We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chris, the executive chef is fabulous”
Review of The Orchards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Orchards Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chris, the executive chef is fabulous”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in Williamstown. We reserved one of the fireplace rooms, because we were escaping cabin fever at home (outside Boston) in winter. The room was large and very nice. The staff was very attentive and the place was immaculate. Chris, the executive chef, was fabulous. His sauces and unique preparations and offerings were outstanding. Chris stopped by our table and we could see he really was enjoying his work. We would definitely come back here again, especially in the summer or fall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
One quick look at Chef Chris and it is easy to see that he loves his work. He is especially pleased when he hears that our guests enjoy his work as much as he does. Chris is the key to the succes of Gala Steakhouse and Bistro and we are very lucky to have him to take care of all of the culinary needs of our guests. This winter Chris and our Gala manager Matt have combined their skills to develop some very special dinners combining great food with craft beers and special wine pairings. You might want to check the website to get information about these special events. On Feb 28 Gala is pairing up with Berkshire Brewing Co. to offer a a unique dinner with beer pairings. Hope to see you there!

Thanks again for choosing Orchards and Gala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    148
    69
    30
    16
See reviews for
125
217
16
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY, USA
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Orchards is a stone's throw from Williams College, just off Route 2 which runs through the school. We stayed for two nights while skiing at Jiminy Peak, about a half hour away. There are closer hotels, but availability is usually better and cheaper around Williamstown and we like the college atmosphere.

The Orchards is a charming smaller hotel, built in the mid-80s. It was built in the style of an traditional inn, with a "living room" off the lobby area with a wood burning fireplace and lots of wood paneling. The hotel is clean and well maintained and they've updated with flat screen TVs in the rooms, central ac/heat and a small fitness room. They maintain nice touches such as chocolate chip cookies with turndown, upscale toiletries, and a plush bathrobe. There is a small outdoor pool which is closed in the winter.

We booked a fireplace king room, which is a bit bigger than the standard room and was great for our family of three. The room was spacious, had a gas fireplace, and a large bathroom with two sinks and separate tub and shower. We had a rollaway bed for an extra $20/night. There was a small fridge in our room, and free wifi. Our room faced Route 2 but the large bay window was double glazed and we heard no road noise.

As part of our package, we bought breakfast vouchers for $10 a person. There is one restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the dining is billed as higher end. The breakfast is menu-only and was very good, though they were short-staffed when we were there and the one server quickly became overwhelmed by the rush hour crowd. We also bought Jiminy Peak lift tickets at the front desk at a $10 discount.

All-in-all, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return when in the area.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jack783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Wow ...what a very nice write up about the Orchards! Thank you very much for your many kind remarks. We continually strive to please all of guests whether they are here to ski, visit Williams, enjoy a date night, or take advantage of the many cultural attractions the Berkshires are noted for. Most of ourguests enjoy the fact that our AAA 4 Diamond hotel and Gala Steakhouse bistro offer a full range of hotel services and food options that are unmatched in Williamstown.

We look forward to your next visit and thanks again for your thoughtful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for one night with our teen age daughter but will be back.
Our room was spacious and clean and we loved the layout of the bathroom with both a tub and a walk-in shower. We had to pay $10 per person for the breakfast, but it was delicious and worth it. The staff was pleasant. My daughter loved the chocolate chip cookies left on our pillow. The TV seemed small so we did not watch anything, but it might be because the room was bigger than usual so we were further away from it. The only negative was the complimentary coffee in the lobby was cold and tasted awful, but the restaurant's coffee was fine.I wish they had queen beds in the rooms, but we had to settle for two doubles.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Orchards. We will make our best effort to improve the quality of morning coffee service. At the same time, however I promise not to touch our chocolate chip recipe that your daughter enjoyed so much. Hopefully we will get to see both of you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just finished an amazing weekend at this beautiful hotel while visiting my daughter at Williams College. Me and my husband were always staying at the Williams Inn however we found the Orchards and we are very pleased with this hotel and accommodations. Beds were very comfortable as well as sparkling clean rooms.

Front Desk staff was very helpful, friendly and accommodating. Had dinner in the bar/lounge area and really enjoyed dining by the fireplace it just added to the atmosphere, food was delicious and greatly prepared.

The manager of the restaurant was very nice making sure we had everything we needed and making sure we enjoyed everything.

Cant wait to come back looking forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
It great to hear that you found us. We strive to make every visitor to Williams College as comfortable as possible. We believe that we must always work to provide the same high standards that the students and parents experience at Williams. I'm very happy to know that we met your standards. I hope that we will see you often on future visits. As a Williams Dad myself I enjoy meeting other William's parents so please take an opportunity to say "Hello" the next time you are at the Orchards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile


My Fiancé and I just got back from our Holiday visit with family in Williamstown, MA. Like many couples visiting family over the holidays enjoy staying in a near by hotel to avoid sleeping in an already crowded home. Over the years we have stayed at a variety of hotels in the Berkshires and have been disappointed with lack of suitable hotel accommodations in the the area. It would be an excellent place to stay for anyone visiting Williams College, as well!

The Orchards Hotel is exactly what we have been looking for. The room was very large and very well maintained. The bathrooms are also very large and the staff was extremely attentive who continued to exceed expectations from check in to check out. We also had a wonderful fireplace. When we arrived we found fresh home made cookies waiting for us. One day, we left and had the do not disturbed sign on the door. When we returned, we found a small bag of fresh towels and refills for the shampoo and conditioner.

The best part of our trip was our dinner at the restaurant on the hotel. We went with the family. We sat right next to a classic brick fireplace and ordered bourbon brined chicken wings. The wings were baked in honey with a light coating of sea salt. Awesome! Everyone really liked their dinners. The coup de gras was the cookie dough bread pudding. It was my first time having bread pudding but I can say I am a big fan! Those in the group who have had bread pudding said it was the best they have ever had.





Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
All of our staff truly enjoyed serving your family while you were here at the Orchards and Gala. We look forward to your visit every year. I'm so glad that to hear that you enjoyed being here. Many others have taken advantage of the special values we offer for skiers which we feel that it has greatly enhanced the quality of the experience for our guests. We will look forward to seeing you again next year, or even better, perhaps you find your way back to the Berkshires later this ski season.Thanks for choosing the Orchards. We greatly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Orchards has been a favorite getaway trip for my family and get together with our friends to go skiing. We have been coming to this hotel the last 3 years. All our friends and my family really enjoyed the hotel staff. They have been very accommodating and helpful with our plans, especially with our group dinner...we had over 20 people in our group. The Gala Restaurant was the best...and convienently located on the premise. We ate breakfast every morning with our friends there during our stay (because of the $10 per person voucher, we saved). The ski deal for Jiminy Peak Resort was a great savings and saved us from long lines at the ski resort. Overall we had a great time with our friends and we will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Call ahead for any special arrangements...such as dinner plans if you have a large group so that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are so happy that the ski conditions in the Berkshires this season have been exceptional. It is also great for us to know that we were able to play a small part in making your families' ski trip enjoyable. It is always very rewarding for our staff to see guests who return to stay with us year after year. Your family is always a welcome arrival for all of the Orchard's staff. Now that our guests can buy actual discounted lift tickets at the hotel, it has proven to be a great way to avoid lines at the mountain

Thanks for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon on your next trip to "Ski the Berkshires"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Lovely room, wonderful staff provided excellent service. Our room was wonderfully spacious and looked out on a beautiful courtyard. The staff was attentive and courteous, dropping off cookies and lip balm in the evening was a fun surprise! A delightful new years eve getaway!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChefVassos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Happy New Year to you! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the new year at Orchards. We have had many comments on how lovely the dinner experience was in Gala. I'm pleased that you enjoyed everything as well! I hope that you that you will have the opportunity to bring in the year 2014 with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.2 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#6 of 13 in Williamstown
315 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
630 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
17.7 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Hotel

Property: The Orchards Hotel
Address: 222 Adams Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2933
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Williamstown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchards Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcome alternative to traditional franchised hotels and local inns. With AAA Four Diamond Awards for lodging and dining, the Orchards Hotel and Gala Steakhouse & Bistro provides exceptional surroundings, exemplary service and gourmet cuisine to make it the ideal choice for the unique, fresh and anything but ordinary visit to the Berkshires and the mountainous Mohawk Trail Region. Experience the most comfortable, kick-off-your shoes luxury secret in Western Massachusetts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Orchards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchards Hotel Williamstown
Ma Orchard Williamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing