We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“I will be back to stay at this Inn!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whately Inn

Whately Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whately
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whately Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Whately B&B and Inns
East Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I will be back to stay at this Inn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

My sister and I went to this Inn to get away for a weekend. (As my husband is in Iraq for a year, the need to get some time to focus on something else was needed. I hope to be back with him when he returns.) To shop and site see in the area. We had a very charming room with two beds and antique furniture. It was a very clean, and unique room. The scenery from the window was fantastic.
The service in the Inn was outstanding. We recieved a rose in our room. The staff was great! The restaurant was also outstanding. The service was great, the food was delicious and well presented.
The Inn is so close to the attractions in the area. 5 minutes from Yankee Candle, 7 minutes from the Majic Wings, you go in the other direction from the hotel and in 15 minutes your in South Hamptons downtown area where the shops are plenty. Very unique shops at that (ie: 10 Thousand Villages..)
The owner is a great man and very sincere. I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drivera12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
8
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

I visited Whately because I was on an art vacation making prints at Red Horse Press in Hatfield.The whately inn was nearby and suited me fine,however, that said, it's not really as quaint as the outside appears nor is it any way plush. The rooms could use updating and new mattresses. I borrowed my friend's feather bed to customize my sleeping experience.Rooms were clean but dark(I saw two different rooms) and the widows needed screens. A/C worked fine and the water pressure was great although stall shower was tiny.The staff at the inn was awesome, friendly, funny and accomodating. The restaurant downstairs is wildly popular (with the 65 and over crowd) and surprisingly I couldn't hear noise from the restaurant in my room.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eblomster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2008

‎Our group of 35 + people traveled a bit over an hour to the Whately Inn on 11-29-08 to see one of the best luncheon theater shows I've ever seen. It was called Le Cabaret (not sure of the spelling) and we had a fabulous all you can eat buffet. - which had choices of food that we got to pick in advance. The turkey was cooked to perfection - moist and tender! It was their first Christmas show of the season and it was so wonderful! While the performers had only 5 people in the group, they had excellent singing, dancing, comedy impersonations and a sing a long section that was hilarious! That same group is now performing there on an ongoing basis and have a variety of different shows to offer there as the seasons change, so we all plan to go back at a later time. The girl who sold us the show from High Note productions (again not sure of the spelling) was an awesome singer and performer, in fact we thought that of their whole group. She, the sales girl - can't remember her name - was especially an encyclopedia of knowledge on the area and told us other places to visit on our trip home. These people were very sweet and that same sales girl was so exhuberant and I'll never forget her bidding us farewell on our bus and blowing us air kisses as she wildly waved a smiling good bye when we were pulling the bus out of the parking lot. Only draw backs we noted for this place were if your group is large, there are some big wooden poles that might visually get in the way of seeing the show. Just ask to sit somewhere else and they are very accomodating. Also, there was a ton of construction on interstate on the way home. Maybe you should pick another way to go till that construction is over as we sat in traffic for quite a while.

  • Liked — The food and the Cabaret theater luncheon show
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkirishrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2008

i have never stayed there but was always a place that we loved to go and eat. The last two times were the worst. In Oct there was hair in the side dish. The waitress was new and had no clue. Last night I took a friend out and it was so bad. For that kind of money now a days I think they better wake up! I had the baked stuffed shrimp, the stuffing was like paste wet and the shrimp were like rubber. My friend had the sole and took one bite and was done. She is never one to complain but said it had no tast and she loves it and has had it out before but not at The Whatley Inn. We also were served not cold but luke warm potatoes..... You can have it, Where is Mike the FATHER come back..........

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank khdlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2008

We loved the Whately Inn.
We stayed 4 nights, and our party took up all the rooms.
The rooms were very nice. What we expected from a Inn. Bed was comfortable.
Rooms have AC & TV
Each room has a bathroom with a shower.
Attached door can be opened between two rooms if desired.

We had dinner in the dining room 3 of the 4 evening. Food was FABULOUS!! No need to dine anywhere else.
Service was excellent.

Worth a visit!

  • Liked — The rooms were Victorian and very charming
  • Disliked — Lighting is pretty dim- would like the bathroom lighting to be a little brighter for getting ready in the morning.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Shutterbug101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2008

The room was not lavish, but very comfortable and clean. the price was very reasonable. We stayed for two nights and were very pleased.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank YellowK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2003

Though from the outside this place was cute and dinner in the restaurant was a good value with a really nice staff, the room upstairs was dingy, musty and thread-bare - a real disappointment. If you're really stuck, this place won't kill ya' but sheesh! was I expecting something more comfortable. lumpy mattress, smelly carpet, broken tv and leaky, dirty shower with no tub (though I was told it had a full bath when I made my reservation). Dinner - yes - but don't stay if you can avoid it.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whately
7.6 mi away
Deerfield Inn
Deerfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Deerfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
8.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whately Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whately Inn

Property: Whately Inn
Address: 193 Chestnut Plain Rd, Whately, MA 01093-9702
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Whately
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whately
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whately Inn serves fine food in a relaxed, country atmosphere. We are the ideal place for a memorable occasion.The Whately Inn is an all-inclusive, fine dining restaurant. We specialize in country French cuisine with an extensive wine list. In addition to our fine dining, we also offer four guest rooms. The colonial-styled Whately Inn lies nestled near the base of the Berkshire Mountains of Western Massachusetts and is the perfect setting for a couple’s dinner, birthday celebrations, family events, bridal and baby showers, anniversaries, and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whately Hotel Whately

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing