We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolutely Delightful Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Samuel Fitch House B & B
Ranked #2 of 2 Westford B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 30, 2011

The Samuel Fitch House is the kind of Inn you dream of finding! We had a wonderful time here during our annual mother/daughter trip. Lynne was such a joy to be around and made our stay a delight in every way. Tea and cookies every night and delicious breakfast every morning! Lynne went out of her way to make our trip comfortable and fun The house is so interesting and cozy. Lynne's tour of the house and stories of it's history where so intriguing. Staying here is like getting to take a step back in time. We have stayed in many bed and breakfast and this was truly at the top of the list. You can't go wrong at The Samuel Fitch House! Diane, Julie, Susan and Sara

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

I wanted to visit the Boston/Concord area even before I knew about the Fabulous Fitch House, and before I uncovered a few uncanny connections to Colonial Massachusetts, including a genealogical link to an 8th great uncle Walter Powers Jr. who built the Fitch House 300 years ago! What deep roots to Massachusetts that I only discovered in the past few years.

This was my and my husband's first visit to New England, with the exception of possible cellular memories... Being a writer, I was already awed, just knowing that I shared a great grandfather, Thomas Barnes, with esteemed writers Thoreau and Alcott. What an amazing expansion of the tree of life. I cannot express the awe... to walk thorough the homes, to stroll alongside Walden Pond, and to even visit their grave sites--an extremely moving and surreal experience and all within minutes of the Fitch B&B.

I found Fitch House B&B "by accident" on google. I did not know Walter Powers Jr. had built the home, until I read the website. I did know about my connection to President(s) Adams through Henry Adams and Edith Squire, along with the fact that John Adams first cousin was my 7th great grandmother Edith Adams married-- Jacob Powers--Fitch House builder's brother (Walter Powers Jr:). Their parents were Walter Powers and Trial Shepard. Trial's parents were Ralph and Thankful Shepard. Trial's uncle was Thomas Shepard...

Next trip, I will walk the campus of Harvard U for the first time, where Thomas Shepard was one of the founders. I will be back and will DEFINITELY stay again at the FITCH HOUSE!!! I sincerely look forward to the return trip and to giving Lynne a big hug. I highly recommend this historical home, where you will feel both 'wowed' and welcome! [----]

Room Tip: If you love history and want to go back to a simpler time with all the modern conveniences... Fitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terra35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Lynn, the owner, is from the area and welcoming, wonderful woman. The property, rooms, and overall experience are everythign you'd expect in a New England Bed and Breakfast (and, being from New England, I'm pretty picky): charming, warm, and filled with delicious food and opportunities to relax. There are cozy common areas to relax outside of the guest rooms, which themselves are worthy of a trip out. The Fitch House is also convenient to the Boston area, but removed enough to feel outside of the city bustle. I'd absolutely recommend this place to families, individuals, and couples alike!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have stayed at this B and B several times over the last several years and have always enjoyed our visit. This 300 year old "home" is welcoming, historical, warm and special. It is a fun place to stay and relax. It is not sleek, granite and marble but rather in a beautiful setting away from the hustle and bustle of Boston. It is the perfect place to stay if seeing schools in the area or for a getaway. The owner and staff are friendly, helpful and concerned that your visit is special. We had home made cookies when we arrived. We stayed in the two story suite which is private, quiet with a seating area down and a fireplace and the bedroom upstairs. Our traveling partner stayed in a wonderful room in the main house. The breakfasts are served on the porch if the weather permits or in the beautiful dining room. The food is delicious and homemade - perfect way to start the day. You truly can relax and
recover from traveling or site seeing. We recommend this Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: We loved our suite and the slower pace and private surroundings for our time away. Great breakfasts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank whipper-in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westford
5.9 mi away
Best Western at Historic Concord
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Boston Littleton
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Westford - Chelmsford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Westford
8.7 mi away
The Stonehedge Hotel and Spa
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston Bedford Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samuel Fitch House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samuel Fitch House B & B

Address: 91 Powers Rd, Westford, MA 01886-4107
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Westford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Westford
Price Range: $125 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful 18th Century Bed & Breakfast located in the general area of Concord, Massachusetts and in close proximity to Boston. The Samuel Fitch House has 3 Suites available all with private bath. Breakfast is included. We are a non-smoking inn. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing