We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Don't forget your bathing suit!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We were very satisfied with our stay on July 30 - 31, 2014. Room #8 in the front of the inn was quiet and nicely furnished with a queen size 4 poster bed (plush & comfy.) The room is not large, but was more than adequate for our stay, and the brook outside our window sounded great at night. The innkeeper and her assistant Dan were very personable and helpful. The pool is very refreshing at the end of a long day. Don't be put off if it feels cool, you'll love it after a minute or two.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 239 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

I found this place by googling, and we were very happy with it. Jill Ryder is a friendly and helpful innkeeper and steered us to a couple of very good restaurants. The grounds are lovely, with lots of trees, picnic benches, a babbling brook, and a truly wonderful swimming pool! There's a comfortable lounge with lots of books about the area. Breakfast does not include hot dishes, but it's fine for the money. The pillows (at least in Room 14) are not particularly comfortable, but that sort of thing is easily fixed. We'll be back, Jill!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

the landscape is just paradise could not find a nicer inn keeper is willing to do whatever it takes to make your trip special and the grounds are beautiful the brook is really something to see it really is a must see kind of place

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank antonio p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We were stuck with this motel after everything was sold out in Northern Berkshire county. It's old and musty, beds uncomfortable. Inn keeper is cranky. On top of that it's way overpriced. It really lacks the charm of what a Berkshires Inn should be.

Stayed: July 2014
5  Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryder54, Owner at Berkshire Hills Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

I am totally puzzled by this guests comments.
They expressed no comments during their stay ;(((
I thought they wanted to be left alone and I respect that.
I wish they had talked to me about their concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Thanks to all of you who suggested to ask for a room on the back of the inn - I enjoyed sounds of the bubbling brook vs. road's noises. The room was lovely and very nicely decorated. There were two rocking chairs and fireplace in my room which added to the overall "like home" feeling. The pool was awesome - I happened to have it all to myself, and had a very relaxing swim surrounded by pine trees and flowers. It is separated by trees from the inn, so you can relax by the pool without being in full view of the entire motel. It did not have any chemical smell at all, all I could smell was a lovely pine trees' scent. Very cozy. Also, there is a gazebo, a picnic table and chairs on the back of the inn by the brook - very nice area to sit and relax. Loved everything about my stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GreenMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was our first trip to the Berkshires. We were there for a wedding weekend and our hosts had picked The Berkshire Hills Motel for our lodging, and we're so glad they did. The location is perfect- just a mile or so before Williamstown and situated by a beautiful rushing stream. It has the charm of a mid-century roadside motel- quaint, quiet, clean and spacious rooms. A simple, yet satisfying breakfast of fruit, cereal, and bagels is served in a large communal dining area in the lobby. Although cell reception is a bit dicey up there (Verizon seems to be the winner), the free wi-fi was strong and plentiful. The weather was sunny and hot, not quite enough for a full dip in their lovely stream-side pool, but perfect for poolside reading and toe-dipping. Follow our lead by grabbing a bottle of wine and relaxing in the gazebo by the water before turning in. The innkeeper Jill, was the absolute best part of our stay. Cheerful, friendly, very helpful for sightseeing suggestions (there are MANY) and attentive to our needs. To her credit though, she gets some great help from her trusty assistant- a handsome fuzzy grey cat named Bradley Cooper.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daytrippers38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

we were obliged to rent for three nights even though we needed only two nights to go to a wedding
at an exorbitant price for the quality of the room, the extremely poor breakfast and a very cold and formal welcome. Usually when you arrive in such places the host or hostess makes you feel like you have come to the right place and makes you feel welcome. Not here. In our room the shower head was falling off and attached with tape. I asked for it to be fixed and it was, more or less, the next day. One side of the bed did not have any place to put a box of tissue, your glasses or a book.It was a small detail but a great inconvenience. The breakfast was like being in college: cereal and cereal - and breads, but all of them sweet. Some oat meal, eggs and bacon, some muffins, ESPECIALLY GIVEN THE PRICE OF OUR ROOM would have been very nice. In conversations with other guests, who also went to the same wedding, there was quite an agreement about what poor value we were getting for the money. It is not nice to be in a place were they force you to pay for more nights you need then you end up with such poor value. We left it as a kind of depressing place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tangerinebluepuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryder54, Owner at Berkshire Hills Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

There are two weekends where I have a three night minimum, Williams College Graduation and Williams College Reunion. This guest stayed during one of them.

It was made very clear, at the time the reservation was made, that this was the policy.

I was surprised when the guest wanted a refund because he was leaving a day early.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
2.1 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
342 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#6 of 13 in Williamstown
469 reviews
9.0 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
225 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
679 reviews
0.5 mi away
The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkshire Hills Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshire Hills Country Inn

Address: 1146 Cold Spring Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2736
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range: $79 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Berkshire Hills Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on the Scenic Side of Beautiful Williamstown. Cozy accommodations, bountiful breakfast buffet included, family friendly, secluded outdoor pool bordering brooks. Near: 3 World Class Museums, Williams College, skiing, hiking, shopping,so much to see and do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Berkshire Hills Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkshire Hills Hotel Williamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing