We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something Different for Midafternoon Lunch”

The British Beer Company
Reserve with OpenTable
The British Beer Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 54 Restaurants in Westford
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Your local British pub with an American address!
Pepperell, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Something Different for Midafternoon Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We've never been able to "get in" for dinner, so we opted for a 2:00 PM Saturday lunch. Food was fine - my Wemberly salad was terrific with tender chicken. Onion Rings are OK, but not worth going out of your way for. Beer selection was fine if you like British beers. Stick with the basics and you'll be fine. Live music in the evenings.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    76
    70
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My first experience at BBC will be my last - no wonder this place on Rt. 9 in Framingham was available with no wait while every other restaurant was packed. Cocktails were very poor - yes, I know it's a beer pub, but still, shouldn't the mixed drinks be good too? Food was pedestrian at best, although my two vegetarian children love the garden burger. Service was blah, décor was tired (and this place isn't all that old). Next time we'll wait for a table at Cheesecake Factory if we're going to a chain on Rt. 9.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
121 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Terrible sandwiches”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stopped by around noon on a Saturday. We were one of the first people seated in the dining area but there were a few people in the bar.
Service was great but the food was terrible! We both had sandwiches; pulled pork and pastrami. The pastrami was tough and stringy and the pulled pork was so-so, but the rolls fell apart when you tried to pick them up, even when cut in half. I assume the rolls were stale and just felt soft because of the warm meat on them. Oh yeah, all the food was lukewarm instead of hot (even the fries) but there was hardly anyone in the place so there's no excuse for that!
We've always had great food at this chain and went there a few times a year but this was way below par so we won't be returning anytime soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yawl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Visit with Service Dog in Training”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

My g/f who trains service dogs was welcomed with open arms at the BBC once we were asked to leave because of the dog not having papers with her. The dog was clearly marked with the professional service dog vest but that wasn't enough for the Burton's Manager Ryan Dion. Magda the Manager from BBC was very gracious and welcomed us with open arms. No questions asked and really appreciated the business.. We will not hesitate to do business with the BBC again. Thank you for your gracious acceptance of a dog that is learning to help others be okay in every environment they will eventually choose to be.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrav1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go for the Beer...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Beer trends have gone in the direction of micro brews and BBC has many. The beer selection is extensive and they have a specials list for even more choices. I would stick to the basics on the food menu though. In the true British tradition the food is bland at best. Service is inconsistent as with many chains.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The British Beer Company also viewed

 

Been to The British Beer Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing