We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonehaven Family Farm
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family getaway!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Stone Haven Family Farm with our two kids, ages 4 and 2, and had a wonderful time. The accommodations are lovely, the area is gorgeous, the hospitality is warm, and the breakfasts are divine. Our kids loved helping to gather eggs and harvest tomatoes, and we loved that there so many areas for us to hang out after they had gone to bed. If you're considering it -- go! It's a special place. And the farm coast that surrounds it is gorgeous and low-key; great restaurants, beaches, galleries, etc. (The wifi's pretty great too.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Silver, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My daughter ( age 8) and I had 3 wonderful days at Stonehaven Farm in late July 2012. Virginia is a wonderful woman who taught us a lot about staying on a farm. Rachael was thrilled to partake in the daily chorses and fell in love with Cody ( Australian sheep dog, I think?) and Teddy the cat. We helped Virginia with the ducks and chickens and fed and watered the lambs and Rachael was thrilled to help collect eggs from both ducks and chickens. The living arrangements were perfect. A large, airy, immaculate room with a Queen bed and 2 twin beds and a very clean bathroom within our living area with large jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was homemade and fresh...yogurt and blueberries, juice and basically whatever you wanted...pancakes, french toast, eggs ( chicken and duck), bacon, sausage etc! Excellent! Did not partake in the dinner that is offered ( reservations in advance) but I am sure it would have been wonderful. My daughter said " Mommy, this was a great 'bonding' experience...I love it here". Thank you Virginia for making my trip back to Westport so special!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarpeDiem43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I had the opportunity to take a much needed 4-day respite and chose Stonehaven Farm as our destination based on its lovely website photos. We are happy to report that it was even more than we had hoped for. What a truly magical and peaceful place. The guest suite was large, bright, and airy with soothing breezes (during a terrible heat wave). The view of the river from our room's balcony was lovely. I spent the first morning sitting on the balcony watching the sun rise over the meadows, listening to the sheep, hens, and birds wakening -- warm under a quilt and sipping a cup of freshly-ground hot coffee with cream (the fixings had been provided to us the night before). We roamed the beautiful garden, helped pick berries, and learned how to remove a 'broody' hen to gather eggs. A kind and interesting person, Virginia offered just the right amount of conversation, information and private time. The fresh eggs, french toast, homemade jams -- everything she served us each morning was simply delicious and got us off to a good start to explore Westport and areas beyond. We left Stonehaven Farm rejuvenated and renewed. We highly recommend and will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rejuvenated2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Stonehaven Family Farm in June 2012, and it was perfect for us. Virginia is warm and welcoming and makes a fabulous meal. We wanted to stay at a farm with animals, and that's what we got--plus, a very comfortable room with huge jacuzzi and spectacular view, in a beautifully designed and maintained home, the best breakfast of our trip, all the contact we wanted with Virginia's sheep and chickens, excellent advice on things to do and places to eat in the area, and fine conversation with our hostess, who is not only a working farmer but a fascinating person and conversationalist. I can't recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: There's only one bedroom for guests, and it's a very comfortable one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our family of 4 (parents + toddler and baby) stayed here for one night, and had a wonderful time! Virginia is a very accommodating and friendly hostess, the lodgings are rustic and comfortable, the view is pastoral and peaceful, the food is ultra-local and delicious, and the location is convenient to all things Westport (winery, brewery, beach, Kartway). As a single-family lodging, we didn't have to stress about baby noises during the night. Our toddler loved seeing the animals, as did we. We'll surely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 37HappyTraveler37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We recently stayed at Stonehaven Farm with our 8 & 5 year old children. We've never done a farm stay before so this was a very new experience for us. To say that Virginia is a welcoming hostess and excellent cook would be a complete understatement. Breakfasts were refreshing & delicious. We enjoyed fresh eggs, waffles and bacon or sausage. She is a delightful person and has a wealth of knowledge about farming, animals, gardening, cooking, etc. We felt like we were staying with "family" even though we were just meeting her for the first time. The farm itself is a beautiful and peaceful setting with lush fields and views of the river. The "chores" were a great experience for our kids and their favorite job was collecting the eggs. The baby lambs were adorable and fun to feed. We were fortunate to see the baby ducks take their very first swim! The accommodations were super-clean, spacious and very comfortable. There's plenty to do around the area, including Horseneck Beach, New Bedford (museums) and Providence was just a 30 min drive. The only regret is that we didn't stay longer as this was a very enjoyable way to learn about farms but also get some R&R in such a peaceful setting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethanynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilltown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed at the farm last fall while visiting the area for a family wedding. The kids absolutely loved it; our hostess was wonderful; meals were great! Hope to return again someday!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momofthreebux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport
6.8 mi away
Best Western Dartmouth Inn
10.6 mi away
Seaport Inn and Marina
Seaport Inn and Marina
#2 of 3 in Fairhaven
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Residence Inn New Bedford Dartmouth
9.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bedford / Fairhaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehaven Family Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehaven Family Farm

Property: Stonehaven Family Farm
Address: 1506 Drift Rd, Westport, MA 02790-1620
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Westport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farm Stays offer guests the opportunity to relax in the peace and quiet of a farm and participate in farm life. You might want to feed the sheep, ducks, and chickens. Or collect eggs warm from the nest. Or harvest produce from the garden. We're also 5 minutes from the beaches of Buzzard's Bay, on the coastal wine trail and close to Historic New Bedford and Fall River. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing