We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Do!”
Review of Nikos Restaurant

Nikos Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 118 Restaurants in Weymouth
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
231 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A Must Do!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

When family is in town there has to be at least one breakfast at Nikos. This week there were two! My brother loves the restaurant and he and his family always carve time out for a trip to Nikos. Their omelets are to die for. Try the Broad Street Omelet; bacon, swiss cheese, asparagus, jalapeños, and onions. It is a keeper. Always ask for baked beans as an add on, super yummy! My brother loves the "Lumberjack" and everyone else enjoys bacon and eggs. the service is great, good coffee, and just a nice place to start your day.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    8
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, if you get it.”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have been to Nikos several times in the last few months. Each time, Wendy was our server, and she is a doll!

Today, we went in for a late breakfast. It closes at 3pm, right? We walked in at 2pm, and got a very dirty look from a girl who would be our server. It was not busy, but there were people at about ten tables when we walked in. After ignoring us for a punitive amount of time, she came over and asked us what we wanted. "Menus" was my response. From that point forward, she rushed us through the entire process. Apparently, I didn't order my orange juice fast enough. Then, everything I wanted on the menu was unavailable. Then, we didn't pay fast enough.

The food was decent, from what I had, but at 2:30, she put the pressure on. She slapped the check down, and said, "No hurry." Poured someone a cup of coffee and leaned to ask, "Are you paying cash or charge?" We were trying to eat. She kept coming back in frequent intervals (not kidding, less than a minute each time) to ask for the money and kept saying, "no hurry, but". Until I finally stopped my meal and dug out my credit card.

She brought the copies for me to sign, and of course, I wasn't half way through my breakfast. She tried rushing me through that when I said, "I am about to write in your tip. Maybe you should stop rushing me." Then, I got the argument that she wanted to cash out. This was prior to 2:40, they are supposed to be open until 3pm. At that point, I stop eating, filled out the slip with a begrudging 15% tip (low for me) and just left.

I am disgusted and disappointed. I will try to go in this week and talk to Wendy or a manager and see if someone even cares. Very flippant environment without the usual employees working. Maybe the food is good, but if the patron cannot eat it, or enjoy the meal because of poor treatment from the staff, then I am rethinking what I thought was my go-to breakfast spot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliamudloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I love the food here. They have a large menu and i have never gotten a bad meal or poor service .My only complaint is the crowds on the weekend but it is worth the wait. They also give you coffee while waiting.The turn over is quick!! Jackson square tavern and venetian are also right there but people wait for Niko's, I totally get why!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladyjeanann2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast place”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Nikos is a very popular place for breakfast. You usually have to wait for a booth, but it is worth it. They have a great variety of dishes. I love the pancakes. The Eggs Benedict have a variety of homemade recipes. I like the hollandaise sauce made with yogurt. it is just as tasty as the regular kind, but a much healthier choice. My daughter travels miles to get her breakfast here. The only negative is that the building is old ( although the restaurant is new) so the bathroom is upstairs. Not so good if you are handicapped. I would "go" before I go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwell, mass
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, service shaky, bathroom scary”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Food was good . Service was poor. Bathroom needs to be gutted. Restaurant was updated nicely.bathroom needed the same updating. It seems like a lot of places care a lot more about the eating area than the bathrooms. Overall impression was sub par. Have some respect for your patrons and more will come.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jv537Norwell_Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nikos Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nikos Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing