We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The City in the Suburbs” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiara Bistro

Chiara Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Chiara Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Westwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Barlow Lane
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The City in the Suburbs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

To have a chance to enjoy a terrific meal, you generally need to be in an urban setting in the US. Chiara Bistro is 1-1/2 mi south of 95/128 but it matches the few really good suburban restaurants and bests many in Boston, Providence, NYC. The steak tartare the other night was terrific with two different horseradish's and the sea scallops with squash puree and peppered spinach was just delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SeasonedTraveler116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    33
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medfield, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Postive Feedback”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Chiara has great ambiance and the food is great however very limited selection and the wine pour is terrible. I hate restaurants that measure how much wine they pour in a glass - especially when they charge $14/glass. Probably won't go back...

Medfield, MA

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We celebrated an Anniversary at Chiara's. We had been there previously and liked it so much we decided to return.

There were four of us and we all had different dishes. I had the Flank steak, cooked to perfection and nice and tender. Also served was pumpking gnocchi, lobster roll , lamb chop and oysters on the half shell. We all loved our meals.

It was a bit pricey but the food and service was great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolores C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“cozy dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stopped in one night during Restaurant Week. The selections for the menu were great, very pleased that it wasn't such a limited menu like other restaurants do. I ordered the mussels (too salty), the gnocchi (didn't like the flavor), and the apple strudel (the best part of the meal!). My party all ordered something different, and I personally think the pork chop with the polenta was the star of the night. Also very much enjoyed the dark chocolate bread pudding.

We sat right near the kitchen so you can see the food coming out and the lengths the food runners/chefs go to make a beautiful presentation. It was a busy night so our waitress did not come by much, but it's like she was able to read our minds--she was always one step ahead of us when we were just about to ask for something (extra fork, dessert menu). Very pleased with the service.

Overall, ambiance was very cozy. Great for dates. There is a little sitting area/lounge right when you walk in, great for those who want to stop in for a drink and enjoy the apps. Highly recommended if you are looking for something unique and upscale in the suburbs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank voxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had not been here before. Excellent service, great fresh food. It was our anniversary dinner and it was a nice night out. I will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiara Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Chiara Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing