We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and relaxing time in the beautiful Berkshires”
Review of The Orchards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Orchards Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed there for just 1 night, but definitely plan on going back!
The rooms are great, very comfortable and clean. The swimming pool was still closed, but looked very inviting. The hotel is quite- even though it is on the main street, you still have peace and quite and can sleep very well. They are in the northern part of the Berkshires, close to MASS MoCA and The Clark.
They have a wonderful peaceful garden, and a music/game room, were we played cards and chess with the boys. We all had a great time!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

I remember seeing you and the boys playing chess in our living room. It was very pleasing for us to be able to provide a relaxing visit for your family. Obviously you had some quality time together. I'm glad that we could provide a pleasant and relaxing place for you to settle into.Thanks for sharing you thoughts on Trip Advisor. The summer in the Berkshires are very special and might be a good time for some more relaxation in Wiliamstown. We look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 477 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

A truly classy, elegant, and aristocratic experience. My wife and I (Williams and Harvard alums respectively) regard this hotel as our romantic escape. You are treated like royalty here. It is truly one of the finest hotels in the world. It certainly is the finest hotel in the Berkshires. The restaurant is fabulous as well including the delightful vistas of the courtyard gardens complete with statues and fountains. In my opinion, this hotel, like the venerable institute in this town is one of the finest in the world.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Wow! Thank you for your very special review of the Orchards. Our managers and staff will be thrilled to hear that you think so highly of our hotel. There's not much more that I can say other than Thank You very much!! I hope that you will be able to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

when visiting the Berkshires, where there is a lot to see, this is the place to stay.
close to the center of Williamstown, it is a very quiet spot.
No view,two levels ,and a library , a lounge with a fireplace where coffee or tea is available.Wifi everywhere.There is a symbolic swimming pool....
Very large room, with a high king size bed , large bathroom with shower and bath.Extremely cozy and comfortable.The restaurant on the lower level , Gala, is very good for dinner, probably the best of the area in the higher category.Breakfast is served there, and is very good, although not a buffet.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gerard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

We agree, there is plenty to do in the Berkshires and there's much more in the summer. Soon the Williamstown Theater Festival will open, along with the new summer exhibits at Clark Art. MassMoca always has an enticing plan for contemporary art fans. As you have pointed out the Orchards and Gala are at the heart of it all. We strive to enhance the experience of visiting the Berkshires for all of guests. We are pleased that enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the very nice things you had to say about your experience at the Orchards and Gala Steakhouse. Please plan to stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I will always be a returning customer as long as it stays the way it is know. The people at the front desk are so professional and friendly. The room is very clean with a turn down bed service and cookies in the evening. Thank you all from The Orchards Hotel for such great service.
One more thing is the the town, Williamstown, had beautiful mountains all around you while you drive in the valley.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khammy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

I guarantee that we will do our very best to continue to serve you as we have in the past. As you know we are always focused on giving great customer service in a comfortable, friendly manner. We know that, as our guests, that's what you appreciate the most. Repeat visitors are the best indication to us that we are meeting the needs of our guests. Thank you so much for staying loyal to us. We will continue to strive to be there for you. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Different from your standard chain but you gotta appreciate the family- run feel. Cool if quirky design/decor with lots of dark wood and common areas including a reading room with fireplace and a Steinway baby grand free for the playing. A solidly good restaurant and bar downstairs and a two minute drive to Williams College. Very good feel and the owner there and personally welcoming.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rick99TakomaParkMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind remarks. As I have stated many times, it is most pleasing for us to know that we have been able to make you comfortable time after time. Having the opportunity to meet and to know many of our guests on a personal level is a special treat that allows us to enjoy what we do. I'm glad that we have been able to build that relationship with you. We all look forward to seeing you again soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of a 5 night, 5 hotel trek through New England. This was our 2nd stay at The Orchards and it didn't quite measure up to the last. Our room was larger than the last stay, and that was very nice. However, they placed us in a ground floor room and it was quite noisy. We seemed to have a heavy-footed insomniac above us and we could hear the person all night walking back and forth to the bathroom. We could also hear their plumbing as if it were right in the room with us. Sound-proofing was a big problem when on the ground floor. The room was looking rather worn and needed refreshing. The carpet in particular looked worn to the point it looked dirty, though it may not have even been. The bed was quite comfortable. However, a rollaway bed for which they charged $20 a night was subpar and made for a bad night for our daughter. When they asked upon check out how everything was, I mentioned that the rollaway wasn't good. The front desk clerk said, "Yes, those do get worn out." If they are worn out, it's the hotel's job to keep up with that and replace them. The staff was very nice, and the hotel itself is pretty. We would stay again because we think it is the better option of the two main Williamstown hotels. However, I would only stay in a top floor room next time and I do hope the hotel refurbishes the rooms. They need it. Also, breakfast at the Moonlight Diner right across the street is a less expensive alternative to dining in the hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReviewerMaryland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

I'm saddened to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay as much as had in the past. Also i appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts about your last visit.
Let me adress your points. First all hotels and buildings are noisier on lower floors. It's hard to avoid the sound created by someone walking above. Water going through drains can also be problematic. Unfortunately there is no way to eliminate lower floors. Secondly we are in fact replacing our cots and reviewing our carpeting needs. Lastly I would point out that there are lower cost food options at various other facilities, however they do not utilize locally sourced,fresh organic ingredients. At Gala we use home grown vegetables, cheese, real maple syrup, dairy products, and proteins. (we actually butcher the pigs ourselves). Our guests continually tell us that they enjoy the difference.
We do hope that you will continue to return to the Orchards and I assure that we will do our best to meet all of your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Though we found the exterior facade a little deceiving, the Orchards Hotel is a warm & welcoming environment, with a staff to match. The suites were spacious, the beds extremely comfortable, and there was plenty of closet/drawer space. The in-room fridge was a plus, and the turn-down service with fresh chocolate cookies each night was a nice touch.
It was my boyfriend's birthday & the staff went out of their way to accommodate my wishes and help to surprise him with a special dessert and candle. They were available whenever we needed them and were always extremely pleasant to deal with.
We dined @ Gala Steakhouse & Bistro for both breakfast and dinner and loved all of our meals as well.
While some of the fixtures are a little outdated, as a previous review pointed out, I think this only reinforces the charm of this lovely hotel in the Berkshires.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on the top floor next time, as the people above us were quite loud when they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Being referred to as a "Class act" is a very nice compliment. Thank You! More importantly is the fact that we were able to provide a great experience for you and your boy friend. I hope that we were able to make his birthday a little bit more memorable. I'm especially happy to hear that your experience in Gala enhanced your stay at the Orchards. Hopefully we will see you again for your birthday, or perhaps, a return visit next year on his. Thanks for choosing the Orchards and we appreciate your many kind remarks about us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.2 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
348 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
711 reviews
11 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
233 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
535 reviews
2.3 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Hotel

Address: 222 Adams Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2933
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamstown
#4 Family Hotel in Williamstown
Price Range: $158 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchards Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcome alternative to traditional franchised hotels and local inns. With AAA Four Diamond Awards for lodging and dining, the Orchards Hotel and Gala Steakhouse & Bistro provides exceptional surroundings, exemplary service and gourmet cuisine to make it the ideal choice for the unique, fresh and anything but ordinary visit to the Berkshires and the mountainous Mohawk Trail Region. Experience the most comfortable, kick-off-your shoes luxury secret in Western Massachusetts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Orchards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchards Hotel Williamstown
Ma Orchard Williamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing