We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Beach... For Massachusetts”

More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Waynesville, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Good Beach... For Massachusetts”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Here's the gist:

1. Parking is $8.00 for Massachusetts residents, $12.00 for out of state cars.

2. The beach closes during bad weather, so check the forecast before you go.

3. The sand is lovely and soft, but there is a strip of rocks and gravel near the shoreline. There is also a strip of rocks and gravel just past the shoreline in the water. The shelling at Horseneck Beach isn't great, but there are a lot of lovely rocks for rock collectors.

4. The waves were pretty rough and one of the locals said that was typical.

5. There are lifeguards on duty and they do a pretty good job of watching the swimmers.

6. The water is clean and clear (for Massachusetts) and we didn't encounter any sea grass or seaweed.

7. If you want a calmer beach, try the one just up the road (turn right if you're driving out of the parking lot). We drove past it while sightseeing and didn't stop, but the water was much calmer and there didn't appear to be a parking fee.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank charleyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    34
    16
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkley,MA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What's the difference between this state park and The Boy Scouts?”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Boy Scouts have good adult supervision! My wife and I visited this beach early on a Saturday morning in the midst of a heat wave, and while there 6-7 people collecting my $8.00 to get in, the toilet facilities were a mess with no soap or toilet paper at 9 o'clock in the morning. It didn't get better anytime during the day. I know this is job no one wants, but its up to management to make sure its done. I'm all for hiring youth for summer jobs but they need direction.
The beach deserves a five rating, if you go at low tide. At high tide you will have to deal with a lot of rocks. The water was clear and refreshing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank joe651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Horseneck Beach State Reservation Campground”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The good:
1) It's on the water
2) It's $15.00 a day to camp
The rest of the story:
The sites are pretty much right on top of each other with no buffers other than parked cars between them. By my estimation the campground is usually populated by 75% RV's. There are no designated RV or tent areas, it's a first come first served situation. Having said that, because there is no electric you can expect to hear generators running day and night. As far as I could tell there is no quiet time enforced. While there are tents scattered throughout the park on any given day, keep in mind that the wind does pick up so much so that most tents will have trouble standing up to the wind if they are on the water sites. I have literally heard poles snapping and seen tents flattened.
The park has water sources scattered through the site as well as a dumping station. In the middle of the park is a bathroom/shower/dishwashing area. The bathrooms are cleaned by "hosts" campers on a rotating basis. The quality of the cleanliness is very random as are the times it's cleaned. Generally speaking on average it's pretty nasty unless you happen to go shortly after it's cleaned. The sites themselves are rarely if ever cleaned, every site I saw was littered with trash, cigarette butts and other debris. Management of the park is practically non existent. It is staffed with college students on a summer jobs who prefer to sit in the shack or ride around in the trucks together. Twice in a week in a half did I witness anyone doing any sort of work around the park. Expect dumpsters to be overflowing and and trash on the ground around them. The most pro active thing the staff does is walk around to see if the sites are populated to see if they can resell an unused site.
As for the main attraction; the beach: it's rocky at the top and sand at the beach it's self with great surf. The rocky part is littered with trash from campers and debris that has washed up.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
30 Thank Dave_Livingstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Awesome Warm Water Sandy Beach!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My fiance & I had a fabulous beach day yesterday. Horseneck is one of our favorites beaches in MA...long sandy shoreline with great waves to toss around in and body surf! Most of the time there isn't any seaweed...just open warm ocean water to enjoy all day long. I like the gently slope as you go out swimming so no worries of going much over your head. There are several lifeguard stations to watch over the beach. Be aware you'll be whistled in if you swim out too far...easy to get caught up in the fun loving waves. Most important is being safe. There's a huge parking area so plenty of room for everyone...even on the hottest summer day like yesterday. The changing/restroom pavllion is adequate with showers. Don't need much more than that to enjoy a day at the beach. Do bring lots of sun protection as there is no shade. Portable beach cabanas and umbrellas are highly recommended to get some relief from the sun or just relax and watch everyone. The beach itself is very clean and groomed. So if you're looking for a fabulous day of sand, sun, and surf...Westport is the place!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lighthouselady63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Be prepared for unexpected/unexplained closing”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Don't promise your child a trip to the beach and go here. It closed/was closed 2 out of the three last visits. Went today 7/5/13 @4 pm to avoid the crowds and when we asked at the gate why it was closed, the staff member (male, short stature, facial hair) told us to and I quote "Look three feet in front of you...CLOSED!" It would have been nice to be able to give my child a reason why he couldn't go to the beach on his birthday! Surprise! Really? I am so sorry, Sir, that you had to stop leaning on your truck with your arms folded in order to look in our direction. I will recommend that recent college grads look into your field of work as it seems you must have a great sense of job security regardless of how disrespectful you act while on duty.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horseneck Beach State Reservation also viewed

 

Been to Horseneck Beach State Reservation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing