We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the fish”
Review of The Galley Grille

The Galley Grille
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Westport
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Galley Grille serves the freshest seafood as well as the finest beef, chicken and creative pasta dishes. With its casual atmosphere and nightly specials, the Galley Grille is perfect for any occasion. We also offer weekday and weekend specials, free Team Trivia on Wednesdays from 7pm - 9pm, live music on Friday and Saturday night, free wireless internet service and wide screen TVs, so the game is always on!
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I really enjoy the chowder and clam cakes. My 7 year old son loves plain baked fish and the waitress accommodated by making a child's portion from the fish n chips option on the kids menu. We visited on a Friday night and really enjoyed the acoustical guitar music. Definitely will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at The Galley Grille, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Hi Mike B,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Galley Grille. Our upcoming entertainment schedule can be found on our website. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 148 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have never written a restaurant review before, but this was by far the worst experience I have ever had in a restaurant. We chose the place because we were seeing a show at White's. There were 5 of us, and no one enjoyed their meal. After we ordered, we heard someone behind us complaining about their burger, and the meal was comped. Unfortunately, one of us had ordered the burger. After waiting at least 5 minutes for the side of mayo requested, she tried the burger, and said it had no taste, an odd texture, and the lettuce and tomato were old. I had the shrimp stir fry, and the shrimp were so dry and overcooked, I didn't want the bother wit the rice and veggies in the strange, brown sauce...I'd go on, but I see that someone comes in and says, "Sorry for your bad experience" to everyone who reviews...how about fixing it, and serving better food? There are far too many lousy reviews for this place. It's sad that they don't fire the chef(s) and find someone who can cook.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank 588BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at The Galley Grille, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Hello,
I would like to take the opportunity to apologize for not providing you with the positive experience you should have received during your visit. It is our goal and expectation that every guest is 100% satisfied when leaving our restaurants. We take responsibility for your disappointing visit and will make every effort to avoid situations like this in the future. As I am sure you can guess by driving by; business has been very steady and we have been privileged enough to have been able to serve a great number of guests for the past 57 years. We sincerely apologize for your disappointment and hope that we have the chance to make it up to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

food did not taste or appear fresh. fish came out first frozen than when came back it had a strong old fish smell

1  Thank jeff1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Manager at The Galley Grille, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review White's. Your thoughts on the fish have been addressed with the kitchen, as the presentation described is unacceptable. We apologize for your disappointing experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

food was great and reasonable, nice and cozy place and good entertainment we were a large party and they had no problem accommodating us wait staff were very friendly and did a great job

5  Thank joyceezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at The Galley Grille, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for your review! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Went here for a conference. The food was what you would expect from a function hall- overcooked and boring. I wouldn't bother returning to the restaurant unless you like bland, uninteresting fare. Might be good for people over 80.

1  Thank BuddyPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at The Galley Grille, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Hello BuddyPR,

We apologize for your disappointment in our conference food, but would like to encourage you to try the Grille at another time. We have a completely different menu with a variety of options. Thank you for taking the time to review White's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Galley Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing