We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent pizza. Very slow takeout on busy nights” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ten Cousins Brick Oven

Ten Cousins Brick Oven
Ranked #12 of 31 Restaurants in Westport
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ten Cousins Brick Oven features an Italian made, wood-fired oven that cooks delicious gourmet pizza, sandwiches, wings and more. We take pride in using locally sourced ingredients when available. Ten Cousins offers take out and patio dining in addition to the main dining room. Cousins is the perfect spot if you are looking for a casual, relaxed dining experience!
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza. Very slow takeout on busy nights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Very simply: fantastic pizza; best in the area, IMO. Just don't expect fast takeout service when they are busy: we visited (for a second time) on a busy Sunday night and were told that takeout of a SINGLE PIZZA would take 90 (ninety) minutes(!!!!). We didn't wait, obviously. The pizza is very good, but not quite that good...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ironrooster73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at Ten Cousins Brick Oven, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I have brought the take out situation to the attention of management. I understand it can be frustrating and we will work to resolve the issue. We do hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    32
    20
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Berlin, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Was in town to visit my in-laws, I have had pizza in the westport area before, and it took me a while to get used to the VERY thin almost cracker like crust, I have to say this pizza completely changes the way i look at the pizza options in this area. We ordered 2 to-go pizzas, 2 different selections, and all i could think after the first slice was that it tasted like i should have another.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank photog607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, MA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Have been there many times and always found the food very good. Tried the corn and crab chowder it was excellent. The Market Basket pizza was to die for. Since that time we have made vegetarian pizza our pizza of choice whenever we order pizza at at any pizza restaurant. We have tried most of the items on the menu and were very seldom unhappy with our choices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bennyhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at Ten Cousins Brick Oven, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disgusting work habits in the kitchen!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I went to Ten Cousins with my husband last Sunday afternoon (8/25/13). I ordered a meatball brickini. We sat at a table in front of the bar/kitchen area. There were not many people in the restaurant at the time. I happened to observe the cook taking my bread from the oven, holding it with his "not-so-clean" t-shirt, and slicing it. Not sure if that's a common policy of theirs - quite disgusting! I couldn't eat the bread portion of the brickini, not only because of what I had just seen, but because it was also burnt on the top.

I also watched another cook stick his bare hand into a large jar of peppers (not once, but 3 times!) as he filled a metal container at the prep station.

Both of these cooks should have been wearing gloves!!! They were lucky that we were sitting there and not the Board of Health.

Shame on me for not sending my food back and leaving, but I didn't want to create a scene. After we left the restaurant, I couldn't stop thinking about what had just happened, and I was absolutely furious! The next day I wrote a comment on the Ten Cousins website - that was Monday, and it has been 5 days and not even a response. I wanted to give them a chance to at least say that this was unaceptable and they would correct this situation. I guess they just don't care. After reading many comments on Yelp, I realize that other folks think the same way as I do - they need adults to supervise the kids that are chatting at the bar and kitchen area. We had eaten at Ten Cousins at least 3 or 4 times this summer - we have no plans to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great pizza; service could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We ate on the patio with our party of 7, and I would return. The pizza was delicious; thin crust and inventive toppings. The downside was our server, who was not only inattentive but seemed actually disinterested in serving us. Hoping that she just had a really bad day and service will be better, or we'll have a better server, next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank littleismuch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at Ten Cousins Brick Oven, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for Ten Cousins. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and have let management know that the service you received did not meet your expectations, or ours. We strive to exceed our guest's expectations during every visit and hope we have the opportunity to make it up to you in the future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ten Cousins Brick Oven also viewed

 

Been to Ten Cousins Brick Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing