We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”
Review of The Orchards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Orchards Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
san francisco
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

It was a convenient location. However, I was disappointed with the view. We were upgraded to a superior room, but to say that we had a view of the Berkshires (which I had reserved in my original reservation) is quite a stretch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
I'm glad to see that you had a positive experience when you stayed at the Orchards.I'm sorry that the view from your room wasn't what you had hoped for. It is our feeling that all of rooms offer nice views of the Berkshires and/or our elaborate courtyard and pond and therefore I'm disappointed that you were disappointed.It is my hope that you will stay with us again that we will be able to provide you with a lodging experience that you will enjoy to the maximum. I'm looking into the reason that your fireplace might not have worked. It should have and I'm sorry that it didn't.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    146
    68
    29
    16
See reviews for
125
211
15
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was pretty much the only hotel that was available during the Columbus weekend in Williamstown or North Adams, so we had to take it for $280. And from $280, we'd expect super friendly staff, high-end amenities, and quiet night. We found none of these from Orchards Hotel.
When we checked in, the staff simply did what she was supposed to do but nothing else- she asked me for signature and gave us our key cards. The room is big (500 sq ft) but very outdated- wallpapers ripping off and had old house smell. Sliding door to the bathroom didn't work properly. They don't even have those cheap little coffee makers nor do they provide coffee at the lobby. They seem to have 4pm tea time but who likes to kill time in the hotel at the hour? Lastly, at 5am, we heard very loud walking sound upstairs. The problem was not in the person's footsteps being so loud but it was more of the sound insulation issue.
Overall, Orchards Hotel did not provide anything that would be expected from $300/nt hotel. Next time I visit Williamstown, I'll try to find small inn nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honnybunny99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
I apologize for having not met your expectations when you visited the Orchards. It is always our goal to please all of our guests. I do want to clarify a few points. Our rate range begins at $99 , but varies greatly based upon specific market demands. Columbus Day weekend is one of the busiest in the Berkshires, hence our rates , along with our competitors, are at high levels. We work hard to provide value no matter what level our rates are set at and I'm disappointed that we did not provide that value to you.
Regarding coffee service we do not think that aesthetic of having a "cheap" coffee pot in our rooms lives up to our 4 Diamond AAA standard. Hence we offer free coffee in our living room lobby area beginning at 7:00 AM every day. Our afternoon free tea takes place in the same area at 4:00PM each day. We provide this service at this time because we feel that it is the traditional time for afternoon tea.
Lastly, we have review the conditions in all of our guestrooms on a quarterly basis. At that time we repair all items that are not up to par. There is no excuse for the problems you encountered and as a result of your comments we have rectified those flaws that you brought to our attention.
Again I apologize for our failure to meet your expectations. I hope you will give us another try as I feel that you didn't experience the Orchards at it best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Orchards is conveniently located on the outskirts of Williamstown, making both the Clark Museum and college, as well as MassMOCA and North Adams, quite accessible.

We were upgraded to a "superior" room which was quite large, and was equipped with a very large bath (two vanities, separate tub and shower areas. Very comfortable room, with some oddities though. All the lights in the room were of very low wattage, making it darn difficult to read during the evening. And despite the room's spacious interior, there was only one nightstand, a bit of an inconvenience for two readers. The room was also equipped with a gas fireplace, but on a brisk fall night it was not operational.

The room was immaculately clean and nicely done. The parking lot, outside back entrances and stairways do show considerable wear, however. But, who spends much time there, anyway?

The hotel offers complimentary coffee in the morning to help start your day.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GregF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for the kind remarks you made regarding the Orchards. I also appreciate that you mentioned those aspects of the Orchards that we can improve upon. Therefore, I will look into the lighting issue you mentioned to assure that we provide proper light levels for reading. I would also like to note that we are currently reviewing the design and comfort aspects of our guestrooms. Your comments regarding seating will be helpful as we consider what changes need to be made to improve the guest experience at the Orchards.
Thanks for staying with us. I hope that you will have the opportunity to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Large rooms, very clean, relaxing, and great service. We were visiting Williams which is very close (less than a mile away) so the location was also very good. The gym was better than expected with an eliptical, treadmill, and recumbent bike (as well as a small Universal).
The evening cookies were a nice touch.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
You picked a great time to visit. We are pleased that we were able to add to your experience while visiting Williams College. It's currently very vibrant in Williamstown. The students are back and the fall colors are getting very close to peak viewing. I hope that we will get to know you better during future visits to Williams. As you already know , we love having EPH families in the house!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
241 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed for only one night, but we wish it was more. The room is large and was very quiet and well appointed. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a good rest.

Breakfast was at the on-site Gala Restaurant with good food and a first-class atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks for your kind remarks regarding our staff and your breakfast in Gala. It is very rewarding for us to know that our guests enjoyed all aspects of our hotel.
The fall colors are starting to look spectacular so we hope that our future guests will not only enjoy the hotel, but that they will have the chance to take in the beauty of the Berkshires.
We are also very proud of the fact that the Orchards was once recognized by AAA as a Four Diamond Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

As we walked through the door we could hear quite a buzz of conversation and the very helpful and cheerful young lady who checked us in informed us it was a dining group that regularly meet there. Good we thought, a decent meal. Think again, the restaurant is closed - because of the dining group! She did point us in the direction of several eating places in town. Our disappointment was tempered when we got to our room. It was enormous and very pleasantly furnished with a view onto the garden.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abcoldgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Orchards despite the inconvenience of not having the opportunity to dine in Gala. It's rare that we close Gala for a private party , but we did so, on this occasion, in order to respond to a request by the Chaine des Rottiseurs to host a dinner for them. It was a great honor for us to host this most prestigious group of food and wine experts.
I do hope that you will have a chance to stay with us again and be able to take advantage of the great cuisine prepared by Chef Bonnivier and his team.

Thanks for patience. We appreciate it greatly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Lovely hotel. Huge room and huge comfortable bed. Unlike most of the hotels we had recently stayed in, we liked that he bathroom had a separate bath and shower, plus double vanity unit.
Nice evening meal in the bar and returned to our room to discover homemade chocolate chip cookies left on our turned down bed.
Lovely breakfast in the restaurant the following morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKS59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We always enjoy hosting our international guests, many of whom come to visit during the fall foliage season. It was our pleasure to have you as our guests. I'm especially pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Orchards. I hope that we will see you again on your next visit to the US. We hope that all of your future trips are pleasant ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.2 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
300 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
615 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
385 reviews
2.3 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#6 of 13 in Williamstown
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Hotel

Property: The Orchards Hotel
Address: 222 Adams Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2933
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Williamstown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchards Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcome alternative to traditional franchised hotels and local inns. With AAA Four Diamond Awards for lodging and dining, the Orchards Hotel and Gala Steakhouse & Bistro provides exceptional surroundings, exemplary service and gourmet cuisine to make it the ideal choice for the unique, fresh and anything but ordinary visit to the Berkshires and the mountainous Mohawk Trail Region. Experience the most comfortable, kick-off-your shoes luxury secret in Western Massachusetts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Orchards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchards Hotel Williamstown
Ma Orchard Williamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing