We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach Area”

More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Beach Area”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a nice state park beach. It is large, clean, has parking and some restroom facilities. It gets crowded but all nicer beaches are crowded on good beach days. The only negative for me is that there isn't much else around - it's beach only. There are no good resturaunts or other activities.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Exergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    34
    16
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great beach for wave swimming and walking”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

beautiful white sand beach. Lifeguards in the summer watch over busy swimmers in the waves. Nice beach walking brings you less crowded strip of sand

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank southcoastartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent camping at horseneck beach res”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Horseneck beach is beautiful. The waves are great- parking lot is huge and the bath houses and board walks are great! But did you know that at the end of the public beach is a campground run by the State of Ma? For 15 dollars a night for (non electric site) my family and I rented a tent site right on the water!!!! We were in between campers but the people were quiet and friendly and the view was unbelievable.There seems to be about 100 sites and none very far from the water. The bath houses were nothing special but its all about the beach! Site 67 is were we stayed but anything in the 60's, 70's or 80's would great. Wood is cheap and the rangers were helpful. Also , for you fishermen strippers run big time in the fall - rent a site then and Ive been told they practically jump out of the water!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank lynda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“My Families Beach”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My family from New England has been coming to this Beach for decades. They actually own a small cottage just a few blocks from the beach. We don't get to go there much as we live in Florida but it always brings back fond memories. After a recent family gathering at the cottage those memories were restored and my teenage sons got to enjoy the same beach I did as a child. The beach is essentially unchanged and makes for a great family outing, it's nice and open, clean and quiet. Lots of rocks to climb and collect with plenty of photo opportunities. The water is a bit chilly but always envigorating. A great getaway from an otherwise hectic life.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank davidm34746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadalbin, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pretty beach in a nice natural setting”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Nice wide beach...great waves and opportunities for seclusion and privacy. A relative bargain in the area at only $7 to park for the day. Great beach for rock seekers...not so much for shells.

Helpful?
Thank Staiebomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horseneck Beach State Reservation also viewed

 

Been to Horseneck Beach State Reservation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing