotel. But the hotel we found when we arrived was not the fabulous 4 diamond hotel described in these reviews and we ended up cutting our stay short by one night. While outward appearances convey the impression of a very nice property, inside the upkeep of the property was definitely not up to par. Several amenities like the room safe and in-house telephones were either missing or not working. The lovely four poster bed was so rickety it creaked and groaned every time one of us turned over. Housekeeping was very uneven - dirty towels were replaced daily but some days they didn't bring back as many towels as they took away. Bath products were never replenished, used glasses were not always washed or replaced unless we specifically requested. A soiled hotel robe was left draped over the tub instead of either rehung or replaced with a clean robe etc. Early morning coffee is available in the lobby but only regular coffee - no decaf or tea. If you want either of those options you have to pay for them from a coil operated machine in a nearby lounge. Freshly baked cookies came the first night, not the second night and on the 3rd night we got broken pieces?!? The room itself was nicely furnished but in need of updating as fabrics were a bit worn and there were stains on some of the chairs. One issue of particular concern was that some of the exits to the parking lot were locked from rhe inside. In our case this meant we had to travel all the way to the front of the hotel to get out even though there was an exit to the parking one floor directly across from our room. As it was it was mainly an inconvenience to have to walk so far with our luggage but in a fire this could have been a deadly problem. The restaurant staff were very pleasant but the meat was so tough in our main courses that I couldn't even cut mine. The staff was apologetic and took the amount off our bill. When I complained at check out about some of these problems the manager apologized and gave us a generous discount which was appreciated. However the fact remains that this hotel does not currently live up to the 4 diamond rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinggal1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
I have read, with great concern, your review. First let me say that I investigated your complaints regarding housekeeping problems you incurred during your visit. In that regard I found that we failed to serve you properly and for that I apologize. The person responsible for serving your housekeeping needs has been terminated for failure to meet her responsibilities.

You are entitled to your opinion regarding our AAA status but I would like to point out that the Orchards was inspected by AAA during the summer and it once again received the 4Diamond designation. The hotel is also rated as excellent by Trip Advisor and most of our guests, as you point out, agree with those ratings.

In the interest of accuracy we offer free coffee, decaf coffee and tea everyday. We do offer ( not force) specialty coffees and drinks for purchase for people who have an interest in specialty refreshments.

We never lock designated fire exits and The Orchards has never failed a fire safety inspection.

I'm sorry that the hotel didn't meet your expectations and I recognize that we did not meet all of our responsibilities to you as our guest and for that I apologize. Thank you for acknowledging that we did compensate you for our short comings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here one night as part of a Fly, Drive around New England. Extremely quiet and comfortable however no one on reception when we arrived and had to wait about 15 minutes before.

Rooms large and very comfortable, good parking - no charge. Excellent location for accessing Green Mountains - drove here from Stowe and then onwards to Newport, Rhode Island.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Orchards on your quick trip to New England. The fall color have been exceptional this year. I hope that you will have an opportunity to visit with us gain. Sorry that the front desk staff wasn't immediately there for you, but in a small hotel like ours they are sometimes called away to attend other guests needs. Thanks again for choosing to stay at the Orchards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.2 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
#3 of 13 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Hotel

Property: The Orchards Hotel
Address: 222 Adams Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2933
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Williamstown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchards Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcome alternative to traditional franchised hotels and local inns. With AAA Four Diamond Awards for lodging and dining, the Orchards Hotel and Gala Steakhouse & Bistro provides exceptional surroundings, exemplary service and gourmet cuisine to make it the ideal choice for the unique, fresh and anything but ordinary visit to the Berkshires and the mountainous Mohawk Trail Region. Experience the most comfortable, kick-off-your shoes luxury secret in Western Massachusetts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Orchards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchards Hotel Williamstown
Ma Orchard Williamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing